We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous with Aperitivo”
Review of Ostello Bello

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ostello Bello
Ranked #2 of 281 Specialty Lodging in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Stayed there for just one night and the rooms are new, clean and comfortable. The location is about 10-15 minutes walk from Duomo station along a main shopping street - Easy to locate. The staff was very friendly and we were offered drinks at check in. Breakfast was free.
We were there on a Saturday and it had the Aperitivo / Happy hour in the bar, with lots of young people (both guest and outsiders), gathering to mingle and spend the Saturday evening - something like a pub but with free finger food.
There is also a modern kitchen, dining table and rooftop at the top floor. Free wi-fi.
Would definitely go back when I visit Milan again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bfbfbfbfbf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (714)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

352 - 358 of 714 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012

I only had to stay for a day there but i will definitely come back! People were amazing and i felt like home! I arrived a bit late and tired and they offer me a welcome drink that was fantastic and they were helping me with all the questions i had:)Even in the room my roommates were really nice! A really convenient location only few minutes from Duomo! Congratulations to all the people that are working there!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
Thank Vlassakos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

When you see a hostel with as many good reviews as this place, its easy to be disappointed with what you actually see, but Ostello Bello definately lived up to my expectations.
Good location, easy check in, lovely decorated and all the little things covered too.

I agree with the other poster about the flashing light- i was on a top bunk and it made it a little harder to get to sleep, though didn't keep me awake.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank e11en84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

this hostel was one of the best ones I stayed at during my europe tour. It has a bar downstairs which was the best place to drink and meet other people. you dont even have to go out into the city at night to have an awsome time, the prices for drink are resonable and its just a short drunken stumble back up to your bedroom. and the nights we did go out there were bars and plenty of nightlife within a 5 minute walk.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canadianfrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This hostel would have got five stars if it wasn't for the fact that i had a terrible night's sleep. For some insane reason there is a flashing light on the firealarm which actually illuminates the whole room every three seconds kinda like a flash on a camera, if i had slept on the bottom bunk it wouldn't have kept me awake though so maybe ask if you can have one of those bunks.

Otherwise the hostel is very modern but has been given lots of really cool rules such as free drink on arrival, free food when you buy a drink, if you forget some touletries they'll lend you some someone else has left. The ensuite in the rooms is emaculate and the different balconies and hamocks are awesome from chilling in the sun. Breakfast is basic but is better than most. Staff were really helpful and they even helped us with our bags to the room.

Rooms were super clean, bunks a little shakey but the whole place is really nicely decorated and has everything you could possibly ask for.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scs07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Ostello Bello was perfect for us. We were staying a night in Milan before heading up to Switzerland and this place exceeded all expectations. We arrived tired after a long travel day and were greeted with a complimentary beer and nice food spread as they got our check in underway. Perfect! The vibe was great with lots of people hanging out enjoying themselves over a beverage and some pasta. The private room was nice and clean with easy access to a well appointed outside terrace. Free wi-fi, helpful and friendly staff, this was place was great !

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TMocc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We are still staying at Ostello Bello as part of a 3 day visit to Milan. Leaving for Verona tomorrow. This is the first time we have ever stayed in a hostel and we love it. We booked on advice of TA and from the time we made our reservation up till now we have received fantastic service. We have a room with a double bed and en-suite bath. Outside our room is a nice sized verandah for communal use, plus a very well equiped, clean kithen on the floor above us. The street level entrance to the hostel has a large open area with lots of tables where meals are served. As mentioned by many other reviewers, there is a comp drink on arrival and in the evenings from 7-9pm one only pays for a drink to get a free meal. Evening meal therefor only costs 4 or 5 Euro. Consists of pastas, salad, crisps. If you want additional protein, simply use the communal kitchen to cook- herbs, spices and olive oil free for use. The bar is well stocked and we were impressed to find Oban whiskey- difficult to come by in South Africa. The rooms have storage space under the beds and includes room-cleaning daily. The staff are friendly and helpful. CCTV cameras in all the comunal areas, so one feels very safe. We like it so much that we are considering sending our kids here on their own once they are 16 and 18yrs old respectively. If you do not like a viby, at times a bit noisy atmosphere, this is not for you. If, like us you travel by car, there are parking areas close by- details provided by Ostello Bello if you ask for it, but remember: it's always only for 24hrs at a time. We were lucky(after driving around for 30 min looking for parking- not space for a mouse in city) to come across a parking garage in Via Olmetto (looks for blue P sign). Run as a vehicle repair garage, they have parking bays at 20 Euro per night. They ask for your key (presumably to move your car to a different space whithin garage if needed)- but we refused and they were fine with it. Need to pay cash up front- worth it just to know that you do not have to worry about car and parking fines. They open at 6:30 am in morning so nice if you want to leave for next stop after stay in Milan. Hostel is right in centre of Milan and we walked to all the historical sites. Nice supermarkets- Billa- in Via Palla (2 floors, one below ground level) and La Coloniale Di Pogliani in Via Cesare Correnti. Both less than one kilometre in either way from H/Bello and very reasonable prices.

Room Tip: We are in Room 5. Close to lift and our window opens on the verandah. Can be bothersome if people si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CorneCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 428 in Milan
726 reviews
Centro Storico
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Brera
Mandarin Oriental, Milan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Gran Duca di York
Gran Duca di York
#9 of 428 in Milan
1,401 reviews
Centro Storico
Park Hyatt Milan
Park Hyatt Milan
#5 of 428 in Milan
1,747 reviews
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#13 of 428 in Milan
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ostello Bello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ostello Bello

Address: Via Medici 4, 20123 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Navigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 281 Specialty Lodging in Milan
Price Range: $43 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Ostello Bello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing