We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value and Good Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel San Francisco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel San Francisco
Ranked #100 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Value and Good Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

I had a business associate book another hotel for me and after the first night I started looking for another Hotel. I saw that Hotel San Francisco had good reviews so I booked a room for five nights online and received a very good price. (This was half the price of the other hotel I did not like) The hotel is under renovation but the room was very nice. Top floor overlooking the garden. Free Wi-Fi and I am very glad that I changed my Hotel to this location. The staff is friendly and the breakfast is good. (Standard breakfast for Europe) If you are an American keep in mind that hotels is Europe in general are smaller than what we are used to. I am glad I used this hotel and I saved a lot of money for my company. It is also in walking distance to the Subway/Train system the Red and Green line. Within 20 minutes you can be all the famous sites. (This includes the walk to the train)

Room Tip: Top Floor overlooking the Garden (not street side)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeGoodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    241
    81
    12
    6
See reviews for
78
179
60
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

there were renovation works going in process during our stay in this hotel (January 4-January 11). Freezing in the room, the heating was switched off during the day time for several hours and at night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
4 Thank Elena I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willowbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Just about a 7 Minute Red Line Rail Ride from Loretto to Central Milan. The staff especially Carlos was extremely helpful. The Hotel is under renovations but it was a great stay. Breakfast was eggs with breakfast meats, assortments of pasteries, breads & rolls. Fruit, Ham and Cheese. Cereal, Yogurt (Great for families) Fresh juice, water coffee, and Expresso (all included!). Carlos was always there to explain where to go and how to get there. This was recently purchased ib September 2012 by new owners (hence the renovations) and they really asked for input about what to serve for breakfast, what the rooms needed or lack. I really liked that. When you leave to go out, you give them your room key which was nice because you never had to worry about loosing it. It is a pretty busy street but durning the week, the street was pretty quite. On the weekends I would assume that you might hear more street noise. Area seemed safe, we were 3 gals and we walked alot but at night after 8 we always took a taxi back to the hotel. The Rail lines are withing walking distance and are clean. The garden yard looked beautiful but it was too clod to enjoy on our trip.

Room Tip: The Hotel is still under renovations. They anticipated to be complete by April 2013. If booking pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cvitone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

My friend and I arrived at about 10 in the morning and asked to just leave our luggage so that we could explore the city until check-in time. The man at the desk told us to stay and eat a (free!) breakfast and that our room would be ready in a few minutes. (we ate breakfast there every day and were impressed with the variety- several choices of fruit and different types of breads,eggs, bacon, coffee, tea, juice...) I didn't catch this receptionist's name, but he was very, very kind and pleasant for our whole stay and spoke good English as well. He gave us a map of the city and showed us where his favorite restaurant was.
Our room was clean and very quiet! I slept there better than I sleep in my own home! We were glad to be out of the center of the city, and it was incredibly easy to get to all the attractions by metro or even by walking. (shout out to the GREAT metro system in Milan!)
Lots of TV channels, though they were all in Italian. Wifi worked even in our 3rd floor room. Worst complaint is that the shower took several minutes to heat up, but really. It was outstanding for the price. I would recommend this place to anyone in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessicalynnmerrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardanne
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Location near University and Politecnico at an interesting rate is very convenient.
Staff is very kind and present 24h/24h
Breakfast, included in the room price is good and nicely presented.
Quality/price is interesting: to be recommanded for people travelling in Milano

Room Tip: Even windows are new ones, some noise are coming from the street during the night. Avoid rooms on st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank papy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Date, Japan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Clean and comfortable room. Person in front desk speaks English. Free Wi-Fi connection. Walking distance from the metro station. The way I felt safe. These conditions are enough to stay a hotel for business purpose.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mount_USU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

This hotel is a jewel. Rooms were very comfortable and the reception is outstanding. Breakfast was the best we had in our stay in Italy. Well located. Far enough away from the crowds, but easily accessible to public transportation, shopping, restaurants, etc. Room was not bad-sized for Italy and bathroom small (but if you want big bathrooms, don't travel to Europe or stay in an American chain hotel). We love the ambiance of local hotels. Some traffic noise outside, but then I live in an area with traffic, so it did not disturb me. Wi-fi is excellent. Best of all--it is easy on the budget. We were four adults traveling together and had two double rooms. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Florence
Hotel Florence
#117 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
1.7 mi away
22 Marzo Hotel
22 Marzo Hotel
#29 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Ideale
Hotel Ideale
#116 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Palladio
Hotel Palladio
#52 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
2.9 mi away
Eco-Hotel La Residenza
Eco-Hotel La Residenza
#69 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Berlino
Hotel Berlino
#126 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Francisco

Property: Hotel San Francisco
Address: Viale Lombardia 55, 20131 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Milan
#79 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#84 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Francisco 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With sober environments equipped with modern comforts, the 3-star Hotel San Francisco in Milan is a haven of peace with a private garden close to Piazzale Loreto,in a convenient location to reach the most important hospitals and Milano Centrale railway station. A 10 minute walk from Corso Buenos Aires, Hotel San Francisco offers its guests the warmth of a multilingual staff, many services and a meeting room equipped for small meetings, ideal for the business clientele visiting Milan on business ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing