We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure this should be in the top 50”
Review of Hotel Sanpi Milano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Sanpi Milano
Ranked #40 of 426 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night here, front desk staff very friendly and helpful, free wifi, breakfast was nice. We had a room on the first floor overlooking the street. Location is close to train, metro and downtown.

The hallway to our room smelt of horrible body odor. Since our room faced the street it was loud with the neighbors in the street socializing until late! Even though we were walking distance, when we walked back to our room in the late afternoon, the neighborhood is sketchy, and felt unsafe. You are walking through crowds of locals begging, trying to sell you stuff, drinking and socializing with loud music until you enter the hotel.

Probably wouldn't stay here again. They want you to leave your key at the front desk when you leave too which we weren't comfortable with.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
troisi, Manager at Hotel Sanpi Milano, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Mrs Jennifer ,
Thank you so much for your stay in our hotel SANPI MILANO only 1 night in June 20-2013 in a standard room booked at promotional rate , we have appreciate your positive comment (4) for Value , service , cleanliness, location and value , we have also appreciate a positive comment and word used for the staff and the service : “front desk staff very friendly and helpful, free wi-fi , breakfast was nice”.
However we are not able to understand why you were disappointed for the same front desk team when we have asked you to leave the room key at the desk before you go out , we do it for many reason the main one is the service ( we try to welcome people personally , we leave them message , we take care of your need and many more ) the second one is the security , we welcome all clients with passport registration , we leave them a check in card and room key , we know any moment of the day and the night who is in and who is out .
Regarding the area , location you appreciate it with a 4 , however it seems you fill not safe for the people who is on the street , I’m so sorry again to inform you that we are in down town area , many restaurant and night life around , those restaurant and bars make the area populate in during the day and the night (up to 11 pm) like happen also in New York or Los Angeles . I’m working in this area since 15 years , the area is safe any time during night and day , we have never register any problem with our international guests , this area is one of the most expensive in town ( apartments cost euro 8.000,00 per sqm., many Italian and International people leave here ) and I’m sure there is no one on the street during the night and the day who try to sell you something .
Regarding the last point : “ The hallway to our room smelt of horrible body odor “ I’m seriously interested into this comment , so I will investigate on it we start first from the new perfume used for the corridor and in case we will change it.
Hoping to see you soon again In Milan may be for more night in a different room , I wish you a nice day.

Mauro Troisi
hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,133)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sanpi Milano
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 1,133 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

Very tastefull breakfast, everything fresh and of fine quality. Rooms very good and nicely furnished. Friendly staff.
Outstanding service.
Were there in 2011 for 3 days and going back within 2 weeks for 6 days. Very fine restaurants close to the hotel.
The staff helps you to see a lot of things you need to see in milano.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisgoovaerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

just return from our 3 day stay at the hotel sanpi
room was very clean and agood size bed very comfy
staff very friendly we had dinner at the hotel which was very nice and not over the top with the price DONT HAVE AROOM AT FRONT OF HOTEL BAR OVER FROM HOTEL VERY NOISY OPEN RIGHT IN TO EARLY HOUR OF MORNING

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvonnedraper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We spent 3 nights Milano recently and we were delighted with Hotel Sanpi. The service was warm, friendly and constant. The beautiful garden court yard was perfect for an apperitivo before dinner. The one night we had dinner there was equally delightful. The food was excellent and the service matched. The staff were always ready with useful information and suggestions and spoke English, although we exercised out Italian with them.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floors acing the street. While the windows are double glazed and the blin...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Excellent hotel in Milan quirky features.beautiful court yard for before dinner drinks and cafe after an enjoyable breakfast Staff very helpful especially Domenico at front desk would recommend
Close to vegetarian Restaurant Joia which is artistically amazing but food did not match expectations.
Smokers a problem in the courtyard and impinged on breakfast as well as the smoke drifted to breakfast area. Should be excluded from all eating areas world wide.

Room Tip: We had a large balcony room with sitting area unfortunately could not view French tennis open Only...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plucas4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We spent three nights here at the end of May and we were not disappointed. The staff were friendly and spoke good English, the location is close to all the main attractions and to the Metro, The room was clean, good size and had a balcony, Huge comfy bed and air conditioning. Breakfast had a wide range of meats and cheeses along with fruits, cereal and croissants. And the courtyard was nice for sitting out in the evening with a glass of wine. Would highly recommend and plan to stay here again next time we visit Milan.

Room Tip: 110 has a balcony and although faces out to the road is quiet (except 6am on Thursday which is bin d...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SugarStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed here for one week in late May. Staff was awesome. All were friendly and helpful, great recommendations for dining, and Mauro helped with everything we needed. Location is close to shops and great restaurants, as well as parking. Wonderful patio to relax and have a drink with friends/colleagues.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Mediolanum Milan
Hotel Mediolanum Milan
#38 of 426 in Milan
776 reviews
Stazione Centrale
WORLDHOTEL Cristoforo Colombo
Citta Studi
Hotel Teco
Hotel Teco
#23 of 426 in Milan
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Best Western Plus Hotel Felice Casati
Stazione Centrale
NH Milano Machiavelli
NH Milano Machiavelli
#52 of 426 in Milan
1,065 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#13 of 426 in Milan
6,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sanpi Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sanpi Milano

Address: Via Lazzaro Palazzi 18 | Corso Buenos-Aires/Area Porta Venezia, 20124 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#40 Family Hotel in Milan
#42 Best Value Hotel in Milan
#49 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#58 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range: $112 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sanpi Milano 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Sanpi Milano is a modern 4 stars boutique hotel member of the international chain Worldhotels. The hotel is made up of three buildings built at the end of the 19th century, and it has recently been renovated in accordance with a catchy design. The common spaces are inspired by a refined artistic taste thanks to the paintings of contemporary artists.The Hotel is located in the city center, exactly between Piazza Repubblica and Porta Venezia Corso Buenos Aires: the railway link stops in both and it connects with the nearby cities. The Duomo (Cathedral) and la Scala (Opera House) of Milano are reachable on foot. In fact in 10 minutes you will be there and in the Galleria Vittorio Emanuele and Montenapoleone street. The hotel is located in Via Lazzaro Palazzi that is a side street of Corso Buenos Aires, the longest shopping street in Europe. In addition the Sanpi is 200 meters far from the main subway lines (red line MM1 Porta Venezia which arrives directly to the exhibition center; yellow line MM3 Repubblica; green line MM2 Centrale). In 5 minutes on foot you can arrive to the Central Station (Air Terminal) and in the surroundings you can find as well the Garibaldi Station (High speed train terminal).The room experience offered from the Sanpi is just unique: 79 rooms one different from each other with atmospheres that range from the modern style interiors conceived by a famous architect studio, to the classic style of vintage furniture. Different rooms are provided with balcony that overlooks the beautiful internal garden, at shelter from the city noise. All the rooms are soundproof and equipped with air conditioning, parquet floor, free satellite TV, telephone, Wi-Fi and in the Suite and Deluxe type there is the hydro-massage bathtub.Within the hotel the guests have access to the modern fitness room Technogym wellness, to the lovely bar on the interior garden where they can be lulled by the silence: the ideal place to taste a cocktail and relax at the same time. In the light restaurant a selection of the best Italian tradition is served together with vintage wines. The small villa, which was once a crossing keeper box, represents now an exclusive house in our private garden. The Business corner is equipped with a PC with internet connection, a printer, fax and a photocopier and it is always at the guests' disposal. The Venice meeting room of 85 sqm can host corporate meeting thanks to the natural light and to all the necessary technical devices such as stereo surround, tv projector, board with changeable sheets.The Hotel Sanpi Milano is member of the international hotel chain Worldhotels and it is identified by the code WW in the GDS systems. The reservations can be done directly or using GDS or internet or mail.thank you for your attention and time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sanpi Milano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanpi Milano Hotel
Sanpi Milano Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing