We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel San Francisco
Ranked #95 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Heemstede, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Good value, nearby metrolines, nearby Linate, nearby Central Railway station. Very pleasant staff. Very quite, but hotel was not full.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magiel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    255
    84
    12
    6
See reviews for
85
188
65
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights, a couple of weeks ago with my partner and a blind friend (to whom they were very courteous and helpful). Ideal location in that it is very accessible by metro (about 5 mins walk ) to the Duomo/La Scala and other tourist areas in the central area (about 10 mins away) and convenient to the Stazione Centrale where we took the train to Como for a day out. The hotel itself is situated in a quiet residentail street and has a very nice garden where you can sit and have a coffee/relax with a drink after a heavy day's sightseeing. Our rooms were very comfortable and very clean, the breakfast was plentiful with cereals, breads, croissants, fruit, yoghurt, ham and cheese, the staff very friendly and helpful. Would thoroughly recommend it and certainly go back to as I hope we will one day!.

Room Tip: Room on the garden side as opposed to the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BirminghamBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

I’ve just left hotel San Francisco and honestly this is one of the best 3 stars hotel I’ve ever stayed at. It’s nicely situated near “Loreto” metro station, which is crossing point for two lines – Red M1 and Green M2. You can easily get to the center of Milan (Duomo is about 4 stops away) and Ripa Di Porta Ticinese where you can find lots of nice restaurants and bars/pubs. Daily ticket (24 hours) for public transport costs only 4.5 euro and is very convenient.
Hotel itself is nice and clean. The rooms are average, not too small. Bathroom is normally sized. It can be a bit noisy if your room is facing the street, but again not too much. The breakfast is better than the standard 3 stars sweets&cakes – you can choose among croissants, toasts/bread with salami, prosciutto, mortadella, cheese. There are even fresh fruits and yogurt.
The hotels staff is very friendly and helpful. You can get decent service in English without a problem, which doesn’t happen in all places in Italy. They’ll recommend you some nice places for sightseeing and free city map.
I would definitely recommend this hotel both for doing business and touring Milan.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulyFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stayed here as part of our Europe trip in May '09. We were looking for a place to crash for one night as we were making our way over to Cote d'Azur. We weren't really planning on taking in the sights in Milan, so we were just looking for something close to the train station and inexpensive, but not a run down nightmare. This place was just right. We got into the main train station at night. We didn't know where to go and there was no one around to ask for directions so we just took a taxi. Luckily the hotel wasn't far though it did seem to take the taxi a little longer than I thought it should have. Oh well, live and learn.

The hotel was about a 20 min. walk to the main train station. The hotel itself is easily spotted on the street. Just a few steps up and your in the lobby. The decor was simple with lots of wood accent. Check in was simple and a breeze and the person who checked us in was courteous and helpful. We got our keys and went up to our room in the small elevator, which is typical throughout Europe. However the room was larger than most you'll find and for the price we paid, it was more than we expected. As you open the door you come into a small narrow living room and although it's small it was large enough to hold a regular sofa, a free-standing dresser, and a flat screen TV on the wall opposite the sofa. The 2 full size beds were in a separate room and only the beds were in there with a tiny table in between. The bathroom was in the last room. It was very large by any standard with nice red brick colored tiles. The entire room faced the street and on the night we stayed there was a couple of sirens from either ambulance, police, or firefighters. The next day we made our way down to the breakfast room, but since it was nice, we eat in the nice garden at the rear of the hotel.

Again, for the price and location, this was pretty close to perfect. If we are in Milan again and the price were right, we'd stay here without any hesitation.

Room Tip: For quiet room get ones at the rear facing the garden. For ones with view, get something on the top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beenaround73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, UK
Level 6 Contributor
483 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel San Francisco in Milan for one night (Tuesday). We arrived by train at Centrale station in Milan and decided to walk to the hotel. It took us about 20 minutes - although there are Metro stations closer to the hotel.

Reception was small and compact and the man on reception spoke reasonable English. He offered us a code for the free Wi-Fi that was available throughout the hotel.

Our room (at the back of the hotel on the first floor) over looked a garden. I'm sure that, in summer, it is very nice. However, during our visit in February it was minus 3 degrees and covered in snow.

One word to describe the room would be "sparse". However, everything was clean and it was quiet.

The TV in the bedroom had no English speaking chanels.

Our en-suite shower room was large and very clean.

The next morning we had breakfast. We have had much worse breakfasts elsewhere. However, we have had much better. The choice was on the small side.

When we checked out the female receptionist was "professional" and offered to order us a taxi.

This was only our second stay in Milan. Our other hotel was much better. Whilst there was nothing fundamentally wrong with this hotel we would only stay at the Hotel San Francisco again if no other hotel was cheaper or more convenient.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skeldergate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eindhoven
1 review
Reviewed December 19, 2011

We had a nice time in Milan. San Francisco hotel at the border of city-centre 2 metro stops from the Duomo is well situated.
The bath-room was a bid small; Shower not 100 %.
Service was OK Price/Performance OK

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hanbroek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We arrived earlier than the official check in time, but were accommodated anyway. (I know what Camille means by the woman's "attitude," but eventually she became very friendly and nice.) When we had to leave to catch a plane before the breakfast time, we were well taken care of. Taxis were always arranged for in time. All the beds in Italy seem to be rather hard and this was no exception, but we slept well. We love to walk, so had no problem getting to the sights and restaurants. Compared to other hotels we visited, this was a little pricey for the style and amenities, but we booked it again for the one night before we left Italy.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor with a nice sitting room/sun room overlooking some very pretty gardens. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristineMaguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Ideale
Hotel Ideale
#132 of 428 in Milan
331 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Florence
Hotel Florence
#131 of 428 in Milan
429 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oasi Village Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Palladio
Hotel Palladio
#66 of 428 in Milan
394 reviews
1.7 mi away
22 Marzo Hotel
22 Marzo Hotel
#32 of 428 in Milan
523 reviews
2.9 mi away
Eco-Hotel La Residenza
Eco-Hotel La Residenza
#73 of 428 in Milan
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Francisco

Property: Hotel San Francisco
Address: Viale Lombardia 55, 20131 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in Milan
#79 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#84 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Francisco 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With sober environments equipped with modern comforts, the 3-star Hotel San Francisco in Milan is a haven of peace with a private garden close to Piazzale Loreto,in a convenient location to reach the most important hospitals and Milano Centrale railway station. A 10 minute walk from Corso Buenos Aires, Hotel San Francisco offers its guests the warmth of a multilingual staff, many services and a meeting room equipped for small meetings, ideal for the business clientele visiting Milan on business ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, HostelWorld, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing