We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable city centre hotel”
Review of Hotel Sanpi Milano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Sanpi Milano
Ranked #43 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable city centre hotel”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Sanpi as part of a weekend package, so our expectations weren't that high. In fact, our stay there was excellent. From the warm welcome from the desk staff, who arranged restaurant reservations, etc., a comfortable quiet room (even though it was at the front of the hotel) to the excellent breakfast, we were more than happy to have been booked in there. Plenty of good restaurants within a few blocks and the Metro ten minutes' walk away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hantsmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    446
    145
    34
    6
See reviews for
167
400
51
244
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights/4 days at the beginning of March. The hotel is well situated; a 12 minute walk to the Central Railway station and a 15 minute walk to the Duomo. The nearest metro station is at one end of Via Lazzaro Palazzi and the nearest tram stop at the other end of the street. Both will take you into the centre.
The hotel staff are very obliging, polite and informative. The breakfast buffet is good quality with plenty of choice, again, the staff here are most helpful.
The room was spotlessly clean and maintained that way. Plenty of space with a well resourced en-suite bathroom.
There are several restaurants in the area, we particularly the pizzeria with the wood burning oven!
We would use this hotel again and we recommend it to others.

Maria & Alan.

Room Tip: Revellers can be heard in the street at night, we selected a room on a high floor in order to avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hamble1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Pagnell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed in the Sanpi hotel for 2 nights / 3 days whilst having a city break in Milan. The hotel is very clean and comfortable. The staff are very helpful and we were extremely pleased with the service. There is a great selection of food for breakfast and the lunch/snack menu is reasonably priced. Service was great. The wifi worked fine. The hotel is not too far from Linate airport ... approximately 30 minutes and between 16 and 22 euros depending on time of day. It is easy to walk across the park and into central Milan, the walk taking about 30 minutes to get to the Duomo depending on how many shops distract you along the way. A great city break!

Room Tip: Standard rooms are well equipped and comfortable. You hear some street noise at the front of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed for 1 night on business trip to visit parent company in Milano. Handy for central station, enjoyed Prius taxi ride on one way road system but arrived outside hotel within 10 mins. It's elegant, welcoming, charming. Staff are very helpful and smiling. Allocated a room on first floor at back and it was very quiet and I had a great sleep. Free wifi. I choose hotels on his alone now as it is our right as customers to get his for free! It's a "hobby horse" I have and I ride it regularly! Got map directions to square but only walked around 800 metres through Little Eritrea to a Argentinian restaurant to eat. (Please read my review on Trip Advisor) Bathroom on small side but comfortable. Bed very comfy. I liked it and will stay here next time in Milano. Definitely worth considering! Tom C Newark, UK

Room Tip: Get a room facing the inner court it's quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We been in Milan in October 2012 for 3 nights. Booked the hotel because the price and location. the locatin is not bed - near metro station and the park but the neighborhood is very unpleasant. we got a room with windows to the patio and it was very noisy the all day so we could not open our windows. the air conditioning was poor and so is the light. the breakfast was nice and the stuff were pleasant. the most annoying was the internet! they declare that they have free WiFi in the all hotel but this is not correct. they give every room only one username for the internet that can be use only on one device for only 24 hours. we are 3 people and only one of as get free wifi for his ipad. i will not stay ther the next time i come to Milan!

Room Tip: don't take room near the patio !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yonuchka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
troisi, Manager at Hotel Sanpi Milano, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Mr Haifa from Israel ,

I would like to thank you so much for your comment into the tripadvisor.com , we really appreciate it , we have noted that you have gaved us a very good rankong for the service , clean and locatiom but you were not satisfied about the size of the room and free internet connection. So let me start from the negative point you have mentioned , as I can see from your comment it seems you are a very price sensitice clients that have booked a standard triple room (dbl with extra bed) looking the patio , those rooms are normally very large for two people , quite because are looking to the garden , however during the day time some guest can relax in the garden having a drink or connection to the wifi , this never happen during night time.
Regading the wifi or wlan pwd we have a free service available to everybody 100 mega byte , however in order to apply the Italian low you need a pwd to enter , those psw are kindly delivered at Front office any time during night and day even 2 pwd per people , simply ask it in a simple way to the Front office they will be pleased to gave it ,
regarding hotel Location (please have a look into google map) we are 200 meter far from Porta Venezia , 400 mt far form Piazza Repubblica ,300 meter far from Giardini di Porta Venezia (garden )and 200 meter far from Corso Buenos aires , all those point have a subway that bring you everywere , the Scala and Duomo are only 15 minutes walking . all around there are many Italian and Internationa restaurnat with bar and night life district.
Dear Mr Haifa , I would like to thank you again for your attention and comment , I promise you I will share it with our team in order to provvide to all our guests more wifi pwd direct at check in instead to wait for guest request.
hoping to see you again in MIlan , I wish you a nice day

Mauro Troisi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I had a great time in HOTEL SANPI MILANO.
I spent 8 nights here in Feb 2013.
Everything was fantastic.
The hotel was clean ,nice room and wonderful stuff always very kind.
Will definitely stay again when I came to Milan!! ;)
Thank you for everything!!
Grazie di cuore!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NAHOKO418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

This hotel is a decent place to stay in Milan, very well located near Porta Venezia and accessible to the subway system and suburban railway. The staff are friendly with varied levels of English language competence.

The rooms are small but clean. It feels like a three-star experience, as the building is quite old and the rooms are showing their age. Even the small TV, while flatscreen, reminded you that the room might at one point have been modern, but is now just good enough to keep you occupied on vacation; a description that might be apt far beyond televisions.

My room faced the street and there was quite a bit of noise coming from bar and restaurant patrons on the street below. It was quiet after midnight, so if you are noise-sensitive and turn in early, ask for room on the other side.

The most serious problem is the internet service, which was completely unacceptable. The bandwidth (0.22Mbps down, 0.15 Mbps up) is not enough to support anything other than very light email usage, thus rendering the hotel useless for any business traveler (or anyone who has gone online in the last ten years). I had to travel to my office (1 hour away) to take an online meeting because the bandwidth was so bad – had I known it was this poor, I would have stayed elsewhere.

For travelers who have no need to use the Internet, I can recommend this hotel due to its location and value. For everyone else, tether your laptop to your broadband phone or stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lgoldstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
troisi, Manager at Hotel Sanpi Milano, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
dear Mr Igoldstar ,
we really appreciate your positive comment into the hotel service , location ,cleness , rooms , hotel staff and more , it seems that the hotel was a good value for money except for internet wifi and connection.
Honestly speaking with you and with all others clients , last week we had some tecnical problem with out wifi system and internet provvider line , we had to use the back up emergency line for a period of 5 days including week end , I'm sure the problem you had was due to this interner provvider problem.
I'm so happy to tell you and all other guests that since feb 5th 2013 we and all our guest can use free of charge wifi and w-lan provvided by Fastweb spa with an optical fiber 100 mega bytes download/upload .
please be so kind to accept my personal apoligize for inconviniente wifi service and looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel in MIlan with better wifi connection , I wish you a nice evening.
Mauro Troisi
manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Mediolanum Milan
Hotel Mediolanum Milan
#41 of 428 in Milan
740 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Best Western Plus Hotel Felice Casati
Stazione Centrale
WORLDHOTEL Cristoforo Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
NH Milano Machiavelli
NH Milano Machiavelli
#53 of 428 in Milan
1,018 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Windsor Hotel Milano
Windsor Hotel Milano
#61 of 428 in Milan
1,812 reviews
Citta Studi
Hotel Teco
Hotel Teco
#26 of 428 in Milan
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sanpi Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sanpi Milano

Property: Hotel Sanpi Milano
Address: Via Lazzaro Palazzi 18 | Corso Buenos-Aires/Area Porta Venezia, 20124 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#40 Family Hotel in Milan
#49 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#58 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sanpi Milano 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Sanpi Milano is a modern 4 stars boutique hotel member of the international chain Worldhotels. The hotel is made up of three buildings built at the end of the 19th century, and it has recently been renovated in accordance with a catchy design. The common spaces are inspired by a refined artistic taste thanks to the paintings of contemporary artists.The Hotel is located in the city center, exactly between Piazza Repubblica and Porta Venezia Corso Buenos Aires: the railway link stops in both and it connects with the nearby cities. The Duomo (Cathedral) and la Scala (Opera House) of Milano are reachable on foot. In fact in 10 minutes you will be there and in the Galleria Vittorio Emanuele and Montenapoleone street. The hotel is located in Via Lazzaro Palazzi that is a side street of Corso Buenos Aires, the longest shopping street in Europe. In addition the Sanpi is 200 meters far from the main subway lines (red line MM1 Porta Venezia which arrives directly to the exhibition center; yellow line MM3 Repubblica; green line MM2 Centrale). In 5 minutes on foot you can arrive to the Central Station (Air Terminal) and in the surroundings you can find as well the Garibaldi Station (High speed train terminal).The room experience offered from the Sanpi is just unique: 79 rooms one different from each other with atmospheres that range from the modern style interiors conceived by a famous architect studio, to the classic style of vintage furniture. Different rooms are provided with balcony that overlooks the beautiful internal garden, at shelter from the city noise. All the rooms are soundproof and equipped with air conditioning, parquet floor, free satellite TV, telephone, Wi-Fi and in the Suite and Deluxe type there is the hydro-massage bathtub.Within the hotel the guests have access to the modern fitness room Technogym wellness, to the lovely bar on the interior garden where they can be lulled by the silence: the ideal place to taste a cocktail and relax at the same time. In the light restaurant a selection of the best Italian tradition is served together with vintage wines. The small villa, which was once a crossing keeper box, represents now an exclusive house in our private garden. The Business corner is equipped with a PC with internet connection, a printer, fax and a photocopier and it is always at the guests' disposal. The Venice meeting room of 85 sqm can host corporate meeting thanks to the natural light and to all the necessary technical devices such as stereo surround, tv projector, board with changeable sheets.The Hotel Sanpi Milano is member of the international hotel chain Worldhotels and it is identified by the code WW in the GDS systems. The reservations can be done directly or using GDS or internet or mail.thank you for your attention and time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sanpi Milano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanpi Milano Hotel
Sanpi Milano Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing