We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Modern Hotel”
Review of Hotel Sanpi Milano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Sanpi Milano
Ranked #42 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2006

The Hotel Sanpi (Sampi) is a beautiful hotel with a modern decor. We were amazed at the spacious room and the superb breakfast. The buffet had scrambled eggs and bacon for Americans if they wanted that choice along with the usual continental items. The reception staff and the staff in the breakfast room were superb hosts. In the evening, a glass of wine on the outdoor patio was just the thing after a day of being a tourist. Perhaps the walk to the subway is more than some would prefer, but that is about the only objection to this hotel.

4  Thank FortWorthTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

604 - 610 of 1,164 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2005

Be aware that the hotel website only shows pictures of the exec suites and not standard rooms, misleading given there are only 7 suites out of a total of 71 rooms. Not all rooms are of the same standard so persevere until you are happy with room allocated.

There are no tea and coffee making facilities despite being advertised and no slippers!

Yes hotel is fairly close to the train station and close to metro lines and main street however this is where the good points stop.

Booked through ---- website and therefore paid up front, this was an issue when given a room in the old centre block in a room which smelled, was very worn and not particularly clean or inviting. Didnt want to even sit down in fear of catching something!

Complained about room straight away and asked to get moved to the new wing however receptionist was abrupt and very unhelpful saying that was the room allocated to ---- and that they were fully booked and that was that. After 20 minutes of complaining we were eventually moved to a room in the new block which had been recently redecorated and was pleasant enough, only tarnished by the fight we had to get it. The receptionist did admit at this point that the hotel was in process of being renovated.

Breakfast was buffet style and there was a good enough choice. The breakfast room was however cramped and a little dated.

The area was a bit dodgy with groups of afro-caribbean guys hanging about every street corner staring at those walking past. The Hotel street was not well lit and you could feel uneasy walking home when dark.

Struggled to find any decent restaurants round about and every where is shut on a sunday!

About a 20 minute walk to the Duomo and historic centre and 10 minutes to the designer shops.

If you pay less than 80 euros a night and get a room in the new block then I'd say go for it otherwise stay clear.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank DeniseE76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2005

The hotel is nice with a standard American feel to it. Nice clean room with a decent size bathroom yet one could almost be anywhere in the world when you are in it. But that is the feel of Milan with it's huge conventions that happen year around.

With in walking distance to the main train station yet with lots of bags, a taxi would be nice. Also easy walk to the Metro for trips to the Duomo and other areas yet be careful of the little side streets. Many times we felt uncomfortable and had used the larger streets.
Would recommend to the average traveler.

4  Thank sdjSeattle_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2005

Good location and value, wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JAGAPTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Chicago, Illinois
113
Reviewed May 14, 2005

My wife and I stayed here for one night in May after another hotel we were in jacked up their rates. We found a great rate on Expedia and were pleasantly surprised by this gem of a hotel. We had a double room and everything was clean and spotless. The bathroom was nice (small shower though), the room had a programmable safe, and the cable was sufficient enough to satisfy my wife's dire need for American TV.

The staff was very helpful and friendly, breakfast was good, and the location good for checking out the Duomo, shopping, and just walking around in general. It's also about a 15 minute un-laden walk from the train station. They have US newspapers (USA Today, WSJ Europe) and a pleasant inner courtyard good for reading and relaxing.

The only critical point we had was the small shower, but for those used to Euro-style hotel rooms it was par for the course. Their breakfast 'rules' were confusing, but in the end they did not charge us for the OJ we drank (even though this was listed as an extra). I don't remember noise being an issue and cannot recall any construction in the immediate vicinity.

There were some larger hotels in the area (e.g. IBIS), so I feel like the neighborhood was just fine. However, I wouldn't want my wife walking alone at night by herself anywhere in Milan.

If I visit Milan again, we'll definately stay here. We feel like this hotel was a "find."

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Edinburgh, Scotland.
18
Reviewed April 26, 2005

I stayed at this great little hotel at the end of March 2005. I was in Milan to attend the World Cup football match between Italy and Scotland and despite the result, I thoroughly enjoyed my three nights in the Sanpi Milano.
I had single room accommodation, and while a bit on the small side it was clean, well looked after and the toilet and bathroom facilities were of a very good standard.
The complimentary breakfast provided a very reasonable range of food, and although the menu indicated that eggs of various types were "extra", I was not charged for these items. (I did inform the desk about them!)
The staff were extremely helpful, and were willing at all times to provide information regarding trams, the metro and any points of cultural interest I enquired about. Also, the Piazza Duomo is only a fifteen minute walk from this hotel.
If I return to Milan, sorry when, the Sanpi Milano will be my first port of call.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2004

My girlfiend and I spent 5 nights in the Hotel Sanpi Milano. We got a great rate on the internet at under £50 per night for a double room with breakfast for a 4star hotel compared to the advertised rates. The hotel was comfortable and very clean although the room was on the small side. The staff spoke good English and were very helpful with info on tube and trains. The breakfast was good although as we spent too long in bed some items had run out. There are interesting shops and restaurants nearby and a choice of two metro lines within a few minutes from the hotel.
We would definately recommend this hotel for a short break to Milan.

10  Thank serviceace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Mediolanum Milan
Hotel Mediolanum Milan
#38 of 428 in Milan
794 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Best Western Plus Hotel Felice Casati
Stazione Centrale
WORLDHOTEL Cristoforo Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Citta Studi
Hotel Teco
Hotel Teco
#24 of 428 in Milan
496 reviews
Lancaster Hotel
#22 of 428 in Milan
852 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Biocity Hotel
Biocity Hotel
#26 of 428 in Milan
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sanpi Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sanpi Milano

Address: Via Lazzaro Palazzi 18 | Corso Buenos-Aires/Area Porta Venezia, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#40 Family Hotel in Milan
#49 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#58 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range: $96 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sanpi Milano 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Sanpi Milano is a modern 4 stars boutique hotel member of the international chain Worldhotels. The hotel is made up of three buildings built at the end of the 19th century, and it has recently been renovated in accordance with a catchy design. The common spaces are inspired by a refined artistic taste thanks to the paintings of contemporary artists.The Hotel is located in the city center, exactly between Piazza Repubblica and Porta Venezia Corso Buenos Aires: the railway link stops in both and it connects with the nearby cities. The Duomo (Cathedral) and la Scala (Opera House) of Milano are reachable on foot. In fact in 10 minutes you will be there and in the Galleria Vittorio Emanuele and Montenapoleone street. The hotel is located in Via Lazzaro Palazzi that is a side street of Corso Buenos Aires, the longest shopping street in Europe. In addition the Sanpi is 200 meters far from the main subway lines (red line MM1 Porta Venezia which arrives directly to the exhibition center; yellow line MM3 Repubblica; green line MM2 Centrale). In 5 minutes on foot you can arrive to the Central Station (Air Terminal) and in the surroundings you can find as well the Garibaldi Station (High speed train terminal).The room experience offered from the Sanpi is just unique: 79 rooms one different from each other with atmospheres that range from the modern style interiors conceived by a famous architect studio, to the classic style of vintage furniture. Different rooms are provided with balcony that overlooks the beautiful internal garden, at shelter from the city noise. All the rooms are soundproof and equipped with air conditioning, parquet floor, free satellite TV, telephone, Wi-Fi and in the Suite and Deluxe type there is the hydro-massage bathtub.Within the hotel the guests have access to the modern fitness room Technogym wellness, to the lovely bar on the interior garden where they can be lulled by the silence: the ideal place to taste a cocktail and relax at the same time. In the light restaurant a selection of the best Italian tradition is served together with vintage wines. The small villa, which was once a crossing keeper box, represents now an exclusive house in our private garden. The Business corner is equipped with a PC with internet connection, a printer, fax and a photocopier and it is always at the guests' disposal. The Venice meeting room of 85 sqm can host corporate meeting thanks to the natural light and to all the necessary technical devices such as stereo surround, tv projector, board with changeable sheets.The Hotel Sanpi Milano is member of the international hotel chain Worldhotels and it is identified by the code WW in the GDS systems. The reservations can be done directly or using GDS or internet or mail.thank you for your attention and time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Splitty, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Sanpi Milano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanpi Milano Hotel
Sanpi Milano Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing