We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top spot”
Review of Grand Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Plaza Hotel
Ranked #344 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    29
    52
    27
    22
See reviews for
8
38
14
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

The location is fabulous. The breakfast is very bad, if you like eggs, bacon etc it costs very much and is not good. it is absolutely not a 4 star hotel. We got a small room were the shower was broken, we notified the staff about this and they said we had to change room. We went out for the day, came back late, and they still hand`t fixed a new room. We asked again the next day, but it was a new staff, and they had`n heard anything about this. They then finally gave us a new room. This was a lot larger, wich we liked, but still it had the same old feel to it. The staff was not very helpful, the food was terrible, the beds were hard and the bathroom was not pleasant or delicate. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggieOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haugesund, Norway
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Exactly what makes this a 4-star hotel is a great puzzle to me. As you enter in to the hotel lobby you are greeted with fake leather furniture in the most vile colour you can imagine, no great first impression there.

The rooms were no better, the looked tired and and in desperate need of updating. Bathroom had a certain odour that persisted thru my entire stay (not caused by me ;-) I do not expect to hold the shower head in my hand to take a shower in a 4-star hotel, and there were no shampoo provided only shower gel.

Only 1 working socket to charge your phone, and a disgusting old brown blanket on top of the bedsheets.

Breakfast, no warm selections for breakfast, even the boiled eggs were cold. I've hardly come across such a limited selection of things to choose as I have in this hotel.

Staff was not excessively polite or helpful, they seemed troubled when I asked them about information. They were more interested in chatting between themselves. Person at the hotel bar hardly spoke any english, and they served three in my group white wine in three different glasses and three different measures.

Wi-fi not included in the price!

Only thing I can praise about this hotel is its central location, but what makes this a 4-star hotel I cannot understand!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeCrequi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Milan hotels

Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

only 100m from the Duomo in the real center of town. opposite of the entry the guarded parking (25 EUR a day) is situated. The rooms are not spacious but fine and very clean - which is very nice. Beds are not worn out, sheets changed every day. Staff is helpful and speaks english, german

Despite other comments before, I was really impressed by the breakfast buffet. For italian circumstances that is full luxury, fresh buns, fruits, yoghurt, juices, cereals, cheese and ham, jams and nutella - canmt understand that people were complaining about. Especially as there is no additional payment !

will come for sure again - just check the time in advance, while there are fairs, the price explodes from normal 110 EUR to over 360 EUR per night ... but that happens all over Milano

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clemens V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Very nice hotel clean and beautifully decorated, the room we stayed in was a little small but adequate. The only problem we had was noise from the cleaners early in the morning as our room was next to their cleaning cupboard. We thought it a little expensive for what you actually got but on the whole I would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank christina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaarina, Finland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Grand Hotel Plaza is in a good location if you want to see the Duomo, but don't go there if you want to sleep, at least after 3 a.m. This is when people from the nearby nightclubs come out and make it impossible to sleep, at least in the rooms on the street side.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beach51216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Grand Hotel Duomo
Grand Hotel Duomo
#301 of 428 in Milan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Centro Storico
Hotel La Madonnina
Hotel La Madonnina
#190 of 428 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Centro Storico
TownHouse Duomo
TownHouse Duomo
#232 of 428 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Hotel Rio
Hotel Rio
#228 of 428 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Centro Storico
Starhotels Rosa Grand
Starhotels Rosa Grand
#41 of 428 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
Centro Storico
Sina The Gray
Sina The Gray
#213 of 428 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Plaza Hotel

Property: Grand Plaza Hotel
Address: Piazza Generale Armando Diaz 3, 20123 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
#166 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Plaza Milan
Hotel Grand Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing