We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money restaurant!”
Review of Kanji

Kanji
Ranked #1,905 of 8,156 Restaurants in Milan
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Stazione Centrale
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money restaurant!”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I've been there with some friends and, as wrote in the title, this is one of the best japanese "all you can eat" restaurant I have ever tried for more than one reason : the place is nice, it's quite easy to find a free parking area in less than 1 km, the atmosphere inside the restaurant is good and it is really value for money! The food is delicious compared to its "normal" price!
Advised.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank d3v1L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    216
    86
    27
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Loved it!!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Excellent sushi with japense chefs on site.

Very and reasonably priced. It's a pretty small restaurant, so you may want to book, but if you go a little earlier around 7ish it's ok to get a table.

The quality of the food was excellent, no hidden charges, unlike some of the pricer italian restaurants. The service was good but i had gone earlier and was on my own so they were aware.

Because it's a little place the atmosphere was great and especially as the restaurant started to get busier for the evening.

I ordered a couple of maki rolls, but the come in 8 pieces, so they will ask if you want 4 or 8. I didn't try the all you can eat or the set menus, but the other diners were ordering this and they looked fantastic, very apetising.

the tables were set for 4 rows of 3 x 2 tables, however in the back there could have space for a few large parties.

Overall an excellent restaurant. not too pricey..

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dpanchal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great trade off between quality of sushi and price”
Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

Have been several times to this sushi restaurant, despite the service which is very poor, the quality of the food is great, the price fair, the atmosphere nice and the owner very friendly. The "all you can eat" option is probably the best choice since the quality of food is good!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Livinginahotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best!”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We found it by accident, but were pleasantly surprised of the quality of food!!! Decor is also really nice. Staff is helpful, nice and honest. We forgot our phone there and the staff was relly helpful!
Definetly would go there again when in Milan

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Saxyfraga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
447 reviews
372 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“Great Prices, Good Food - Crowded”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

This small locale offers some very tasty Japanese food, prepared and served by a Chinese staff. Nonetheless, they carry it off well, with fresh sushi, sashimi and other Japanese specialties. I've only been here during the lunch hour and the place is always crowded with business clientele. Kanji is nicely decorated, however the tables are VERY close to one another, offering no privacy.

Prices for combination meals at lunch are incredibly inexpensive. Your entree is served with a bowl of miso soup, a small salad, marinated seaweed, a bowl of white rice and some fresh fruit. It is just enough for a decent lunch and not too heavy. Meals at lunch time range between 10 to 14 euro. I usually go with the Sashimi Mix which is comprised of about 3 pieces each of 4-5 different type of raw fish, all fresh. You get a little wasabi and fresh marinated ginger with that.

Kanji is an excellent choice for a quick, tasty, and economic meal at lunchtime.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirto56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kanji also viewed

 
Milan, Lombardy
Milan, Lombardy
 

Been to Kanji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing