We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best for business trip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel San Francisco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel San Francisco
Ranked #100 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Date, Japan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best for business trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Clean and comfortable room. Person in front desk speaks English. Free Wi-Fi connection. Walking distance from the metro station. The way I felt safe. These conditions are enough to stay a hotel for business purpose.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mount_USU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    241
    81
    12
    6
See reviews for
78
179
60
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

This hotel is a jewel. Rooms were very comfortable and the reception is outstanding. Breakfast was the best we had in our stay in Italy. Well located. Far enough away from the crowds, but easily accessible to public transportation, shopping, restaurants, etc. Room was not bad-sized for Italy and bathroom small (but if you want big bathrooms, don't travel to Europe or stay in an American chain hotel). We love the ambiance of local hotels. Some traffic noise outside, but then I live in an area with traffic, so it did not disturb me. Wi-fi is excellent. Best of all--it is easy on the budget. We were four adults traveling together and had two double rooms. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

The hotel is very clean, nice breakfast, and wonderful staff. Especially Carlo at the front desk, Location is not bad, a short walk to the metro station and a few stops to the Piazza del Duomo which is center of town. The one bad thing is that there are not many restaurants, bars etc in the immediate area. The ones that are there close early by Italian standards. The rooms are decent not big and the bathrooms though clean are also very small.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vasto5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed there for 2 nights last week. We stayed at room no:20. The room was old and didn't feel clean although we didnt see anything dirty. The staff was ok, breakfast was poor. If I go to Milan again, I would look for another hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orkunyurttepe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

I stayed for a day in this lovely hotel during my trip to Italy.

The hotel is situated close enough to the main central attractions of Milan as well as central train station and is relatively easy to find.

The room was rather small but comfortable and tidy, the staff was polite and helpful.
Do not be surprised that on top of the room charge you will have to pay city tourist tax in amount of 1 to 5 euro per person per day depending on season (an appropriate notice is near the reception), this has nothing to do with the hotel, it's a local law.

The most pleasant thing abouth the hotel is its on private green yard where you can have breakfast in the morning.

Speaking of food, the breakfast was very nice, may not have enough varities for some people, but quite fine for me. Do not be overdemanding, continental breakfast is what you get in this part of Italy, everything will be fresh and tasty nevertheless.

All in all I enjoyed my stay in this hotel .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lokilajenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Just for anybody wondering or contemplating going to this hotel, we found it great. Me and my sister went for her birthday/city break 21st - 23rd sept (wasn't long enough) but we made the most of every min and didnt waste time seeing the lovely places in milan! The hoel staff were fantastic especially carlo who was so patient in helping us with directions etc. The hotel was very clean and our bedroom was perfect overlooking the garden! Our bathroom was a good size and again spotlessly clean, the hotel provide toiletries and towels which is a great help on a short break.At breakfast we were very surprised to see all the choice eggs,boiled,scrambled, toast,jams,cakes(which my sis loved) different bread rolls, cheeses and meats,lovely coffee and helpful fun staff, what more could you want! The location was good and when you find your bearings you will realise that most things are within 20min walk. I have to say though me and my sister got taxis to the cathedral (which is a must) and walked back through the graet corso buenos aires shops!!!!I will be visiting Milan again next year with my hubby and i will definatly be staying at san francisco! (room 12). Thyank you to all the wonderful staff especially carlo!

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the cute garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnjeanette65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

The hotel maybe isn´t the newest, but you can be sure that it´s clean. It´s quite basic, but definetely nothing less than what you can expect for the price and the hotels two stars.The breakfast is good, with good coffee. The hotel isn´t in the strict center, but it´s about a 5-10 minute walk to the metro Loreto which provides 2 metro lines. It´s in a safe location. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They speak fluent English.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martuska1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Florence
Hotel Florence
#117 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
1.7 mi away
22 Marzo Hotel
22 Marzo Hotel
#29 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Ideale
Hotel Ideale
#116 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Palladio
Hotel Palladio
#52 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
2.9 mi away
Eco-Hotel La Residenza
Eco-Hotel La Residenza
#69 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Berlino
Hotel Berlino
#126 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Francisco

Property: Hotel San Francisco
Address: Viale Lombardia 55, 20131 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Milan
#79 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#84 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Francisco 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With sober environments equipped with modern comforts, the 3-star Hotel San Francisco in Milan is a haven of peace with a private garden close to Piazzale Loreto,in a convenient location to reach the most important hospitals and Milano Centrale railway station. A 10 minute walk from Corso Buenos Aires, Hotel San Francisco offers its guests the warmth of a multilingual staff, many services and a meeting room equipped for small meetings, ideal for the business clientele visiting Milan on business ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing