We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly bathroom!”
Review of Hotel Sanpi Milano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sanpi Milano
Ranked #37 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

I think that says it all! Not really romantic if you know what I
mean. Polite staff however and close to the Central Station. But quite expensive for what it offers. We expected more from a 4-star hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank fredmarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
troisi, Manager at Hotel Sanpi Milano, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Mrs and Mr Fredmarc,

Thank you so much for your stay in our hotel for 1 night on October 15 room number 531. We have well appreciate the positive comment for our team and for our location , however we think different about the expensive price you think you have pay.
According to our information you have arrived during the night after dinner , and you left around 8.30 am the day after to Venice , our team from front office accompanied you into the room on arrival and departure with many luggage’s .
As per your reservation done with our web partner you have booked a standard double room and you have spend in total Eur 153.00 per night , this rate include wi-fi for 4 device , buffet breakfast for two , 10 % vat , and 20 % commission to the travel agent , the room you had (room 531) is one of the largest room we have in our hotel because it’s located into the villa , in the garden , 40 sqm , duplex suitable for 4 people (1 double bed + 2 single bed ) 2 bathrooms (one full equipped with shower and toilet , the other largest with Jacuzzi bath tub , basin and a windows overlooking to the garden.
In this villa in the garden , who was an old train station of Milan operating till 1924 , we have only 4 rooms (2 on the garden floor + 2 on the first floor) all rooms inside this villa are normally well appreciate by our regular guests or demanding customers because are very large , j suite , with parquet floor , Jacuzzi bath tub , window even in the bathroom , quite and many more thinks , however it wasn’t your case , we fill very sorry for that we did a mistake we should gave you a standard room into the main building .
Regarding the smell from the bathroom , I’m fill so sorry about that , as soon as you told us at departure time 8.30 am , we went into the room personally and with the maintenance departure later , we open the windows (room and bathroom) and the smell was over , I ‘m so sorry for that may be something happen into the pipe system of the villa , the problem was fixed immediately after your departure.
Honestly speaking when some guests live the hotel Sanpi and they are un happy we fill so bed , we really apologize for that for the smell inconvenient you had , WE ARE HUMAN WE ARE NOT PERFECT so in case you have told it the night before we would be happy to change the room or to fix the problem immediately. We try to be helpfully and to put the real attention to everybody and to all needs , however sometimes guests like you spend 12 hours with us ( night only) and instead to speak with us immediately in order to find out a solution to the problem spend time to write a negative review into the web.
Hoping you and your wife have the opportunity to come back In Milan in the future and looking forward to host you in a suite without smell , I wish you a nice day.
Mauro Troisi
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

388 - 394 of 1,182 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

In between the station and the Duomo, but worth getting a taxi from the station if you are very heavily laden with luggage (for us it was a couple of night's stop on a 3 week trip, so a taxi was essential). The moment our taxi stopped on the other side of the street, a porter dashed out to bring our luggage into the hotel - excellent service.
We were on honeymoon, and they treated us wonderfully, with a bottle of Prosecco in our room to greet us, and the room itself was on their floor for lovers - the corridor ceilings decorated like a starry night.
When unencumbered with luggage it was easy to walk to the main tourist sites, both museums and designer streets. The rooms are not large, but they are very well designed, and the same can be said of the breakfast room.
The small internal garden is a little oasis, and the fitness room also looked good (though untried by us).

Room Tip: Floor B1 is great for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Fantastic hotel and some very friendly staff both on reception, and in breakfast. Easy to access the city by using either the metro, or a 15 minute walk. The area the hotel is in is maybe not the most friendly, and it can be slightly intimidating walking back later on at night, especially as a solo traveller.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Milan has not the best hotel but hotel Sanpi is clean, in a good position to reach everything by metro or by railway (passante ferroviario) and quite central. The staff is very polite and the breakfast is standard (but you can have better things a la carte). Toilet is not very big but functional. You may find it a little bit noisy during the night because of rumor coming from the street, so try to obtain an internal room.

1  Thank Skeg70
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

What a great hotel to stay in , very clean nice rooms . But the staff are a credit to the hotel. Fabio and Domenic were extremely helpful and would try anything to help. All the staff at the front desk were helpful the best service of all our trip. The hotel was close to everything .

Room Tip: Ask for bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rossana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Hotel Sanpi is well located within walking distance from the center of Milan. The rooms are clean and tidy, although they are not very big. If there is any overweight,
you can certainly not move in the bathroom. The staff is friendly. The breakfast is oke, but nothing special. For an omelette they charge 9 euro's extra. The breakfastroom in in the basement. It's not very cosy and it would have been nice to have breakfast in the garden.
Right in front of the hotel there is a nice restaurant, Il Carpaccio. Many Italians eat there: the food is fresh and not very expensive.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RdR511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
troisi, Direttore at Hotel Sanpi Milano, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Mrs and Mr Wadd....
,
Thank you so much for your recent stay at the Sanpi Hotel Milan and your comment into the web , we have seen that you have appreciate with an excellent vote the hotel service and team , the hotel location and the cleanness , however it seems that all the rest is average .Regarding the room size I’m so sorry for that some of our standard rooms are average size 16 sqm however many other are bigger . The breakfast served every day complimentary to all our clients is a buffet breakfast with many different kind of foods all coming from the region and fresh like eggs and croissants . Regarding omelet cost we charge it 9.00 euro because we prepare it with all kinds of food request from the clients , please consider that we use fresh food and we need also some staff time to prepare it . I personal think that our clients prefer to spend the right price for h. quality food instead to eat a cheap low quality food.
Hoping to see you soon again in Milan , I wish you a nice day.
Mauro Troisi
manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The hotel is very central close by the train station and in walking distint to the cathedral. The room however was very small and not one that you want to spend a lot of time in. The breakfast area is also on the small side - serveral morning there was guest who had to take there breakfast outside in the garden. The garden is very sweet and it is a nice place to relax after a long day in Milan

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tannemor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Mediolanum Milan
Hotel Mediolanum Milan
#36 of 430 in Milan
807 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Best Western Plus Hotel Felice Casati
Lancaster Hotel
#21 of 430 in Milan
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Ibis Milano Centro
Ibis Milano Centro
#164 of 430 in Milan
6,530 reviews
Citta Studi
Hotel Teco
Hotel Teco
#20 of 430 in Milan
521 reviews
Stazione Centrale
WORLDHOTEL Cristoforo Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sanpi Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sanpi Milano

Address: Via Lazzaro Palazzi 18 | Corso Buenos-Aires/Area Porta Venezia, 20124 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Milan
#31 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#49 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#58 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range: $104 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sanpi Milano 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Sanpi Milano is a modern 4 stars boutique hotel member of the international chain Worldhotels. The hotel is made up of three buildings built at the end of the 19th century, and it has recently been renovated in accordance with a catchy design. The common spaces are inspired by a refined artistic taste thanks to the paintings of contemporary artists.The Hotel is located in the city center, exactly between Piazza Repubblica and Porta Venezia Corso Buenos Aires: the railway link stops in both and it connects with the nearby cities. The Duomo (Cathedral) and la Scala (Opera House) of Milano are reachable on foot. In fact in 10 minutes you will be there and in the Galleria Vittorio Emanuele and Montenapoleone street. The hotel is located in Via Lazzaro Palazzi that is a side street of Corso Buenos Aires, the longest shopping street in Europe. In addition the Sanpi is 200 meters far from the main subway lines (red line MM1 Porta Venezia which arrives directly to the exhibition center; yellow line MM3 Repubblica; green line MM2 Centrale). In 5 minutes on foot you can arrive to the Central Station (Air Terminal) and in the surroundings you can find as well the Garibaldi Station (High speed train terminal).The room experience offered from the Sanpi is just unique: 79 rooms one different from each other with atmospheres that range from the modern style interiors conceived by a famous architect studio, to the classic style of vintage furniture. Different rooms are provided with balcony that overlooks the beautiful internal garden, at shelter from the city noise. All the rooms are soundproof and equipped with air conditioning, parquet floor, free satellite TV, telephone, Wi-Fi and in the Suite and Deluxe type there is the hydro-massage bathtub.Within the hotel the guests have access to the modern fitness room Technogym wellness, to the lovely bar on the interior garden where they can be lulled by the silence: the ideal place to taste a cocktail and relax at the same time. In the light restaurant a selection of the best Italian tradition is served together with vintage wines. The small villa, which was once a crossing keeper box, represents now an exclusive house in our private garden. The Business corner is equipped with a PC with internet connection, a printer, fax and a photocopier and it is always at the guests' disposal. The Venice meeting room of 85 sqm can host corporate meeting thanks to the natural light and to all the necessary technical devices such as stereo surround, tv projector, board with changeable sheets.The Hotel Sanpi Milano is member of the international hotel chain Worldhotels and it is identified by the code WW in the GDS systems. The reservations can be done directly or using GDS or internet or mail.thank you for your attention and time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sanpi Milano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanpi Milano Hotel
Sanpi Milano Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing