We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”
Review of Lancaster Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lancaster Hotel
Ranked #20 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We only stayed here for 1 night and we enjoyed our stay at the Lancaster. It is about a 30 minute walk to the Domo, but it is a safe and nice walk. You can also take the tram which is around the corner from the hotel and catch the #1 which will take you to the heart of the city.
Check in was quick and the staff was extremely friendly. We were shocked by the size of our bathroom! It was huge in comparison to the room! It had a tub, stand up shower, 2 sinks and everything was very clean. They give you complementary toiletries and I thought a nice touch were the Lancaster slippers that were provided. Those little extra things make a big difference. Breakfast was decent, but not outstanding. I don’t have any real complaints about this hotel. If something was bothering me while I was staying there, it couldn’t have been that huge of an issue, because I can’t remember it now!
Great value, decent location and a wonderful staff. If I were on the same budget, I would stay at this hotel and again and recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TBug411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (857)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

395 - 401 of 857 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2011

Stayed on 14th and 15th October. Hotel is diffcult to find from Linate Airport, we took the shuttle bus to central station (5 Euros each) and then metro...green line to Cardrona Station (1,5 Euro each). You need a NBR 1 Tram but it is difficult to say how to find Hotel...suggest you take Taxi from Station which cost us 5 Euro.
Hotel welcome excellent and room and facilities very clean and organised. Staff friendly and helpful. Taxi to town is around 7 Euro and is an easy walk of about 25 minutes through a large park. Weather was great and park very busy with all types of people and events.
City is good to get about, good sites...Milan Castle, Duomo is fantastic worth looking around inside but you have got to go to the top (Lift available....10 Euro each..... but a must) and we had tickets for Ballet in La Scala which was a great experience.
Bar in Hotel OK, prices good but a bit quiet...great gin and tonics before you go out in evening. Great restaurant nearby..... La Taverna...real Italian food with nice atmosphere and great service at sensible prices...many locals use it.
Breakfast is cereal, boiled eggs, croissant and rolls with meat and cheese and jams.. Great coffee!
Altogether great hotel near to the action but at more sensible price than those in centre. Would recommend!

Room Tip: %th floor was where we stayed overlooking rear of hotel...small balcony and we found it quiet and no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigtonybeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

We stayed only for 1 night and choosed this hotel because we needed an easy parking place for our rented car. The location was perfect, as we could park just on the street with cheap cards. The hotel is very nice, well located , close to a beautiful park and as said in other reviews, in walking distance of the Duomo. Nice, clean room, very nice bathroom, WIFI for 3-5 Euro for 24 hr. Good breakfast and very helpful staff!
We would definitly recomend this hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ges54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We only had one night in Milan, but this hotel fit our needs perfectly. The quiet location is great. The room was very comfortable and an excellent value. The staff could not have been more helpful with attractions, directions, etc. We had to check out before breakfast was supposed to open, but they made sure we could eat before we left. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hollandgrandpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

very spacious and comfortable, nice big balcony with a pretty view, great friendly service, wonderful breakfast... loved the location too, away from all the noise and traffic, but just a walk through the park to the action. we've stayed several places in milan before and this is my favorite. great value! the hotel is not super close to a metro stop, so you may want to take a taxi from the main central train station if you have luggage.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gigi_alonzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed 3 nights. The service is really appreciated. If you are looking for the Italian flavor this would be a place to be. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

This was our second stay (first in 2008) and have since sent a few friends to this hotel with very positive reviews. The staff is always very friendly, accommodating, give great recommendations, and handle things honestly and punctually.

We are allowed to get into our room at 11 a.m., which was quite early and much needed after a long day of flying. The shower, water pressure, bathroom cleanliness, were all excellent. The bed is comfortable - on par with other european hotels (a little stiff) but with extra pillows that were already in the cabinet we slept extremely well.

Our view was an internal courtyard, which was nice and quiet. We have also had a view in to the street and the roadnoise is minimal since you are three or floors high; plus they have storm shutters can also close more noise out.

Breakfast is terrific with more than just croissants and danish - hard boiled eggs, meats, cheese, etc. They also are happy to make you a drink any time in the evening. The location is wonderful, too. It's further away from the Duomo but for good reason - less tourists, more residents, and it's still surprisingly easy to get to all of the sights.

Getting luggage there is easily handled through the above-ground trams that snake through the city. Line #1 takes you from Cardona up to Sempione and then it's two flat blocks to the hotel. This line will take you all the way to Duomo, too. The front desk can give you tickets or buy them at a local newspaper stand.

They had a well-priced mini-bar in the room, hair dryer, and a safe. The hotel does have an elevator that well if you are on a higher floor. Will stay here again!

Room Tip: The neighborhood is quiet even a light sleeper on the street side would not have problems since you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cyenti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Citta Studi
Hotel Teco
Hotel Teco
#22 of 430 in Milan
507 reviews
Milan Suite Hotel
#23 of 430 in Milan
692 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Biocity Hotel
Biocity Hotel
#26 of 430 in Milan
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#13 of 430 in Milan
6,785 reviews
Navigli
Residence & Hotel HOUSE Aramis Milan Downtown
Enterprise Hotel
#30 of 430 in Milan
1,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Hotel

Address: Via Abbondio Sangiorgio 16, 20145 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Milan
#31 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#38 Best Value Hotel in Milan
#47 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range: $83 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lancaster Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lancaster Hotel offers 30 quiet rooms, decorated in a classic-contemporary style and equipped with all amenities and services: fast and free Wi-Fi, air conditioning with temperature control, LCD TV with a wide selection of domestic and foreign channels, mini bar and safe. In the common areas, guests have a reception and lounge bar (open 24/7), lobby and breakfast room. Near the hotel there are affiliated guarded parking and a large choice of clubs, bars and restaurants. The strategic location, the family atmosphere, environments with attention to details and a professional and courteous staff make it one of the best 3-star hotels in downtown Milan. The Lancaster Hotel is located between the convention center MiCo, the exhibition center Fieramilanocity and the residential area of Sempione Park, just a few steps from the Arch of Peace, in a central location but at the same time very quiet, from where you can easily reach the main attractions of Milan. The Triennale, the Sforza Castle, the Duomo, Piazza della Scala, Brera and other points of interest can be reached on foot in a few minutes, by a pleasant walk through the park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lancaster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing