We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, but small not renovated room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Star

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Star
Ranked #75 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent location, but small not renovated room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Excellent location, next to the center of the city, close to everywhere, (subway, station, attractions, ...). Clean. Good breakfast for this type of hotel. Polite personnel.

Small room, which is not renovated like the advertisement, no nice animal paintings. Smelling at the bathroom, which disappeared the second day. Slow internet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    219
    52
    17
    14
See reviews for
62
187
73
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

The location doesn't get any better than this! It is equally within walking distance of the Duomo, La Scala, Sforefzi (spelling) castle, and the beautiful old shopping arcade near the Duomo. We are older, and not able to walk long distances, but even we could manage these walks! We only needed the Metro 1 day, and that was easy enough even for non-Italian speakers. Stay here if location is important to you.

Street noise from traffic was a problem until about 11-12 pm, then it quieted nicely, until morning rush hour.

Breakfast was ordinary fare, not exciting but generous enough to fill you up for many hours. Staff was always pleasant and very helpful.

Elevator very small - my wheelchair barely fit, and getting a 2nd person next to me was quite a feat of maneuvering!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Constance B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
166 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Although Milan hotels are the most expensive hotels in Europe, Hotel Stars price is reasonable because of the location. La Scala theatre, Castle Sforza, Duomo, etc. only five minutes walk. A little bit old furniture. Breakfast was delicious, especially coffee but not much kind. There is no slippers in the room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gencay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

My husband and I were in Milan for a business conference that he was attending. The location of this hotel was perfect. A short 5-minute walk to the Duomo, shopping and sightseeing. While my husband was attending the conference, I felt very safe to walk around in the day and the evening. There were many restaurants, bakeries, etc. nearby to have a meal. The rooms were very clean with wood floors and windows that open. The bathrooms were updated and also very clean. We checked in at 8 in the morning so our room was not ready but the staff was very helpful and stowed our luggage while we went to have breakfast out on the Duomo Piazza. The breakfast at the hotel was an Italian breakfast, which we loved and was plentiful and nicely presented. The staff at the desk was always attentive to help with taxis and restaurant suggestions. We arrived at the Malpensa airport, took the shuttle train to the Cardona train station and then it was a short taxi ride to the hotel. Be sur to have the address of the hotel because there is a chain of 'Star' hotels in Milan and this is not one of them. When the taxi driver saw the address, he immediately knew the address. We would definitely stay here again...for the star rating and the price, it was an excellent choice. We noticed that some of the nicer hotels were closer to the train station but definitely further away from the Duomo Plaza....which is where the center of activity seems to be in Milan.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indy1084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Hotel Star is a great little hotel. The rooms are very nice and clean. The beds are very comfy. The staff is exetremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet is very good. There is some noise from ventilation but I think this is everywhere in Milan, it did not prevent me from sleeping. Can only recommend it. Will go back there if I go back to Milan.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneCe1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVMIL5306, Direttore generale at Hotel Star, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
You are too kind. THANK YOU!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Star for a single night before flying out of Milan, and were pleased with the hotel. The location was excellent - short walk to the Duomo, near the busy pedestrian Via Dante street but still relatively quiet, about a 10-15 minute walk or short metro ride to the Cadorna train station to catch Malpensa Express train to the airport, rooms exceptionally clean. Room not entirely soundproof. Buffet breakfast was also very good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DandDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVMIL5306, Responsabile reception at Hotel Star, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you. We think that you have been very helfull for next guets. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Very central location, clean room, satellite TV, nice breakfast. The lady doing my check-in was very pleasant and kind. The toilet was very clean and had a sauna in the shower. The mini-bar was well assorted and seemed to be less expensive than other hotels. It's a 3 star but it was better than many 4 star hotels I have stayed in!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alessandro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVMIL5306, Responsabile reception at Hotel Star, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Google Translation
La ringraziamo per il suo commento e le siamo molto grati per averlo pubblicato. Per noi è stato un piacere se ciò che ha trovato è stato di suo gradimento. Sappiamo che non tutti la pensano allo stesso modo, ma anche questo aiuta a cercare di migliorare, possibilmente evitando qualche errore che ogni tanto può capitare. Ancora GRAZIE!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Antica Locanda dei Mercanti
Centro Storico
Palazzo Segreti
Palazzo Segreti
#131 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Brera
UNA Hotel Cusani
UNA Hotel Cusani
#37 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Gran Duca di York
Gran Duca di York
#10 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
Centro Storico
Camperio House Suites & Apartments
Centro Storico
Hotel Clerici
Hotel Clerici
#191 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Star

Property: Hotel Star
Address: Via Dei Bossi 5, 20121 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#63 Business Hotel in Milan
#84 Family Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Star 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
he location is perfect!Small and original, in the heart of Milan, in via dei Bossi, Hotel Star is the perfect solution among 3-star hotels in the historic center for both business trips and vacations for art, culture and shopping.A two minute walk from Teatro alla Scala, five minutes from piazza del Duomo and 300 meters from the subway, 30 very comfortable rooms, wireless internet, efficient amenities, courtesy and cordiality.An original and pleasant decor typify the 30 rooms at the Hotel Star which, thanks to all the necessary comforts and amenities of a 3-star hotel in downtown Milan, is the perfect solution for both business trips and vacations at a hotel in Milan.With parquet floors, especially important for allergy sufferers, there is an elevator to the rooms which include a choice between the classic, superior and economy categories.The rooms at Hotel Star can accommodate one to two guests in absolute comfort; the beds are large and, in the superior single, there is a full bed. Some rooms have a private bathroom with a shower or tub (multi-option shower/sauna and jacuzzi in superior and classic rooms), telephone, hair dryer and courtesy line. There are direct telephones, satellite televisions, a minibar, coffee and tea maker, safe and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing