We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immediately I felt like at home.”
Review of Ostello Bello

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ostello Bello
Ranked #1 of 290 Specialty Lodging in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Just arrive, I saw that the architecture was new and in the middle of the city.
Inside a lot of people stand at the bar (really cool) where a jazz band playing nice music.
At the reception they are very quickcly and they've satisfied my requests.
The room was clean and the guys friendly.
Everythings is done with care, the breakfast is included and you can have something to eat
late in the night, great!!!
I'll come back to that.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FurioFlorence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (727)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

311 - 317 of 727 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

This hostel has an amazing feel to it right as we walked in. There were a lot of thoughtful touches - We were greeted with a free drink on entrance, there was a great book filled with suggestions of what to do in milan and we were asked our favourite song and it seemed as though it was played during our stay.
the staff were warm, friendly and helpful. The communal area had great wifi and a really nice atmosphere

On our first night we stayed in a mixes dorm and we concluded we were too old for this! there were three bunk beds with a big locker underneath the bed which was big enough for two pretty big bags. the hostel provided us with a lock. the bathroom was nice and clean with hot water, although it was in the room itself which made it difficult not to disturb people or be disturbed if people used the bathroom early in the morning or late at night.

The next two nights we stayed in a double room that was very simple but clean and private! The bathroom was fine, there was hot water and the toilet flushed (sometimes a problem in Italy!)

Every night there was a buffet that you can eaThis hostel has an amazing feel to it right as we walked in. There were a lot of thoughtful touches - We were greeted with a free drink on entrance, there was a great book filled with suggestions of what to do in milan and we were asked our favourite song and it seemed as though it was played during our stay.
the staff were warm, friendly and helpful. The communal area had great wifi and a really nice atmosphere

On our first night we stayed in a mixes dorm and we concluded we were too old for this! there were three bunk beds with a big locker underneath the bed which was big enough for two pretty big bags. the hostel provided us with a lock. the bathroom was nice and clean with hot water, although it was in the room itself which made it difficult not to disturb people or be disturbed if people used the bathroom early in the morning or late at night.

fhe next two nights we stayed in a double room that was very simple but clean and private! The bathroom was fine, there was hot water and the toilet flushes

Every night there is a buffet that you can eat between (I think) 7-9 pm when you buy a drink from the bar.

Great location right by the duomo.

every night a free buffet is offered between (I think) 7-9 pm when you buy a drink.

Would definitely recommend this hostel and would stay again!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoriKim_290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

A lot of times with hostels you can't help feeling like a tourist. You might not speak the language, it's difficult to find cheap food, and the only people you really meet are other travellers who happen to speak your language.
At Ostello Bello it was totally different. The staff all spoke fantastic English along with a range of other languages. Breakfast is free and available whenever you wake up. Even a buffet dinner is yours with the purchase of a drink. Along with all these perks you get to meet a lot of people. The ground floor common room and bar is open to the public and often full of dancing Italians.

The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms were clean.

Ostello Bello is one of the best.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
Thank Alistair O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Every part of Ostello Bello seems carefully thought through and executed really well. For example, when you arrive they give you a free drink and ask your favourite band, which then gets added to the play list of music in the common areas. There are lots of other little thing Ostello Bello does that set it apart from many other hostels in my opinion.

The staff is really helpful, friendly and approachable. The common areas are also good and the happy hour is great with good drinks and tasty buffet food -- it's really well attended by both hostel patrons and the public alike. The rooms and bathrooms were good -- we stayed in a private double with an ensuite. The location of the hostel is reasonably good with most of the main attractions and areas in Milan accessible by walking.

I highly recommend Ostello Bello.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CycleB0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I loved it!, the staff are very nice people, if you like party and have fun you should stay here.!!!. I would like to come back because I just spent one night there....
The drinks were amazing, i love Italian people, they are so kind and everything was so perfect, The staff were friendly and helpful, their level of English was excellent and we were talking in Spanish!!! so to me was like be in Mexico again! thank you for this great experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dafne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Too bad Milan is not really an interesting city to keep me coming back, because I love this place! My friends and I were there for 3 nights in October 2013 and had an awesome time (we actualy spent more time there than walking around Milan, apart from a day trip to Lake Como). Anyway, it has a brilliant atmosphere, with a bar and basement full of comfy sofas and things like board games and acoustic guitars for everyone to play. All staff are super helpful and friendly and at night you can buy a drink for 4 or 5 euros and eat from the buffet.
The rooms and bathrooms are really clean and tidy, the beds are comfortable and the place is safe. There are two terraces for guests only and a well equipped kitchen. It is close to a metro station and also to a street with many shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcela181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I stayed at Ostello Bello for one night when I first arrived in Milan in the female dorm. The staff were friendly and helpful with local information, their level of English was excellent and I even got a free pint of beer upon check in! The room was extremely clean and hygienic and the bed was comfortable. I didn't use the kitchen but both terraces were very homely and quaint. Downstairs the common room/public bar was equipped with a piano, tables and books available for loan. They also played great music. Included breakfast consisted of scrambled eggs and your continental spread. The hostel was central, just a 5 minute walk to the Duomo and metro station, and a ten minute metro ride on the yellow line to the central train station. Ostello Bello was so great, I stayed again on my last night in Milan upon my return from Firenze. All in all, an excellent and highly recommended place to stay!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
Thank 221,197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Ibis Milano Centro
Ibis Milano Centro
#166 of 431 in Milan
6,534 reviews
Hotel RossoVino - Milan
#158 of 431 in Milan
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Ostello Bello Grande
Ostello Bello Grande
#2 of 290 in Milan
415 reviews
Koala Hostel
#7 of 290 in Milan
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ostello Bello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ostello Bello

Address: Via Medici 4, 20123 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Navigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 290 Specialty Lodging in Milan
Price Range: $48 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ostello Bello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing