We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up to the (high) expectations... and a bit more!”

Basara Milano - Sushi Pasticceria
Ranked #126 of 8,156 Restaurants in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Navigli
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Up to the (high) expectations... and a bit more!”
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Me and my wife were there last Saturday, for dinner. We were in the mood for a light dinner with "very good sushi" and the place was a very last minute choice, fully based on TripAdvisor reviews. Great choice! Not only was the sushi simply delicious, but we discovered a tasty jet well balanced miso soup, and a great choice of homemade desserts. The service was warm and professional from the very beginning (they only had sushi-table seatings, but they did everything possible to improve our confort). While enjoing our dinner we coud also admire the wonderful "sculptures" being served at other tables, some of which we will definitely try at our next visit. Very, very recommended!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aleardo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    550
    263
    64
    42
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Japanese in Town”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Strongly recommend the place. Together with Temaquinho, it is for me the best "fusion" japanese restaurant in Milan. We eat there regularly and have never been deceived. Food is of excellent quality with a reasonable price (expect to spend around 50/60 Euro per person). Service is also very pleasant. Only drawback is the place which is very small so it is not easy to get a table.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pepe1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“sushi the way they are supposed to be”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

it is a very small place but it is possible to sit at the bar and watch the cook prepare your sushi. We had lunch and although we ordered a la carte the lunch menu option looked enticing.
We enjoyed our meal!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bienchen4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
121 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Yes! Another great Japanese in Milan”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

In Milan Japanese Restaurants are constantly increasing their number. As a matter of fact also the quality is growing up fast. This restaurant is my personal latest discovery, and I only have to say: book a table and enjoy the food. It's something really special. A very positive note is that they bring you the dishes in the perfect logical order (this is often a weak point among also the best Japanese Restaurant in Milano, as they don't give great importance to the arrival order).
The average price is on line with the rest of Japanese restaurants in Milan. I definitely will come back soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cristina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nothing to disappoint you here!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

If you are looking for a real good Japanese restaurant with high quality sashimi, delicate and beautiful dish presentation, good service, nice ambience, it is a place you cannot be disappointed!
I've been there 2 times and the experiences are both excellent. The second time I went there I was lucky enough to see the chef preparing the dish at the bar area. You can feel how the chef treats every dish with his passion. Every dish is more than just food, I can call it an art piece!
Besides the food, the service is very good. We were taken care very well.
Although I don't live in Milan, it's worth us driving for 2 hours to go again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stella H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basara Milano - Sushi Pasticceria also viewed

 

Been to Basara Milano - Sushi Pasticceria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing