We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service and location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lancaster Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lancaster Hotel
Ranked #21 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great service and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed at Lancaster Hotel in Milan in September 2012 during the F1 Grand Prix at Monza. The Front Desk staff were extremely professional and helpful; making guests feel at home and providing all the information (maps, transport options, etc) possibly needed. They were able to provide maps and detailed information about getting to Monza and travel between Milan and Monza was no trouble at all. The hotel is located in a lovely, quiet neighbourhood, with the city centre (including Duomo and Golden Rectangle) and Metro stops within walking distance. Cadorna and Pagano (for Fiera Milano) are both an easy 900metre walk and there is also a tram stop nearby for visits to other parts of the city, such as the Navigli district - very lively and vibey for evening activities. Parco Sempione, bordered by a wide variety of restaurants, is very close by and perfect for Aperativo-buffets. Our rooms were confortable, clean and spacious and breakfasts were substantial. The great service and attention to detail made us feel right at home - we would certainly go back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMT555_555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    297
    33
    7
    2
See reviews for
111
381
53
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed at the Lancaster Hotel on the occasion of a stopover in Milan. Very friendly staff welcomed us, a clean and recently refurbished room with a window to the yard was waiting for us. We were happy to get a cool bottle of San Pellegrino for a very reasonable price when coming back from dinner at 1.20 am.

Breakfast was fair for the price and when I came back from a day out in Milan to get my luggage, I even found a fully equipped bathroom with shower available to me also after my checkout.

Ideal address when you arrive in Milano Cadorna on board of the Malpensa Express and want to stay in an old-style building in a nice area for having a drink or food, plus it's close to the centre.

Again, for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-smoking room with a window to the yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Our experience confirmed earlier reviews. The hotel is firmly managed. The staff are exceedingly courteous and helpful, even when repeating directions that they must give out several times each day. The breakfast buffet is excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank euchromatopsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
130 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

.Stayed at Lancaster for 5 days in connection with business. The hotel has an excellent location, friendly staff and complimantary breakfast. They charge a rate of € 9,50 for WIFI for your the entire period you stay at the hotel so it is not so bad. Very easy to get a taxi from the hotel. Room was very clean. A bit noise from traffic outside. Breakfast buffet was typical Italian. I will for sure stay at the same hotel during my next visit.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that has window towards the backyard. Avoid rooms towards the main street to avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Runar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

The Lancaster feels like a family run hotel. Everyone is welcoming, helpful and friendly and the location is perfect if, like us, you like to walk in the cities you are touring. It is situated a pleasant stroll through the park from the centre of town with numerous cafes and bars nearby - perfect for that welcome aperitivi at sunset! There is a tram stop nearby for when the weather may be inclement or the feet too sore to stroll. The buffet breakfast is standard European hotel fare - croissants, cheeses, meats, toastettes etc - all fresh and the fruit salad appears homemade. Cadorna station is the closest Metro and you can also catch the express train to the airport from there. It is a short cab ride away. It cost us 5 Euro from the taxi rank at the station to the hotel and around 10 going the other way because of the call out fee and traffic. Too easy! The only problem I had was that it seemed our room had once been a smoking room and there was a bit of a lingering odour but I have a sensitive nose. My partner couldn't discern it all all and it dissipated as soon as the room was opened up to the air anyway. All in all, a good place to stay. It's not five star luxury, it's a dependable, clean and well run hotel in a good location. You're not next to the Duomo, but do you really want to be?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed here for three nights in September for a girls weekend in Milan. Although the decor was somewhat dated, the hotel was immaculately clean and the staff absolutely wonderful. The location was also fantastic - a short pleasant walk through the park to the main sights and very close to a road of fantastic, vibrant bars and restuarants. We loved Milan and want to return, and for the price, this hotel is perfect, so we will be returning.

Room Tip: We had one at the front with a lovely balcony. Still quiet at night - very little traffic noise with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LynneHarrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
123 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed here two nights in September. Although it is advertised as 900 metres from Cadorna Station, it is a much longer walk, especially if you have luggage. We ended up taking a cab (8 Euros to hotel and 10 Euros back to train station?) That said, without the luggage, it is a very pleasant walk, especially through the park. The room was very clean and comfortable and the bathroom was excellent. The room feels quite dark with dark walls and dark furniture and very little natural light. We were gone most of the day so it wasn't really a big deal for us. The cold breakfast was an excellent start to the day and staff were very helpful with maps and sightseeing tips. Overall, the value is excellent for Milan and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djf52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#14 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,136 reviews
Milan Suite Hotel
#24 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Biocity Hotel
Biocity Hotel
#25 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Visconti Palace
#33 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
Navigli
Residence & Hotel Aramis Milan Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Hotel

Property: Lancaster Hotel
Address: Via Abbondio Sangiorgio 16, 20145 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Milan
#31 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#47 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lancaster Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lancaster Hotel offers 30 quiet rooms, decorated in a classic-contemporary style and equipped with all amenities and services: fast and free Wi-Fi, air conditioning with temperature control, LCD TV with a wide selection of domestic and foreign channels, mini bar and safe. In the common areas, guests have a reception and lounge bar (open 24/7), lobby and breakfast room. Near the hotel there are affiliated guarded parking and a large choice of clubs, bars and restaurants. The strategic location, the family atmosphere, environments with attention to details and a professional and courteous staff make it one of the best 3-star hotels in downtown Milan. The Lancaster Hotel is located between the convention center MiCo, the exhibition center Fieramilanocity and the residential area of Sempione Park, just a few steps from the Arch of Peace, in a central location but at the same time very quiet, from where you can easily reach the main attractions of Milan. The Triennale, the Sforza Castle, the Duomo, Piazza della Scala, Brera and other points of interest can be reached on foot in a few minutes, by a pleasant walk through the park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lancaster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing