We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice affordable base”
Review of Hotel Sempione

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Sempione
Ranked #243 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice affordable base”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This was the cheapest accommodation in our Euro trip, but we were pleasantly surprised to find what looked like a recently renovated room, with modern foyer and breakfast area. Room and bathroom were small, but perfectly comfortable for a city stay. Breakfast buffet offered a reasonably wide selection for a continental spread. Reception staff were rather dour and unfriendly, but didn't bother us. The area seemed safe, and hotel was just around the corner from a metro stop. We were there at the end of August, so most of the smaller, local restaurants and bars were closed, but all the main hubs were just a couple of minutes away on the metro.

Room Tip: A couple of floors hadn't been renovated yet, so make sure you know what you're getting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    168
    172
    59
    88
See reviews for
116
153
32
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

First of all the location is great: close to Central Train Station, close to subway station (and 3 stations from Duomo), close to a station from the official CitySightseeing Bus and close to an official BikeMi station (rent bikes).
It also has a lot of restaurants nearby (some Italian, some Mediterranean and some Indian) and a supermarket.

The standard room we had was small but it had everything needed to change clothes and sleep. There was a bit of noise coming from other rooms but during the night it was quiet.

The price for a room varies a lot so if you can book it in advance and get a good discount you get quite a value. Otherwise, not so much.

The breakfast was ok - it has an italian style: a lot of croissants with chocolate, cream and all sorts of things, coffee, cappuccino, fruits and yogurt with different flavors. Some might consider it a bit thin (some boiled eggs, mortadella, melted cheese, honey, chocolate etc) but if you combine things right you can get a good breakfast to last.

The service was good. Sure, some of the receptionists better others not so much, but overall ok.

Since our main goal was to visit as much as possible this hotel provided excellent value for us because we saved money on transport and it was close to one or two attractions.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Illuminatus4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Great place to stay. Easy walk from Milano Centrale. Only a couple blocks from the Giardini Publici. I meandered around Milan for days (duomo, Brera, fashion district, Santa Maria Della grazie, etc) and the hotel was always a pleasant walk back at the end of the night.

Just a couple blocks from Porta Venezia, the hotel sits at what appears to be the confluence of modern Milan and historic Milan. The hotel had a very international clientele.

For 2 people, we paid €99/night and after my travel partner left and I stayed alone, it was €80/night. Beds are comfortable. There is an elevator to get you to the upper floors. My rooms were on the 4th floor which meant there was an openable sunroof in the bathrooms.

You can pay an extra €5 for 24 hours of dependable wifi access.

Breakfast is included but be sure to savour your coffee, the first cappuccino is free and the second will cost you €3! Good breakfast though. Includes some cheese, meat and eggs, clearly influenced by the food traditions of the Alps.

Nearby Ristorante Republicca is worth a visit as well, open for lunch an for supper.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at the Hotel Sempione before travelling on to the Lakes. The only thing I can think of to say that is positive about the hotel is that it is clean. The room we had was tiny, the bed was uncomfortable and the pillows were so hard that I had a headache on waking each morning. The air conditioning didn't work very well and the room was extremely noisy. I see that other people have mentioned the unfriendliness of the staff, they are not exagerating. The impression given was that it was just too much trouble to even speak to the customers. I would certainly never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank poochybloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Milan hotels

Hyvinkää
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The hotel was located in a very convenient place, it was easy to get to the closest metro station, and it's also a walking distance away from the central train station.

Breakfast was ok, not the widest range of choices, but it'll fill you up.

Rooms were clean and tidy, some good amenities available also (shampoo, soaps, shower caps etc..) and loads of towels in the bathroom, which is nice.

The only minus was the service. Not once did anyone smile at us, say thank you or please, and in general the staff at the reception were quite impolite. Especially upon check-out, the gentleman at the front desk said only one or two words to us, and after payment was complete, threw my credit card on the desk without saying anything (However, this is the service we experienced in several places in Milan, so perhaps it's the style there?)

Other than the service, the place was good value for the money we paid.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilvi85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
2 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2012

nice staff. The hotel is old and "used". Breakfast fine. But for the price it was what we could expect.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Janfaldt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Mokinba Hotel Baviera
Mokinba Hotel Baviera
#221 of 428 in Milan
382 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Casa Mia Hotel
Casa Mia Hotel
#328 of 428 in Milan
189 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Bernina
Hotel Bernina
#162 of 428 in Milan
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Ibis Milano Centro
Ibis Milano Centro
#156 of 428 in Milan
6,091 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Sanpi Milano
Hotel Sanpi Milano
#41 of 428 in Milan
1,087 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Salerno Hotel
Salerno Hotel
#222 of 428 in Milan
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sempione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sempione

Property: Hotel Sempione
Address: Via Camillo Finocchiaro Aprile 11, 20124 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #243 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sempione 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Sempione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sempione Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing