We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, staff, management approach. And Location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dei Cavalieri

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Dei Cavalieri
Ranked #116 of 429 Hotels in Milan
Center
Level Contributor
511 reviews
245 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Great value, staff, management approach. And Location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

There's something special with the staff and the management of this very fine and interesting 4 stars hotel. The way you're welcome, recognized and taken care of is far above the average. I consider the Hotel dei Cavalieri a reference of milanese hospitality. Being aware of a special circumstance that brought me in town, I received very kind attention. Furthermore, it's clear that the manager himself is giving an inprint to the welcome service: receiving his personal welcome letter is a pleasure that fewer and fewer hotel offer, nowadays.
Location is superb -few steps (5 minutes maximum) from Duomo square, safe and pleasant area, well served by metro and trams. The building has a peculiar style: lobby is probably rather small, but several nice rooms are available as common areas.
Fully satisfactory breakfast in a large room; trendy bar and nice lounge.
Room was large, well designed and decorated -the best 4 stars I've been to in Milano. They mixed classic and modern.
Roof top dining option for the warm season.
In conclusion: it's a raffinated, not pretentious hotel with excellent Customer Care and staff politeness that deserves very high ranking in nits category.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    522
    205
    88
    44
See reviews for
240
293
42
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a couple of nights with my wife and the hotel was fantastic. The room was a business double which was spacious with good furnishings and the bed was large and comfortable. Couldn't fault the breakfast.

The location is ideal and has the metro across the road.

We loved the warm bar snacks we got free with the drinks in the hotel bar. Prices were reasonable too.

When we return to Milan I'll stay at the Cavalieri again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Umperdink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

In September I visited Milan for first time. Friends recommended this hotel, which was very close to Duomo Square and the shopping district. Spacious rooms, clean, good breakfast. I would definitely chose it again for me and my boyfriend!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
245 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We chose this hotel as it is around 200 meters from Duomo and the main shopping area and what a great choice it turned out to be! The hotel is in a very quiet street and our room was small but had everything we needed. An extra large bed took up most of the room. There was a safe, minibar and good sized bathroom. Breakfast was included in the rate and consisted of a well stocked buffet of fruit, cheeses, cold meats etc. The hot option is scrambled egg and bacon. An excellent start to the day. The bar prices are very reasonable for a 4 star hotel. The lighting in the main bedroom is poor but the bathroom is bright enough for makeup application! If returning to Milan we would definitely stay here again as the short walk to the main area was a real bonus. Less than 20 euros from Linate too.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novara, Piemonte, Italy
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

I spent 1 night in this hotel in october 2013. Hotel dei cavalieri is situated in missori square, just opposite to the tram stop and metro station in the same square, just a 5 min walking distante from milan's dome. The square is very traffic during the day and it could be a problem of your room overlooks the square. The hotel is well maintened, with nice furniture and very clean. Staff is very helpfull, professional and kind. breakfast is very abundant with a large buffet for a continental breakfast or an english breakfast, ad you prefer! You can find everything you need ti start in a very good manner your day! My room was very clean, with a beautiful view on the square, not so spacious but for 1 person was perfect! Bathroom was Also very clean with a phon, courtesy set and a big mirror but not very spacious, in particular the distance between toilet and bidet...I found some problems with this little space...and I'm not fat! ;) wi fi was great, fast and free for the first 24 hours of use! As a conclusion, I highly recommend this 4 star hotel for the high quality of the service and for the central position!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Do NOT book this hotel if you wish to sleep!
It is located on a very busy junction, the result being the traffic and tram noise will keep you awake most of the night. The metal shutters at the windows serve only to block out light and not noise. Am well travelled and regularly stay in city hotel and have never experienced this level of disturbance.
The breakfast was basic and of very poor quality. Indeed we only used the hotel breakfast on one occasion and ate breakfast out thereafter.
Small things - shower was broken and had to be hand held. Bathroom door was broken; if you closed the door you'd be locked in. Was supposed to be tea/coffee facilities in the room (as per booking confirmation) but there wasn't. Reception staff were mostly abrupt. Extremely long wait for luggage to be brought to rooms.
Only good thing about this hotel is the location - close to Duomo, La Scala and shops.
I cannot stress enough DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL IF YOU WISH TO SLEEP!!!

Room Tip: Best advice I can give, don't book if you like to sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ann V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tagliasacchi, Direttore at Hotel Dei Cavalieri, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Ann,

I apologize with you that the stay in Hotel our was tremendous as you wrote in this comment.

I regret even more the fact that you did not make any comment of all the negatives you encountered during the stay much less at the time of check out.

Furthermore, the fact that you are using a anonymous nick make me strongly suspect that you have intention to discredit us only for reasons not know to us.

The avarage of the reviews posted does not respect your point of view.

I would have preferred that you had had the courage to contact us directly and refer the above. We would certainly found a solution. Unfortunately, now I just have to apologize with the strong doubt on the truth allegation.

If you will change your idea I will be glad to reconsider my position. In case please feel free to contact me directly.

With kindest regards.

Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Nice hotel substituted 5 minutes walk to the Duomo. The rooms are clean but are small which is the case for most Milan hotels. The staff were friendly and helpful. It is the second time i have stayed at this hotel and will return again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CliffordLobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Navigli
The Square Milano Duomo
The Square Milano Duomo
#24 of 429 in Milan
4.5 of 5 stars 399 reviews
Centro Storico
Brunelleschi Hotel
Brunelleschi Hotel
#93 of 429 in Milan
4.0 of 5 stars 951 reviews
Centro Storico
Starhotels Rosa Grand
Starhotels Rosa Grand
#50 of 429 in Milan
4.0 of 5 stars 1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#10 of 429 in Milan
4.5 of 5 stars 932 reviews
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Uptown Palace
#47 of 429 in Milan
4.0 of 5 stars 1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dei Cavalieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dei Cavalieri

Property: Hotel Dei Cavalieri
Address: Piazza Giuseppe Missori 1, 20123 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Navigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#81 Family Hotel in Milan
#94 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dei Cavalieri 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Dei Cavalieri is the perfect hotel for visiting Milan and for staying in the center of the city. From the prestigious four star Hotel in the heart of Milan, it is only a few steps away from the Duomo Cathedral and the Alla Scala Theater. You can reach also the fashion shopping district, the largest museums and exhibitions in town and all the most important economical and cultural points of Milan in few minutes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, ACCOR, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Dei Cavalieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dei Cavalieri Milan
Dei Cavalieri Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing