We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Plaza Hotel
Ranked #344 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Ede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“perfect place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

We really enjoy to stay in Grand Plaza. Our royal room is very nice and comfortabel, perfect and delicious breakfast (I love cappuccino ;)) now) and very friendly host.
We have one of our best Christmas vacations in Milano, Italy. Many thanks!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gala_Arg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    29
    52
    27
    22
See reviews for
8
38
14
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

The first day, we smelled mold heavily when we opened the window. It was intolerable. The whole floor smells nicotine. So, we changed the room. The different room where we moved doesn't smell much. Even though, the floor smells cigarette. The floor we stayed is supposed to be non smoking. I guess all the guests of this hotel tended not to obey the rules... The bathroom doesn't have a shower curtain or glass door. It has just plastic unstable panels. It didn't function very well. So, I had to splash water everywhere and absolutely did wet the floor. It was terrible... So, you need to order extra towels for this.Breakfast was OK. Fruits, boiled eggs, ham and cheese selections, etc. The location is very close to Milan cathedral and city center. So, there are many boutiques and restaurants & bars. The loud voice of the drunk people walking by the hotel woke me up in the middle of the night. So, it may happen on your stay. This hotel is a 4 star hotel according to their web page. But it is NOT a 4 star at all. I think the location is 4 star. So, if you choose this hotel, be prepared. Good luck!

Room Tip: Order extra towels and pillows. Their pillows are extremely low.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rinring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Milan hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
bologna
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Our room was at the first floor....with the night club right under the hotel opened until 3-4 o'clock at night, we had a very bad sleep....music all night!
And there was no possibility of having a shower because the bathtub had no hook for the tube of the water....very unconfortable

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank krissim63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abtwil, Switzerland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

It s true, the hotel has come of age but then who hasn t? The girls at the reception were very polite and helpful. The elevator is a witness of the rocking fifties optimism of the future. Anything could do with a touch of a paintbrush but - hey! So could the whole of italy!
The rooms have nice solid wood furniture and if you stay in 524 you could even swing two cats in it! The bathroom was clean, the water tabs were already there at its inauguration, but i know quite a few persons that would pay excessive prices to have those installed in their new home.
The breakfast was what you would expect for eur 123 per room: orange sugar water that should resemble orange juice, a dutch hot water and coffe powder mixer to produce something that resembles faintly coffee, so what? There were fresh panini, joghurt, salami, cheese and fruit and for the coffee you could just go around the corner and have an italian café.
Overall, this hotel deserves a much better rating and it s 2 min from the 'duomo'.

Room Tip: As i wrote 524
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zeugma187849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

thumb up for the location of this hotel. It's nearby tourist attraction. Walking distance to Duomo, shopping place, METRO (train), tram stations. And it's about 10 mins by taxi to Milano centralle station.
Friendly female receptionist, but not for the male receptionist.
Room is small and old. They need to change their pillow which is too thin.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank destriana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

This 4 star hotel lives up to its stars. Spacious, friendly staff, very good breakfast buffet, but, above all, quiet and luxurious rooms (so important in a busy place like Milan!). The address couldn't be better,ca. 200 meters from the Duomo which means plenty of shopping within walking distance and loads of restaurants ( I have reviewed our favourite!) We also got a 20% promotion price reduction, which meant my wife did even more shopping than planned!!! Altogether, I thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had room 624 (top floor). Lovely room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelfanBern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
171 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Location of this hotel is excellent, a 3 minute walk to the Duomo. Rooms are generous and clean, with updated modern bathrooms. It is evident that the hotel had seen "grander" days, evident in their dated decor. Use of marble and wood was very nice. I am not sure of other rooms, but my room had an older TV set (pre-flat screen days), and picture was bad. In addition, international news from BBC, CNN, and other news cable networks were not at all available. I asked hotel to assist, and they confirmed that these news channels were not available. How to keep in touch with the world while enjoying travel -- hotel must think about that. In this day and age, even diplomatic and foreign relations are forged on the basis of what appears in international news cable channels to a large extent!

Unfortunately, there was one hotel staff at the front desk who was totally disagreeable. He was rude, and he negated the efforts of his colleagues who were quite friendly and efficient. I was promised a room at check-in time, and I was amenable to waiting, only to be turned completely off by this one rude gentleman. It is too bad that one staff could ruin my generally good impression of this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
TownHouse Duomo
TownHouse Duomo
#227 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Centro Storico
Hotel La Madonnina
Hotel La Madonnina
#192 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Centro Storico
Starhotels Rosa Grand
Starhotels Rosa Grand
#45 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
STRAFhotel&bar
STRAFhotel&bar
#72 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Centro Storico
Hotel Rio
Hotel Rio
#218 of 430 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#10 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Plaza Hotel

Property: Grand Plaza Hotel
Address: Piazza Generale Armando Diaz 3, 20123 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
#164 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Also Known As:
Grand Plaza Milan
Hotel Grand Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing