We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality at lunch time”
Review of Osteria la Tabina

Osteria la Tabina
Ranked #443 of 9,246 Restaurants in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We came here after our very unusual experience had a year earlier where somehow we were unable to be attended and missed the opportunity to eat here.

This time we made it and our experience was great. It was a working day , Friday, at lunch time . We walked in without even being aware of the fixed price on their menu. Once we realised that, we were even more pleased;8€ for the two main courses and coffee.

It would have paid double to have eaten their "Riso al salto " , well made with generous portion, tasty and filling and " cotolette alla Milanese" to follow.

Everything was fresh and good. We had a cool Chardonnay to go with and our lunch time was served.

The service was fast and competent while the place was cosy and quite considering it's facing a secondary road which makes it nice to also eat outside.

La tabina doesn't have anything to envy to the more famous two restaurant at their corner. If they keep working this way, they will definitely close the gap.

I will try to become an usual client down here.

Well done.

Ciao

Epi

Date of visit: June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Epi1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 364 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

There are a few places in Milan where you can have gnocco fritto and salumi, reasonably similar to the real thing made in Emilia and some of Romagna regions. We tried at least three over time.
This is clearly the best for eating if (perhaps because) less fancy and stylish in its furniture and settings.

A few basic first and second courses are available as alternatives to the local specialty, some possibly lighter. We were there specifically for gnocco fritto, and among the eight of us tried both the basic offer and its additions.
The basic one includes salumi, that is assorted pork cold cuts and salami. The two additional options include also grilled vegetables and squacquerone - a light cheese typical of the same Emilia and Romagna areas as gnocco fritto.

It turns out that squacquerone is the least relevant addition - a small portion of average quality; vegetables are relatively good, gnocco proper and salumi are very good.

Service is reasonably fast and careful - even for second thoughts and additions, a welcome plus in a very busy and unsophisticated place.

Price was very reasonable, and servings plentiful - the greediest of us could not eat up all that the more reasonable ones in the party had left over - too much of a good thing.

Date of visit: July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GianlucaMarcellino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile



thanks for the opportunity to allow this review. Unfortunately it wont be related to the quality of its food but to its service.

In a busy time @ pick hours just after 13.30, i admit that, we walked in and queue to wait our turn to be hosted/welcomed.

Somehow the fact that it was hot outside and that we've asked for a table for two inside keen to wait the time for it, the personell agreed at first 'n told us they had a table and to wait aside @ the counter.

Later on, after noticing a quick consultation between the waitress and her manager, we were asked to leave without the chance to reconsider our options and review our decision and maybe being available to eat outside on the sidewalk as many tables were set but reasonably empty @ 30• c with the Sun @ its highest point!

So, i'm really sorry to have missed the opportunity to taste and enjoy their food and experience their ambient, but i'd see it tough convincing my wife to change her mind and give it a try again.

Very disappointed !!

Ciao

Epi

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Epi1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: November 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria la Tabina also viewed

 

Been to Osteria la Tabina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing