We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Milan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel San Francisco
Ranked #73 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and the service was excellent. The rooms are newly renovating. I love the marble floor and rain shower with good water pressure!! Breakfast was very good. Location is 10 minute walk from Loreto metro station and I felt very safe even late at night. There are many restaurants not too far from the hotel. WIFI was very fast.

My only complaint is cleaning service very slow. I realized the young man is working very fast and very hard but one person clearly cannot clean and an entire hotel within a timely manner.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms next to/behind elevator shaft or bring earplugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CallawayDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (581)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 581 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013

Small lovely hotel, clean, tidy, rich breakfast, good service. Very good location. It is close to shopping street and the metro. The rooms are cleaned every day and the bathroom was spotless. Breakfast is very rich. Coffee is perfect. Free Wi-Fi :) Our next visit to Milan for sure we will be in San Francisco Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RumenTsenov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I slept 4 nights at this hotel and I can say that staff is exceptional, all employees do their job very well, breakfast is very good, service also does not mention the cleanliness of the hotel. The location is very nice, everything you could want nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurentiu L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I stayed here for one night during my Italian journey. Small nice hotel with the atmosphere of the old town and something of Hollywood movies at the same time. Old House, but totally updated. Repair was ending. Small clean room, stunning bathroom with a shower cubicle neon. Classic continental breakfast on the patio or restaurant. Convenient location - about 25 minutes walk from the Milano Centrale, or bus.
About minuses - uncomfortable pillow, a lot of mosquitoes in the yard and the room at night, if you open the window. But it doesn't cost a lot of attention. I recommend for a business trip or a short placement. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalia_StP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We liked the hotel very much. It has a great breakfast, fruit, bread, croissants, eggs, cereal, milk, juice, cheese, ham, cakes, tea.. The staff was very nice and helpful. Also the location is very good, you can walk to the metro, at night was very quite.. The hotel is very clean! They cleaned the room and wc every day and changed the towels. They are renovating the hotel piece by piece. The bathrooms are very modern, but the rooms are not (but very good). We think that the rooms are the next step. Despite the works in the hotel we never EVER eared a noise at the resting hours. In short, we recommend San Francisco Hotel very much.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed at Hotel San Francisco for three nights and had a nice experience. Both the food for breakfast and the room were simple but good. The staff was very welcoming and helpful (e.g., providing restaurant recommendations). The only potential drawback is the location; it took us around 15 minutes to walk to the metro and about 30 minutes to get to the main train station. The hotel is not in the most vibrant area of town but remains a good value for the money spent.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OKMcFarland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel is excellent value for money and well situated for what Milan has to offer.The hotel is being renovated step by step and the finished floors are completed to the highest standard.The staff were most helpful and the breakfast very good.Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Just ask for a room on a floor that has been decorated and finished
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheriffwoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
0.2 mi away
Oasi Village Hotel & Resort
2.9 mi away
Lancaster Hotel
Lancaster Hotel
#21 of 430 in Milan
865 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aspromonte Hotel
Aspromonte Hotel
#166 of 430 in Milan
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Florence
Hotel Florence
#136 of 430 in Milan
460 reviews
5.6 mi away
Klima Hotel Milano Fiere
3.9 mi away
Lido Hotel
Lido Hotel
#95 of 430 in Milan
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Francisco

Address: Viale Lombardia 55, 20131 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Milan
#79 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#84 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range: $70 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Francisco 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With sober environments equipped with modern comforts, the 3-star Hotel San Francisco in Milan is a haven of peace with a private garden close to Piazzale Loreto,in a convenient location to reach the most important hospitals and Milano Centrale railway station. A 10 minute walk from Corso Buenos Aires, Hotel San Francisco offers its guests the warmth of a multilingual staff, many services and a meeting room equipped for small meetings, ideal for the business clientele visiting Milan on business ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing