We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
WORLDHOTEL Cristoforo Colombo
Ranked #56 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed for 6 days which was above average for typical stay at this place. Usually people go there for shopping or work for 2-3 days. Rooms are rather small... even Superior which is type of room we had. Superior on the highest 5th floor is very noisy at night so i presume that every room to the street is noisy because of traffic from wide street below - somehow this street is also the main route for many ambulances (Italy have probably the noisiest ambulance cars ever), typicaly 2-3 every evening. Rooms have very thin walls - you can literaly hear every word from the room next to you. This is a big disadvantage however one of the few.

Service is very good, perfect restaurant downstairs. Prices are not very high especially if you compare it with normal restaurant in the area. Pasta is around 10 Euro, main meal is around 15-20 Euro, bottle of wine is around 20 too, which is normal price around there so I recommend to at least try hotel restaurant.

Spa is small but very relaxing, guests get 2 hours free every day. Try it earlier in the day, you will be there alone, relaxed and you can go shopping later. Definitely strategy you want.

Superior room have free mineral water, free room service and 10% discount from restaurant. However room have almost none improvements beside this so it is probably not worth the extra money. (if you do not want your breakfast and dinner to your bed in room every day:)

At the end of our stay I was charged for all mineral water from minibar, no discount from restaurant and all service too. After compain from our side they of course made all these discounts and made a new bill but it was very unprofessional since I personally asked about all the services the same person who did the checkout bill. Be careful about this.

Still it was very decent stay worth the money.

Room Tip: Very noisy rooms to the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xSmoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

274 - 280 of 1,136 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2013

The staff were most helpful and breakfast was more than adequate, we stayed with daughter in 3 bedded room, the deco is a bit old & tired looking certainly is ready for a make over new bed covers & brightening up, the bathroom is acceptable and reasonable.
Location is great a 10 min walk from Duomo,.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yuervtttt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

It's quite near a metro station, and the cathedral is in walk-distance (say 15-20min probably).
The variety of breakfast is good enough for me. They serve coffee/tea in a pot. Cappuccino is also available. I'd like to stay here again!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yuquito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I have stayed several times at this hotel and it is a good central location with a wonderful breakfast, but I have experienced a few problems which seem to be ongoing. The water temperature is never hot enough to need the cold tap - just warm enough for a bath - and the heating/aircon cannot be controlled via the wall or radiators. On this occasion the room was boiling hot so I had to open the window, which let in all the noise from the street, even though I was lucky to be located away from the main street. There was a noisy party going on in the lounge of the hotel until well past 1.30, so I did not get much sleep on my last night. I also found the bed to be very hard - just a personal preference.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel for less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolina46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

The tiniest room ever in my life! I was traveling just with my hand luggage, and believe me, it was quite difficult to accommodate it inside the room. Be prepared to move yourself cautiously into the room, and also into the bathroom - shaving myself was not an easy task there. Safer is pretty small too, this is why my iPad had to stay out of it. Indeed, the room itself was the only problem with this excellently located hotel in Milan, close to several top attractions (at walking distance from Duomo). There is a metro station in front of it, and Corso Buenos Aires, while not upscale, can be considered a paradise for shopping. Staff, considering Italian standards, was friendly, and breakfast was okay. I did not try the spa (complimentary for guests up to 2 hours a day), but people told me it is very good. For sure, Cristoforo Colombo is a good choice in Milan.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alvares-da-Silva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed there for a shopping weekend and loved it. Everything is close and the rooms are very comfortable. The rates are absolutely ok considering the quality. We would definitely come back. Staff is very friendly and did do their best to make feel us comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaStz69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel whilst visiting the opera at La Scala and it was very good indeed. The staff were friendly and helpful - no sign of anyone who was not extremely keen to look after hotel guests - we had no complaints whatever. Clean rooms, comfortable beds, good breakfasts, nice bathrooms and a very good location, close to the Metro. Very good value indeed and we would strongly recommend.

Thank you to all the staff there who helped us - especially those on reception.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter as are those at the rear of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PamBurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Grand Visconti Palace
#37 of 428 in Milan
1,906 reviews
Milan Suite Hotel
#24 of 428 in Milan
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
nhow Milano
#28 of 428 in Milan
2,013 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#72 of 428 in Milan
2,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WORLDHOTEL Cristoforo Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WORLDHOTEL Cristoforo Colombo

Address: Corso Buenos Aires 3, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Milan
#50 Family Hotel in Milan
#50 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#67 Business Hotel in Milan
#70 Romantic Hotel in Milan
Price Range: $106 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — WORLDHOTEL Cristoforo Colombo 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Worldhotel Cristoforo Colombo is located in the heart of Milan, in Corso Buenos Aires, one of the city's most important shopping streets. The MM1 'Porta Venezia' metro stop is just 20 metres from the hotel, linking it to many of the most important places in the city, including Piazza Duomo, Leonardo da Vinci's Last Supper, the fashion district and the new trade fair centre. The 138 guest rooms of the Hotel Cristoforo Colombo offer a perfect place to relax during your stay in Milan. Whether travelling for business or pleasure, our guest rooms,recently renovated and graced with elegant parquet floors,for your comfort. Provided with services like air conditioning, a safe, a free minibar, free Wi-Fi, a kettle for coffee and tea, a SMART TV to connect your mobile phone and view movies or your photos, SKY Movies and SKY Sport, dressing gown and slippers,our guest rooms offer a special oasis of tranquillity in the heart of this vibrant city. The use of the SPA is free of charge ( Guests booking standard room need only purchase the health and safety Kit which can be kept and reused for € 9.00 ). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your WORLDHOTEL Cristoforo Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cristoforo Colombo
Best Western Milan
Milan Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing