We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The second time was not the charm”
Review of Flora Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Flora Hotel
Ranked #149 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Our group of three couples booked the Flora Hotel to begin and end our three weeks in Italy since we were flying into and out of Malpensa. We also chose the hotel for its location near the train station since we would begin and end our trip with train trips. The hotel is within walking distance of the train station, provided you can handle your own luggage. However, even though a map on the website shows the location of the hotel in relation to the train station, it is important to ask someone to point you to the front of the train station. We had arrived via the Malpensa bus shuttle and didn't realize the bus shuttles drop off on the side of the station, so it took quite a while to orient ourselves to the map we had printed off the website.

The rooms are okay in size, as are the bathrooms. Rooms and bathrooms are clean .There is also an elevator, if needed. We were unable to locate any English channels (CNN or BBC) stations on the television and the wifi was very difficult to navigate. They give you a wifi card for each device you have and the scratch off password is in tiny numbers that are about 12-15 characters long, very difficult to read. I never was successful in logging onto wifi on my tablet, as each time I got a message saying that the user name or password was invalid. The night staff person was not very helpful and first said " It must work" and then suggested I use the computer in the lobby. The breakfast was very nice and served in a pleasant room with helpful staff.

When we left the hotel after our first night in September I mentioned to the day staff that we had another reservation and two couples would return in mid-October. When we returned in mid -October, we were told we had no reservation because the reservation had been cancelled due to "a problem" with our credit card. No one could explain what the "problem" was and why the reservation was cancelled. The hotel was able to place one couple in a room at the hotel while the other couple was placed next door at another hotel. The only explanation I could fathom was that that the credit card we used to reserve in June had expired at the end of Sept so so sometime between the end of Sept and our arrival in mid-October, the hotel had unilaterally cancelled our reservation. So much for our conversation at the end of the first stay about our plans to return at the end of the trip.

Related to this "communication" concern is the fact that I had emailed the hotel prior to our first stay in September, asking if they had any suggestions for getting tickets to The Last Supper. There was no response to the email.

Based on this experience I would not recommend this hotel as the service did not equal that in the 9 other hotels we used during our 3+ weeks in Italy.

Room Tip: Room 219 is especially large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmuse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelFloraMilano, Direttore at Flora Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review and your appreciations about our position, about our rooms and about the breakfast.

We would like to inform you that:

1) CNN and BBC are available channels in our TV. We also have one movie channel in original language and we really do not understand why you did not manage to find them: there is also a channel list brochure on the room desk where there is written that CNN and BBC are available channels: should you have any doubt on this matter you might ask our staff to show you how to use the TV.

2) WI -Fi works properly in the whole hotel (infact your friends managed to use it). You did not manage to log in with your ipad probably because 1. you were connected with an other device at the same time (in this case you just had to log out from that device or ask our staff to give you an additional card) or 2. you did not manage to type the password properly: our password is an eleven digits password that allow us to provide high level of security and sometimes it might be complicated to type it properly.

3) Your reservation had been automatically cancelled by our system because the credit card you used was invalid (it was expired). Our staff did not hold it. Even if you did not have a valid reservation our staff managed to accept one of the two rooms assigning you our last vacancy. For the second room we helped you finding an accomodation at the next door hotel and allowing you for this room to have breakfast at our hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (557)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 110 of 557 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

This 6- storey hotel is a hidden jem located just a few steps away form Milan Central Station!! Everything was above and beyond!
My room was immaculate, the bathroom massive with all the toiletries and the bed beyond comfortable. The staff were super friendly and the buffet breakfast offered a wide choice of sweet and salty food to choose from! Another pro is its great value for money . Thumbs up!
I had a race on the Sunday I was staying there and they offered the extension to hold the room until I was done with the race at no extra costs so that I could take a shower and get changed before boarding my return flight!
I would definitely recommend it and would stay there next time I am in Milan

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LellaSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelFloraMilano, Direttore at Flora Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you so much for your review!
We really hope to welcome you again in the future. If there are some extra requests we try to do our best to satisfy them

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

We visited Milan for one day and hotel Flora was a good choice for us. The hotel is 2 min walking from the train station and 1 min from the subway. The city center is 4 stops away and , like almost everywhere in Italy, the subway comes every 5-10 min. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. The only problem is that at night the area can be a little bit shady.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank d_dabija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelFloraMilano, Direttore at Flora Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you so much for your review!
We really hope to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

My daughter and I wanted somewhere clean and convenient right near the Train station and were very pleased with the Hotel Flora. For the price we paid we thought it was excellent value. The man at reception was really helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelFloraMilano, Direttore at Flora Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and for your appreciations.

We really hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for somewhere for a couple of nights whilst in Milan. This hotel is near the main station and also the metro, which you'll need to take to get to the duomo unless you fancy a half hour walk. Breakfast was great, clean room and effective air con. For a 3 star it did exactly what it said on the tin and whilst its a little dated, this added to its charm in our view.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrtejl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelFloraMilano, Direttore at Flora Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and for your appreciations.

We really hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Location is great! Staff was friendly and skilled.

There were no tea/coffee facilities in the room. The early breakfast was not available, that was a pitty, as we departed at 5.30 a.m. and it was uncomfortable to travel without breakfast.
View from the window wasn't very nice - inner yard with a staircase.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PilgrimTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelFloraMilano, Direttore at Flora Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and for your good assesment.

We don't have any coffee maker in the room but our rooms are equipped with minibars and our lounge bar is always open and furthermore we can borrow kettles to our guests.

If departures are early in the morning there is the opportunity to book on our official web site only board rooms without breakfast at lower rates.

Your room was probably internal but there is the opportunity to ask for room facing on the street with a different view.

We really hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We have been staying at Flora Hotel for a few days. The Gentleman at Reception organised a room clean on our arrival even so that we could be accommodated immediately. Very thoughtful. The lady that runs the morning dinning breakfast room , is happy, helpful and a delight. Breakfast was fresh and clean. The hotel locate in prime position. In quiet off shoot from Centrale station but only few meters walk to Metro connection. reception very helpful with any request. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Milan and would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Room 219 situated at end of corridor nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelFloraMilano, Direttore at Flora Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and for your appreciations.

We really hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Bernina
Hotel Bernina
#154 of 431 in Milan
617 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Garda
Hotel Garda
#198 of 431 in Milan
692 reviews
Stazione Centrale
C-Hotels Atlantic
C-Hotels Atlantic
#58 of 431 in Milan
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Esco Hotel Milano
Esco Hotel Milano
#73 of 431 in Milan
249 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Mediolanum Milan
Hotel Mediolanum Milan
#38 of 431 in Milan
807 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#8 of 431 in Milan
6,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flora Hotel

Address: Via Napo Torriani 23, 20124 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Price Range: $85 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Flora Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Flora is a welcoming three stars hotel located in the heart of Milan within a two minutes walk from Milan "Centrale" railway station. Hotel Flora position allows its guests to easily reach all Milan's main attractions and business areas.The 50 well equipped rooms have been recently renovated and are cosy and confortable. The hotel features also wide rooms for business meetings and for relax and a lounge bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Flora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flora Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing