We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A little world of its own....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sanpi Milano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Sanpi Milano
Ranked #51 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A little world of its own....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

Stayed at Sanpi for a few nights. Very handy to the central train station......once located, easy to find your way around the area. The Sanpi is like a little place away from the rest of the world. Delightful little courtyard - colourful, full of character, a great place for a little snack and/or a glass of wine. Room on second floor was very spacious with high ceilings overlooking the courtyard. Wonderful to open the window in the morning to let the springtime early sun stream into the room warming us up. Plenty of "communal" spaces, including the courtyard, to sit, read the paper etc. Delightful bar, very professional and friendly staff to assist with choices. Wonderful quality breakfast to start the day. Staff were very helpful, very professional and gracious...adding to the character of the hotel. The surrounding area seems to have many boutique hotels and a very interesting mix of cultures. Shopping for basics is easy in local small supermarket. Plenty of good quality simple eating places nearby. Only a few minutes to the large park (across the tramline) where we sat, ate ice cream and watched local office workers play bocce in their lunch time. About a 20-25 minute stroll (not strenuous) or a short tram-ride down to Corso Victor Emanuelle II to visit the Duomo and the the big-name shops. In addition, the main thoroughfare towards that area is also full of interesting shops and eateries. We would certainly stay at Sanpi again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    418
    127
    32
    6
See reviews for
151
355
43
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

Booked into Hotel Sanpi for one night only, unfortunately, as we transited to Venice. Chose it on the basis of its proximity to the central train station - about 10 mins taxi ride. On first glance, you wouldn't pay much attention to it - but once we checked in, we were guided by a very friendly staff member through the most charming little garden oasis to a separate building, and to our room, with its balcony overlooking this interior courtyard, brimming with flowers and wrought iron tables to enjoy a drink or meal. I agree with a previous reviewer that the area looked a bit edgy - not scary just not posh - as we arrived at night, but in the light of the day, seemed absolutely great and hip.

We loved our room with its period style furnishings including big dramatic bed and balcony. Small bathroom - could not swing a cat in that space - but you just figure it out.

The breakfast was a total highlight. A great assortment including cheeses and eggs, along with fresh pastries and great coffee. You could order a la carte egg dishes if you wanted - a nice option. We returned to Milan for three nights on our way out of Italy and stayed at a hotel closer to my husband's office. This hotel (una cusani) was convenient but in no way as charming as Sanpi. I would absolutely recommend Sanpi and will look forward to returning.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 533, which was in a separate building across the little courtyard garden. Quite a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laforda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed for 3 days at this lovely hotel. The staff were great,room small but had everything we needed. It overlooked a delightful courtyard in the middle of this charming hotel . We spent some time here sipping Mojitos! And sampling some of the free snacks that came with our drinks. Nice way to end a busy day .

Easy to get to Central Milan and main station.

Overall , an excellent hotel.

Room Tip: One overlooking central courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

This was my first time to Milan and stayed 3 nights at the very charming Hotel Sampi. The staff were very helpful and recommended some great restaurants including Mamma Rosa. The neighborhood looked a bit rough on first impression but I didn't have any problems walking around alone even at midnight. It's conveniently located just a few blocks from one of the main shopping areas. The duomo area took about 20-25 minutes to walk. My room was on the 4th floor with high ceilings but the windows were small and high up so there were no real windows to see outside and felt sort of like a basement apartment. Though, not all the rooms on the same floor were like mine. Breakfast was nice and I enjoyed eating in the garden. Overall, a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aya-muse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

We were in Milan for a meeting and wanted a quiet charming hotel, and we definitely found it at the Sanpi. Located on a side street 2 blocks from the Porta Venezia metro station, we were able to stay in the heart of The city and train to the convention center in 15 minutes. Our deluxe room was not-unexpectedly small, but very well appointed, with a nice comfy bed with a great duvet, and a small but well-laid-out bathroom...great shower. Breakfast was very good....order cappuccino from the waiter rather than self-serve from the machine....fruits, pastries, cheeses, breads, cereals, yogurt, all in abundance and served from 7 to 10:30, which is a longer period than lots of other hotels. There's a charming courtyard with lovely plantings where you can relax and have drinks and snacks all day. The staff are wonderful....unfailingly cheerful no matter what you ask of them and extremely helpful for directions, ordering cabs for the airport, and especially for restaurant recommendations. We had one of the best meals of our trip to Italy at Da Ilia, which is only a short walk from the hotel, and an excellent dinner also at Mama Rosa, also close by and recommended. One more thing....wifi is throughout the hotel and free; you get the password when you check in. Next time we're in Milan, we'll definitely be staying at the Sanpi!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monkeydoodle197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Hotel Sanpi is now my first choice hotel in Milan, having tried a few. My main criteria are quiet and comfort given the noise levels in Milan and Hotel Sanpi meet them perfectly as well as add charm and excellent service - staff are really lovely! It is also quite pretty, especially the courtyard. Breakfast is also very good. I really recommend Hotel Sanpi!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

My mom, my best-friend and I spent a total of three nights at the Hotel Sanpi. We had the junior suite and we loved it. It was very quaint and we got an amazing sleep! The room was pitch black at night with the shades and curtains and the area was very quiet. We accidentally slept until 11:30 in the morning! Something we never do... But obviously we needed the sleep.

I thought our room was a good size. We had three twin beds which was completely fine with us (plus a couch!) and we never felt crowded or like we needed more space. We also had a good size bathroom with double sink and a jacuzzi bath. They also delivered a fruit basket to our room.

The breakfast was pretty good at this hotel also! It was a buffet with yogurt, fruit, eggs, croissants, etc. The staff will also give you a cappuccino or tea if you ask. We were so sad because we only got to sit down and eat it once because we were either leaving too early or we slept in.

The staff was very friendly, personable and helpful. The staff gave us a map of the city with places to go and see. I did research beforehand and had a good idea of where I wanted to go see in Milan. For example, we took a day trip to Lake Como and Bellagio. It was so beautiful.

We LOVED LOVED LOVED the restaurant we visited across the street, the Il Carpaccio. We went there once for dessert and another time for dinner. We fell in love with the people who ran this restaurant, they were so sweet and funny and were taking pictures with us and giving us shots of limoncello. They had amazing homemade desserts like cheesecake and tiramisu. Everything was reasonably priced too.

We took the train to/from the airport and walked to our hotel from there. It's a very easy commute and I believe it was only 12 euro per person each way. Much cheaper than a taxi! We also walked to all of the landmarks from our hotel. It may be a good distance for some, but if you don't mind walking you'll be fine.

Our only complaint was the neighborhood. As you may have read in the other reviews, there were a lot of minorities in the area as well as graffiti. However, it was only for a few blocks of an iffy neighborhood. I'm sure the area isn't that bad though because no one actually bothered us and we were three women traveling alone.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraCatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Mediolanum Milan
Hotel Mediolanum Milan
#48 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Windsor Hotel Milano
Windsor Hotel Milano
#57 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
Stazione Centrale
NH Milano Machiavelli
NH Milano Machiavelli
#53 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#14 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,025 reviews
Stazione Centrale
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Hotel
Stazione Centrale
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Felice Casati
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sanpi Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sanpi Milano

Property: Hotel Sanpi Milano
Address: Via Lazzaro Palazzi 18 | Corso Buenos-Aires/Area Porta Venezia, 20124 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Milan
#42 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#49 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#58 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sanpi Milano 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Sanpi Milano is a modern 4 stars boutique hotel member of the international chain Worldhotels. The hotel is made up of three buildings built at the end of the 19th century, and it has recently been renovated in accordance with a catchy design. The common spaces are inspired by a refined artistic taste thanks to the paintings of contemporary artists.The Hotel is located in the city center, exactly between Piazza Repubblica and Porta Venezia Corso Buenos Aires: the railway link stops in both and it connects with the nearby cities. The Duomo (Cathedral) and la Scala (Opera House) of Milano are reachable on foot. In fact in 10 minutes you will be there and in the Galleria Vittorio Emanuele and Montenapoleone street. The hotel is located in Via Lazzaro Palazzi that is a side street of Corso Buenos Aires, the longest shopping street in Europe. In addition the Sanpi is 200 meters far from the main subway lines (red line MM1 Porta Venezia which arrives directly to the exhibition center; yellow line MM3 Repubblica; green line MM2 Centrale). In 5 minutes on foot you can arrive to the Central Station (Air Terminal) and in the surroundings you can find as well the Garibaldi Station (High speed train terminal).The room experience offered from the Sanpi is just unique: 79 rooms one different from each other with atmospheres that range from the modern style interiors conceived by a famous architect studio, to the classic style of vintage furniture. Different rooms are provided with balcony that overlooks the beautiful internal garden, at shelter from the city noise. All the rooms are soundproof and equipped with air conditioning, parquet floor, free satellite TV, telephone, Wi-Fi and in the Suite and Deluxe type there is the hydro-massage bathtub.Within the hotel the guests have access to the modern fitness room Technogym wellness, to the lovely bar on the interior garden where they can be lulled by the silence: the ideal place to taste a cocktail and relax at the same time. In the light restaurant a selection of the best Italian tradition is served together with vintage wines. The small villa, which was once a crossing keeper box, represents now an exclusive house in our private garden. The Business corner is equipped with a PC with internet connection, a printer, fax and a photocopier and it is always at the guests' disposal. The Venice meeting room of 85 sqm can host corporate meeting thanks to the natural light and to all the necessary technical devices such as stereo surround, tv projector, board with changeable sheets.The Hotel Sanpi Milano is member of the international hotel chain Worldhotels and it is identified by the code WW in the GDS systems. The reservations can be done directly or using GDS or internet or mail.thank you for your attention and time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Sanpi Milano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanpi Milano Hotel
Sanpi Milano Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing