We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different answer on the same question”
Review of Hotel Bolzano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Bolzano
Ranked #310 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Pirdop, Bulgaria
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Different answer on the same question”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I was having a bad experience with this hotel from the beginning. I was trying to book a room for 3 nights, as I don't have a credit card but have debit card connected with paypal I wrote a mail asking if I could pay with paypal. First they told me I can so I send a new e-mail asking for details, a few minutes later I was told that I could not pay with paypal and should make a bank transfer. OK, I asked them for bank details and they gave me just IBAN and BIC. In the bank they told me that I need Bank name and address to send the money so I wrote new mail asking about the name and address ... and .... they gave me different IBAN, BIC and Bank. I get really nervous and gave up from this hotel, on two identical questions get two different answers and in every mail advising me to give different credit card number and exp date. I really prefer paypal as a more secure payment method and don't want credit card.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikoleta D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    128
    143
    69
    55
See reviews for
50
145
44
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hebden Bridge
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Given a good welcome at the Bolzano which is very handy for the Central Station - and not too bad for Garibaldi station had it not been for all the building works on the way there!
Very dated interior, but clean and tidy. The breakfats was one of the best we had with all sorts on offer. A good stopover!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RP-HebdenBridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed in Bolzano hotel twice - overnight on the way to Dolomites and back.
Very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was really good (pleasant surprize - it's included in room rate!) with variety of croissants, bakery, jogurt, fruits, ham, cornflakes and fresh coffee - you can choose cappuccino/americano/espresso - up to you!
Train station Milano Centrale (and metro station) is just 5 minutes walk, main shopping street Corsa Buenos Aires - not more than 10 minutes walk away.
Hotel staff is friendly and helpful. Do not forget to ask them about good restaurant nearby - they will recommend really nice place with reasonable price!
Highly recommend this property!

Room Tip: Some standard rooms have a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T_traveller_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Few minutes from Stazione Centrale (Central Station in Milano), big room and bathroom, very clean, very good bed, silent, breakfast average (hot coffee, tea, boiled eggs, croissants and some sweets). Staff was very helpful and nice. If we will need again a hotel close to the Station we will chose it again.

Room Tip: arrange in advance the internet into your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinergetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Hotel Bolzaano is a pleasant place to stay on a quiet street near the Milano Centrale station. The decor is very modern so don't expect an old classic building or decor. What this hotel has to offer is a good nights sleep and a good location if you need to catch an early train or if you have heavy bags which you don't want to lug around. Everything about this hotel is OK. Nothing stands out as exceptional. The breakfast is an extra 5 Euros which might be a good deal but we didn't take advantage of it. The downstairs computer is available for short forays onto the internet which was OK for us. There is a large TV downstairs also. The room and bathroom were acceptable in size and cleanliness. The price was the best we found given the constraint of being near the station. So choose Bolzano for the price and don't complain that the add ons cost money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bassman46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Let's start from the staff.Very kind and friendly,willing to help, from the first second I set foot in the hotel.U can also enjoy a delicious breakfast with add+5€, including croissants,yoghurts(choose the pineaple one :p) linzer torte,cereals,milk,Aaand ofc,COFFEE! (And much more that I don't remember)The room was just great,spacious,chic,recent redesign, and clean! Excellent bathroom,and an ultra-unbelievable giant shower :X
Tv was in room as well,so does a money-safety box.
Only thing i was really mad about the hotel is that I had to pay 5€ for 24-hour wifi use,then repeat. It was my only problem but everything else was just perfect so I did enjoyed my stay,should definitely go there dear travellers!
Ciao Milano,will be back soon <:

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Summary
- bed linen was stained with sticky clear substance and not changed for 3 nights
- guests covered with bites
- hotel rooms infested with mosquitoes due to maids opening windows during cleaning
- AC did not work during hot nights even tho hotel advertised that it had AC
- hotel room filled with sickly sweet vomit scent due to cheap scented oil diffusers
- cleanliness of cups and cutlery at breakfast questionable
- passable breakfast
- miserable middle-aged Chinese woman serving bitter, low-quality capuccinos
- surly Chinese staff / owners...
- unknowledgeable staff

Sticky Pillow Stains and No Linen Change for 3 Nights

When I arrived, the sheets seemed pretty clean. But the next night, I was surprised to see that when the maid changed the linen, the new pillow case was soiled. It was stained with mascara in 2 different places. I understand that it might be hard to get mascara out but there were also a few clear shiny stains on the pillow. Surely the hotel would spend a few extra euros and use a bit of bleach and/or hot water? THEN....for the next 3 nights, the MAID NEVER CHANGED THE SHEETS. How do I know this? Because the same pillow stains were still there night after night.

Sickly Swet Vomit Scent

On top of this, I noticed each time I came back to the room after a day out, the room would be full of a putrid, sickly sweet smell.

After some speculation, I deduced that the maid filled up the scented oil diffuser container (with the sticks) in the bathroom with cheap smelly stuff, and that they probably never dumped the old stuff out - just kept refilling it. Oh and if you don't mind a hotel where the maids don't clean the toilet in 4 days, then, this is the place for you.

Bitten by Mosquitoes...and What Else?

Enjoy being eaten alive by mosquitoes? I saw the maid open up the windows to the rooms as she cleaned them during the day probably because the AC did not work during the sweltering weather. As a result, each time you came back to your room, it was hot and humid, stinky, and full of mosquitoes to make your night that much more comfortable. I saw people at the hotel that were bitten all over. I got bitten on my eye and fingers. Oh, and if you were scared of bed bugs. Well, you can't really know for sure what bit you because of the mosquitoes.

Waking up to an Unhappy Chinese Woman for Breakfast

As for the breakfast, if you aren't put off by a miserable-looking middle-aged Chinese woman glaring at you in the morning, scrutinizing guests intently and following them until she gets their room number to make sure you're not scamming her hotel, then this is the place for you. Need a real capuccino or espresso? Well don't expect real Italian coffee here. Expect it quick, bitter and lipstick flavoured. I asked for a cup of hot water and oddly, she ran a tiny portion of the rim of the cup under hot water. From that moment on, I never touched any cup from that hotel with my lips because I got the feeling they don't place a high priority on cleanliness at all. I asked a few more mornings for the same thing - a cup of hot water and finally, she gave me a point blank look and didn't bother making a show of running part of the cup's rim under the water. Needless to say, I ate very little at these breakfasts. I used the hot water to sanitize the cutlery btw.

Rude Service

The maid was rude. The receptionists lied to me on numerous occasions and were also rude. They knew nothing about international calling codes.

One of their lies is that they claimed that no one else complained about the lack of AC. They tried to make me feel bad by saying that I was the only person complaining. But based on the comments from others on the forum about this hotel I see that that was not the case.

If you expect a bit of Italian hospitality then this is not the place for you. Everyone working at the desk seemed miserable to be working there - from the surly Chinese maid with the big mole on her face - to the breakfast lady/perhaps the owner? to the Italians at the desk.

I stayed because they refused to refund me my money. Complaining will not help once they have your money. If you have ever dealt with Chinese businesses and people, you know better than to complain as they cannot stand to lose face or admit they are wrong or have done wrong. And they never give your money back.

If you are considering this hotel, especially if you are Chinese or Asian-looking, don't expect any special treatment. Chinese people treat you worse if you're Asian and slightly worse than the caucasians because they think your standards are lower and they think they can get away with it. I would not go back to Hotel Bolzano.

But I would recommend Hotel Cristallo. See my review on that hotel. Good luck!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelYurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Milan hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Canova Hotel
Canova Hotel
#210 of 428 in Milan
425 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Mythos Hotel
Mythos Hotel
#191 of 428 in Milan
422 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Bernina
Hotel Bernina
#150 of 428 in Milan
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Garda
Hotel Garda
#186 of 428 in Milan
659 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Mennini
Mennini
#294 of 428 in Milan
464 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Flora Hotel
Flora Hotel
#147 of 428 in Milan
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bolzano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bolzano

Property: Hotel Bolzano
Address: Via Boscovich, 21, 20125 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #310 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bolzano 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bolzano has been completely renovated in January 2010. It is 220 yards from the train station and the yellow green, and red metro lines.Hotel Bolzano also offers a private garden and Wi-Fi access at convenient rates.All rooms have private bathrooms and come with LCD TV with satellite channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bolzano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bolzano Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing