We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, but a bit basic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Ascot
Ranked #262 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Can't fault the location - as others have already said, it's only a (slow) 10-minute walk from the Piazza del Duomo, and trams 16 and 24 stop on the Corso di Porta Romana at the end of the street where the hotel is located, so you can get almost anywhere in the city that is served by public transport very quickly. So it's pretty much perfect if your main reason for visiting is sightseeing.

We found the staff to be extremely polite and helpful.

The hotel itself is clean and tidy, and so was our room. Decor is a bit dated, and whist not tatty, could do with a bit of a makeover.

The breakfast offered was simple with a reasonable choice of fare.

All in all, maybe not a 4-star establishment, but a very good 3-star hotel.

Room Tip: Some 3rd floor rooms have balconies. (We stayed in 324, so I guess it's even-numbered rooms.) OK...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheHonorOakBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

62 - 68 of 396 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2014

I find Best Western hotels very variable, which isn’t surprising because they are franchise operations and so have no corporate style or identity or consistency of facilities and Hotel Ascot has the appearance of a rather basic, three star hotel; certainly not the four stars as claimed.

Things got off to a bad start when I arrived because I was shown to an extremely small, claustrophobic room with a single bed. I went back to reception and pointed out from my booking.com receipt that I had booked a double room. The room was quickly changed - but with no comment or word of apology. The replacement double room had a comfortable king size bed, even though the room was still on the small size. Mini bar and room safe were included, together with flat screen TV. The open (no door) wardrobe was barely adequate for hanging more than a few clothes and the shower (no bath) was about the smallest I've ever come across. Traffic noise was surprisingly intrusive given the double set of windows and blind – if staying here it’s obviously best to request a room facing away from the front road. I must add that my room bore little resemblance to the hotel website pictures!

The breakfast area was an open space at the end of the large lounge. Breakfast menu was not extensive with a limited range of hot and cold food. The large, very comfortable lounge included a bar although bar service was hard to find. A big plus of the hotel is free and fast Wi-Fi. The location is not particularly attractive in a dull side road but is conveniently within walking distance to the centre and with tram and metro connections close by.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vanmunchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

I wasn't really sure what to expect but it was one pleasant surprise after the next. First off it's very convenient. It's about a 6min walk from the underground, maybe 2 min from the 24 Tram stop and 10 min walk from downtown. There's shopping and some good restaurants. The staff is exceptional! So friendly, helpful & kind. They were great with my kids. The room was huge and nice, nice courtyard view. Very nice breakfast. It's a lot greats and will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank CFroehlich70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Ok if this hotel was not in a high demand city of Milan, I would not even consider it. But my company booked me in here because it was cheap--only 100 Euros per night. Imagine that price for Milan. The hotel is in a quiet residential side street near to the Duomo (about a 20 minute walk away). The service is ideal. The older Italian who is the front desk clerk is one of the nicest and most accommodating of receptionists and guides. Bless him. The breakfast is ok. The room is a standard room again in need of some updating. But overall, it was all worth the 100 Euros for Milan. Would I stay here again for work? If I was booked by my firm, yes. Would I complain? No. Would I stay here personally? I would consider it given the price and how much more money I would have to spend on Milan shopping hehe.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcoPro2050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

The hotel is at aprox 15 minutes by walking from Duomo. It's a quiet street. Missory station(subway yellow line) is at 5 minutes walking. You can use it to go the the train station(5-6 stations).
The receptionists were very helpful(they reccomended us a Japanese restaurant nearby and helped us with the breakfast in the last day).
Rooms were clean. On a 1-10 scale(10 biggest mark) the breakfast was about 8.5. There are some small shops nearby but i couldn't find any supermarket(in case you need it)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snakebyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located 15 min walking distance from Duomo in quite street. We had triple toom which was quite spacios, while bathroom was very small. Free WiFi was good benefit, breakfast was also good enough. Generally speaking it is good hotel with quite convenient location.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank MayaGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Free wifi. Near shopping places. Great location. Just like most hotels in Europe - no slippers, no toothbrush and toothpaste. Limited sockets to charge gadgets. Small shower room. Had to ask housekeeping to clean the toilette some more before we could use it since it was stinky. Otherwise, hotel room was fair. Kind frontdesk staff.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank Dokie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Lloyd Hotel
#347 of 431 in Milan
307 reviews
Navigli
Ariston Hotel
Ariston Hotel
#181 of 431 in Milan
512 reviews
Navigli
Hotel Carrobbio
Hotel Carrobbio
#220 of 431 in Milan
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canada Hotel
#28 of 431 in Milan
1,254 reviews
Centro Storico
IH Hotels Milano Ambasciatori
Hotel Romana Residence
#179 of 431 in Milan
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Ascot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Ascot

Address: Via Lentasio 3, 20122 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#157 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range: $116 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Ascot 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-story Hotel, located in historic city center, close to Duomo, La Scala Theatre, business & shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Ascot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ascot
Best Western Milan
Milan Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing