We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Place in Milan” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Small

The Small
Ranked #1,243 of 8,030 Restaurants in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $34 - $61
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: the small; bistrot, tè, infusi, vettovaglie e suppellettili.the small è creatività, cura, stile e qualità. una grande ricerca per un lifestyle internazionale e contemporaneo - via paganini 3(MI)
Level Contributor
73 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best Place in Milan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Incredible Atmosphere, amazing service, this tiny cute place is the best place where to have dinner in Milan

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Umbe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    157
    55
    32
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“If you are in Milan you have to visit this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic little bistrot with excellent simple Italian food and a lively and fun atmosphere

The owner welcomes everyone with a friendly attitude and everyone feels at home

Food is excellent and the cakes are great

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fra1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Happy customer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

When I arrived in the evening, the restaurant was fully booked. On passing by the next day the owner invited me in, offering coffee and a tour, to apologize for not being able to accommodate me the evening before.
Small gesture with a big heart.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fototrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“You have to go.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Overall excellent authentic Italian restaurant and we def will be going back. The owner is nuts! Such a nice guy and the food was outstanding. The crockery was odds and sods and the wine was first class.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scottishmike1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
“Amazing hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

It has now been three times (Respectively with my parents, four friends and just me and one friend) that I have visited Alessandro at The Small and I am yet to be disappointed in any way. Frank, caring and entertaining service with big delicate portions of food. Everyone I have brought here agree upon that this makes it the perfect place to go if you're looking for the "typical" (in reality not so easy to find) italian hospitality we're all so eager to find and tell our friends about.

The only negative part would be that I'm now finding it hard to try new restaurants since I am still enjoying this one so much.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HenriThunberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Small also viewed

 
Milan, Lombardy
 

Been to The Small? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing