We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“fantastic location but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dei Cavalieri

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Dei Cavalieri
Ranked #117 of 429 Hotels in Milan
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“fantastic location but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

+ : great location - 5 min from duomo on foot
good design & decoration
excelent breakfast

- : the wifi was not available (under upgrade?) - impossible to work in the room..
the room heating was not working - the next morning they expalined to me that I should had programmed the room heating unit at 30C, otherwise does not starts..at 30C??
5Eur / day was charged over the normal price for city tax...
I was expecting a more polite & effective hotel stuff

Overall, the fantastic location is not enough.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    545
    208
    89
    46
See reviews for
251
304
44
261
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Visiting Milan to experience the religious history, the Hotel Dei Cavalieri was quite the accommodation for our visit. Readily accessible from the Metro and street car, the hotel deserves its 4 stars from its professional staff, really comfortable and functional rooms, and amenities. I was very happy with the hotel and will certainly stay here when next I return to Milan.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJHerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center
Level Contributor
514 reviews
246 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

There's something special with the staff and the management of this very fine and interesting 4 stars hotel. The way you're welcome, recognized and taken care of is far above the average. I consider the Hotel dei Cavalieri a reference of milanese hospitality. Being aware of a special circumstance that brought me in town, I received very kind attention. Furthermore, it's clear that the manager himself is giving an inprint to the welcome service: receiving his personal welcome letter is a pleasure that fewer and fewer hotel offer, nowadays.
Location is superb -few steps (5 minutes maximum) from Duomo square, safe and pleasant area, well served by metro and trams. The building has a peculiar style: lobby is probably rather small, but several nice rooms are available as common areas.
Fully satisfactory breakfast in a large room; trendy bar and nice lounge.
Room was large, well designed and decorated -the best 4 stars I've been to in Milano. They mixed classic and modern.
Roof top dining option for the warm season.
In conclusion: it's a raffinated, not pretentious hotel with excellent Customer Care and staff politeness that deserves very high ranking in nits category.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a couple of nights with my wife and the hotel was fantastic. The room was a business double which was spacious with good furnishings and the bed was large and comfortable. Couldn't fault the breakfast.

The location is ideal and has the metro across the road.

We loved the warm bar snacks we got free with the drinks in the hotel bar. Prices were reasonable too.

When we return to Milan I'll stay at the Cavalieri again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Umperdink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

In September I visited Milan for first time. Friends recommended this hotel, which was very close to Duomo Square and the shopping district. Spacious rooms, clean, good breakfast. I would definitely chose it again for me and my boyfriend!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
246 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We chose this hotel as it is around 200 meters from Duomo and the main shopping area and what a great choice it turned out to be! The hotel is in a very quiet street and our room was small but had everything we needed. An extra large bed took up most of the room. There was a safe, minibar and good sized bathroom. Breakfast was included in the rate and consisted of a well stocked buffet of fruit, cheeses, cold meats etc. The hot option is scrambled egg and bacon. An excellent start to the day. The bar prices are very reasonable for a 4 star hotel. The lighting in the main bedroom is poor but the bathroom is bright enough for makeup application! If returning to Milan we would definitely stay here again as the short walk to the main area was a real bonus. Less than 20 euros from Linate too.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novara, Piemonte, Italy
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

I spent 1 night in this hotel in october 2013. Hotel dei cavalieri is situated in missori square, just opposite to the tram stop and metro station in the same square, just a 5 min walking distante from milan's dome. The square is very traffic during the day and it could be a problem of your room overlooks the square. The hotel is well maintened, with nice furniture and very clean. Staff is very helpfull, professional and kind. breakfast is very abundant with a large buffet for a continental breakfast or an english breakfast, ad you prefer! You can find everything you need ti start in a very good manner your day! My room was very clean, with a beautiful view on the square, not so spacious but for 1 person was perfect! Bathroom was Also very clean with a phon, courtesy set and a big mirror but not very spacious, in particular the distance between toilet and bidet...I found some problems with this little space...and I'm not fat! ;) wi fi was great, fast and free for the first 24 hours of use! As a conclusion, I highly recommend this 4 star hotel for the high quality of the service and for the central position!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Navigli
The Square Milano Duomo
The Square Milano Duomo
#23 of 429 in Milan
4.5 of 5 stars 437 reviews
Centro Storico
Brunelleschi Hotel
Brunelleschi Hotel
#89 of 429 in Milan
4.0 of 5 stars 971 reviews
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#7 of 429 in Milan
4.5 of 5 stars 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Starhotels Rosa Grand
Starhotels Rosa Grand
#52 of 429 in Milan
4.0 of 5 stars 1,480 reviews
Uptown Palace
#44 of 429 in Milan
4.0 of 5 stars 1,347 reviews
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dei Cavalieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dei Cavalieri

Property: Hotel Dei Cavalieri
Address: Piazza Giuseppe Missori 1, 20123 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Navigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#81 Family Hotel in Milan
#93 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dei Cavalieri 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Dei Cavalieri is the perfect hotel for visiting Milan and for staying in the center of the city. From the prestigious four star Hotel in the heart of Milan, it is only a few steps away from the Duomo Cathedral and the Alla Scala Theater. You can reach also the fashion shopping district, the largest museums and exhibitions in town and all the most important economical and cultural points of Milan in few minutes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and ACCOR so you can book your Hotel Dei Cavalieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dei Cavalieri Milan
Dei Cavalieri Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing