We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny rooms”
Review of London Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
London Hotel
Ranked #298 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tiny rooms”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Rooms are tiny but adequate. Location is perfect. Staff is friendly. Be careful if you have a lot of luggage as there is an elevator but it is very small. Overall provided good value. The only thing we noticed was that the room smelled of cleaning products.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    69
    66
    36
    28
See reviews for
28
88
23
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel London Milano in June of 2012, based on the Rick Steves guide books. I had read the reviews on TripAdvisor by people who had problems with the smell, but since there were only a few I supposed it was only one or two rooms and my chances of getting a problem room were small. I don't know what the chances were, but we got one of the bad ones. Turning on the AC only made it worse. I think they have needed to clean out the AC filters for years if not decades, or maybe replace the AC system. Breathing was barely tolerable, and none of us ever got used to the smell.

Exactly the opposite of another reviewer, I found the staff to be very friendly but not all that helpful, in the end. Not that they didn't try, it's just that there wasn't much they could do. The location is excellent, and I didn't find the noise all that bad. For downtown Milan, they are on a relatively quiet street.

I might stay there again if it was the only place in Milan that had rooms I could afford. Other than that, I'm sure I could do better.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This hotel was in a great location, central to everything we wanted to see. We are experienced travelers and understand the challenge of adding modern facilities to older buildings. You get what you pay for in décor and modernization, so we were not that unhappy here. My only frustration was that there was some street noise during the night, but I'm a light sleeper. My husband didn't even hear it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The only good thing about this hotel is the location - just off Via Dante and a few metres away from Duomo. The staff was helpful too. The interior is in dire need of modernisation. Stepping into the room means you're being transported back to the 60s/70s. The hotel charges for wifi and the room does not come with breakfast. I would feel that the rate is fair if 80eur per night comes with a free wifi and a cup of coffee and a small piece of pastry for breakfast. There's so much potential due to the excellent location - just need some effort in modernising the room and a little generosity!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CookieMon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Milan hotels

Anderson, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed in five hotels in Italy and Barcelona on our recent trip. This hotel was my least favorite on my list. Other than location which was good, that's the only plus. Rooms were very small and bathrooms and showers even smaller. Air didn't work most of the time. Hotel staff helpful but not very friendly. They charge for wifi and all other hotels did not. I would not recommend .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bs59cs63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Total absence of soundproof on windows, walls, doors. Busy road for lorries (parallel to footpath).
Very small rooms and much smaller bathrooms(?)---> IF ONLY YOU CAN CALL THAT BOX BATHROOM. Whatevet I say is less compared to what you will experience dissapointed. Pay more ( it worths every cent) to stay anywhere else except there...You WILL NOT GET ANY REST ON THE "WOODEN" MATRESS with the LACK OF PILLOWS (THICK AS A SHEET) AND ALL THAT NOISE INSIDE AND OUTSIDE THE HOTEL(?). Only worthing spots, the ANDRY RESTAURANT opposite and THE CHINESE RESTAURANT(Michelin Guide approved) next to it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Minexax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I try to be always objective and positive but it's impossible in this case.

Only 1 plus: location directly in down town near Dome.
If you would like to come by car forget this hotel.
You must use external garage and to walk with baggage
couple of streets. Terrible location and narrow streets for each car.

Room very small with very old furniture
but not historical style or beauty.

Bathroom was located ……….in a case. It means that water spurted directly
to a carpet in the room.

And finally very limited space for breakfast directly at the reception desk.
Would you like to have peaceful breakfast in Milano? Forget that - 5 other people is waiting
for your place at the table …………if you are lucky and you have found place before them :(

Any more back to this hotel. You can have 10 on each fingre if you will spend minimum time
on web sites....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jobrno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Hotel Star
Hotel Star
#42 of 428 in Milan
529 reviews
Centro Storico
Grand Hotel Duomo
Grand Hotel Duomo
#311 of 428 in Milan
31 reviews
Centro Storico
Palazzo Segreti
Palazzo Segreti
#127 of 428 in Milan
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navigli
Hotel Carrobbio
Hotel Carrobbio
#230 of 428 in Milan
402 reviews
Centro Storico
Hotel Genius Downtown
Hotel Genius Downtown
#106 of 428 in Milan
695 reviews
Centro Storico
Mokinba Hotel King
Mokinba Hotel King
#333 of 428 in Milan
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Hotel

Property: London Hotel
Address: Via Rovello 3, 20121 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #298 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — London Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing