We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, cozy hotel”
Review of Gran Duca di York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gran Duca di York
Ranked #9 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Grand Duca di York this past week. The hotel is very close to everything. Quiet street. Very helpful staff. We asked for a car to pick us up at the airport, better than take a taxi and it costs almost the same.
Good breakfast, bottled water available throughout the stay and you can ask for coffee and tea anytime, since they dont have water kettle in the room.
We got the corner room, so enough space to put our empty luggages and not crowded the room. We'll definitely be back at this hotel.

1  Thank KuntiRW
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,399)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

845 - 851 of 1,399 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

Everyone has pretty much covered the virtues of this hotel... great location, good sized rooms friendly service and fantastic housekeeping (my room sparkled). Just wanted to add that I had Room 208, which had it's own small balcony and was an absolute gem!

Room Tip: Room 208 is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lindasydney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

In Milan for a weekend break, picked this hotel for its location about 5 minutes away from the Duomo. Easy to walk or take the trams to all other major sights and shopping. A lovely little hotel, sparkling clean with great enhanced continental breakfast; go earlier for the most selection, especially on weekends. Comfortable European-sized rooms with good heating/air conditioning. Walls are a little thin but this was only noticeable in the morning when guests were going for breakfast at different times, earplugs should suffice. Would stay here again for overall quality for price and prime location. Booking well in advance on the website gets you the lowest rates which are reasonable for central Milan.

Room Tip: A higher floor towards the back of the building would be quietest. Rooms with small balconies would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SagaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I've stayed at several small and inexpensive hotels in the center of Milan, and this one is by far the best bargain I've ever found in a city where it's hard to find bargain hotel rates. Its best feature is the location, a five-minute walk to Piazza Duomo and Piazza Cordusio, right around the corner of the Ambrosiana library, so you can walk everywhere, and it's on a quiet street. Very pleasant staff and the rooms, while not especially big, are not miniscule either, as you might find at some of the other places nearby. Now I know where to stay the next time I go to Milan.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Itaiphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

First the building is an historical residence nearly 17th century, now is modern and comfortable hotel, a few blocs os the Milan Cathedral, the Scala of Milan and 3 blocks of Cordusio subway station. The staff was very hepful and kindly. The breakfast was incredible, with a great selection of italian food. The hotel´s decoration is really charming and has very good taste. The room was clean and so comfortable, and free bottles of water were available.
I would definetely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PandoraBariloche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Another professor and I brought a group of college students to Milan and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Duca di York. The staff members were very helpful--they made numerous reservations at restaurants for us, they patiently answered all our questions about where to go and how to get there, and they went above and beyond by preparing breakfast bags for us when we left very early for a day trip to Venice. The breakfast bar had a great selection of food...and I'm already missing my cappuccinos that were made to order every morning. The hotel is in a very convenient location--close to mass transit, the Duomo, and the Galleria Vittorio Emanuele II, and within walking distance to both the Brera and the Navigli districts. And, finally, the rooms were clean and comfortable, and free bottles of flat and sparkling water, as well as other beverages, were available.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This modern, clean and efficient hotel is at a great location to walk to the cathedral area. The staff was helpful, the breakfast was generous. I would definetely recommend this hotel for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nemahbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 427 in Milan
722 reviews
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#13 of 427 in Milan
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Santa Marta Suites
Santa Marta Suites
#26 of 427 in Milan
332 reviews
Centro Storico
Park Hyatt Milan
Park Hyatt Milan
#5 of 427 in Milan
1,743 reviews
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Duca di York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Duca di York

Address: Via Moneta 1, 20123 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Milan
#7 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#10 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range: $199 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Duca di York 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Gran Duca di York is a little charming hotel in Milan.An establishment set in an 19th century historic palace .It is located in a very quiet street just few steps from the city center.The Atmosphere is very relaxing and the lobby is decorated with a collection of authentic frescoes.33 guest rooms completely renovated with free Wi.Fi.connection and free water and soft drinks in the room minibar.The daily rates always include buffet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gran Duca di York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Duca Di York Hotel Milan
Gran Duca Di York Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing