We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food and great location”

La Locanda del Gatto Rosso
Ranked #161 of 8,180 Restaurants in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $34 - $56
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Centro Storico
Description: traditional Italian cuisine with homemade pasta, bread and cakes
Suffern, New York
1 review
“great food and great location”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

this is in a great spot - under the canopy of the galleria - the out door seating was very good; service was excellent because the waiters were very attentive; the food was delicious and the wine just perfect overall, a great dinner that we would recommend

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank manmo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    632
    478
    119
    54
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Billp70964
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Service and food were perfect”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We almost didn't go to the place. We had been "warned" by friends to stay outside Galleria Vittorio Emanuele II (the world's oldest mall-it's beautiful) because it's "too expensive". They're not giving stuff away in the place but you're in so deep on the trip "what the hell". It's not that expensive, but if service, great location, great food and a beautiful place mean anything to you-you must go!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank billp70964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida
Level Contributor
103 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A Lovely Respite”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

When we sat down for a snack at Gatto Rosso, we were hot and tired and thirsty. It was the middle of summer and we needed to get out of the sun and sit down. We chose Gatto Rosso because it looked like an old-world Italian restaurant and we were due for some pampering.

Under the lovely arched ceiling of the Galleria, we had white-tablecloth service from a lovely waiter. At first, the waiter seemed stand-offish and a little rude. But then he noticed my tattoo. And asked about it. We started talking about tattoos and children and he warmed up... in the end, he was one of the nicest waiters we had in all of Italy.

We only ordered drinks and desserts. The ice cream serving was generous and it was perfect. The chocolate fondue was exquisite. The coke was cold with lots of ice. We looked over at other tables, and every plate we saw looked delicious! Unfortunately, we didn't get back for dinner.

And the bathrooms were luxurious, clean and private.

This was a perfect stop for a reset on the day. Grazie, Gatto Rosso!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank YucatanLiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous meal”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We were in Milan for one evening. Our last night in italy and came upon this ristorante since we visited the duomo. Sergio seated us and was extremely tenrative to our meal. The dinner was incredible-risotto milanese with osso bucco was amazing. Pasta carbonara, ravioli with basil, bruschetta, everything incredible. Beautiful atmosphere. Would highly recommend. Be sure to visit with sergio!

Helpful?
Thank Patti A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Warrnambool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Milano restaurant”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Sergio was the perfect maitre d'h and nothing was too much trouble. The other staff were equally attentive and this made our meal a lovely occasion. The food was cooked superbly and we thoroughly enjoyed and would recommend this restaurant to other travellers.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alecia255363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Locanda del Gatto Rosso also viewed

 
Milan, Lombardy
 

Been to La Locanda del Gatto Rosso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing