We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“citytrip”
Review of Ariston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ariston Hotel
Ranked #181 of 431 Hotels in Milan
An EasyToBook.com traveler
Milan
1
Reviewed November 7, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank An EasyToBook.com traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (512)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 512 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012

This hotel was just horrible.
Horrible staff (besides one nice gentleman at the front) we arrived and had our room on the 8th floor. The elevator doors wouldn't open up on the 8th floor so we needed to go down and take a different lift. This only happened the once. There was an air conditioner in the room which we paid for but would only blow out heat. The first of four nights were sleepless. If you open the windows to let cold air in (as it is sweltering at night) you get a thousand mosquito bites and can't fall asleep because of the street noise and the very loud tram turning circle out the front. The staff said that the government controls the thermostat for the hotels and they cannot turn on the cold air. We found this to be true but this event happens two months AFTER we check out. They 100% lied to us. I told them my family member has a medical condition which requires aircon and magically the 'government' let them turn on the cold air. This place is a joke. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussie126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Bit basic, but who's spending time in their room while in Milan? Clean, functional and surprisingly good breakfast. Good location about 10 minutes walk from Duomo but a long way from central station, about a 10-12 euro taxi ride. Everything else we needed to see was within walking distance.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GINNIELincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Good points: Good location, walking distance to all attractions, tram outside door. Very clean, modern amenities, 24/7 reception. Best hotel breakfast we had in Italy (including newspaper in English). Efficient staff (not particularly friendly). Reasonable size room, bath.

Bad points: They claim to be an "eco-hotel" but there was absolutley no evidence of this. No sign of recycling, soap wrapped in plastic, electric window shutters

Other bad points (minor): Fair amount of street noise in room. Tiny lift. A bit far from station if you're carrying luggage. No character.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Absolutely no character to this hotel, just 4 walls
Staff were okay but not really very helpful
Good location to the Duomo is about the best thing i can say about it
Watch out for hidden charges - i.e. although i had a phone call and did not get charged at other hotels, there was still a connection charge applied on our bill, also the city tax was twice as much as in Rome, Florence or Pisa

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Location is excellent, a short 10 mins walk to Duomo. Tiny elevator for 4 pax only without luggage. They also provide bikes for hotel guests which is also excellent. Our room #1 is small, queen bed is comfortable, had a good sleep. Toilet, shower (our room has no bath which is ok for me, i prefer a shower), towels are clean & fresh. Everything works except for the shower head that's a bit loose, I had a swiss army tool so I fixed it myself no problem but the housekeeping should've seen it. Our kids' room was a bit bigger but the AC wasn't working well, we reported it before we left and it's still not fixed when we arrived later in the evening. Front desk informed us that the servicemen arrived and gave it a thumbs up but it's still not working properly. I asked for a room change but the front desk keep telling me that it's fixed so I challenged her to come up and see for herself. A bellboy came up to check and we got our room change. The bellboy "Luck" is very pleasant and helpful, I wish the front desk picks up his good behavior and attitude. This review can be easily be excellent if the front desk staff provided genuine care to our simple AC problem.
Breakfast was good, service staff attentive and very good.

Room Tip: 301 - good size but make sure the AC is replaced. 302 - a bit smaller but AC is brand new 307 - ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This hotel has a great location and nice rooms, however they are very small, I will say petite, as I did like this place. The rooms are cheap, but you are getting more than you pay for. They are nicely decorated and the breakfast is very nice.

It is a great choice for seeing Milan. £60 for a night and minutes walk away from Milan's sights. There is a great little square about 100 metres away which me and my girlfriend found completely by accident, as it is not in the direction of the main Duomo square. If you leave the hotel, instead of turning left for the square, just keep walking straight, you will quickly meet an old square with ancient Roman columns where you can sit and drink cheap and amply fuelled cocktails. Great for a night out.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foggalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Navigli
Hotel Carrobbio
Hotel Carrobbio
#223 of 431 in Milan
441 reviews
Navigli
Zurigo Hotel
Zurigo Hotel
#180 of 431 in Milan
388 reviews
Navigli
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#141 of 431 in Milan
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navigli
Mentana Hotel
Mentana Hotel
#301 of 431 in Milan
214 reviews
Centro Storico
IH Hotels Milano Ambasciatori
Canada Hotel
#28 of 431 in Milan
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariston Hotel

Address: Largo del Carrobbio 2, 20123 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Navigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Price Range: $115 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ariston Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Milan, at 5 minutes from the Duomo and from Navigli, Hotel Ariston is a great welcoming place. Designed with the principles of bioarchitecture in mind, with bicycles, parking and meeting room, it is the ideal place for a leisure or a business trip. You will find here quality services, technology and a professional attitude to meet the needs of even the most demanding clientele. The hotel is located in the centre of Milan near the waterways (Navigli), which are renowned for their nightlife and picturesque views. Hotel Ariston, a 3 star ecological hotel invites you to discover the history, art and traditions of Milan. Modern and welcoming the Ariston 3 star Hotel is located in the historic center of Milan, near all the main attractions of the city. It offers travelers a relaxing and tranquil setting, with minimalist style and elegant decor rooms with free wi-fi connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ariston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariston Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing