We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location across the piazza from Stazione centrale”
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Michelangelo Hotel
Ranked #76 of 426 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

I chose this hotel for it's location across from the main train station because I knew that the airport bus stopped at the station. We were tired after a long flight from Vancouver so it met our needs. The staff were friendly and breakfast was included. Yes, the pillows were HARD but the bed was comfortable. The spa tub was relaxing, the power curtains interesting, and the mini bar with pop and snacks were included. We were well rested the next day. PS we discovered softer pillows in the closet the next day.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,686)
There are newer reviews for Michelangelo Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

456 - 462 of 1,686 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for one night and was good and accommodating with requests, staff were very friendly and helpful. We used the Milan Hop on Hop Off Bus for sightseeing which was very close to hotel and this hotel is also very close for shopping. You can use the train station across the road or use the buses that go directly to Malpensa Airport. Also, a great spa bath.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoMorgan69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

15/17 March 2013

This was a last minute decision for a short trip to Milan, mostly business but also with some time for shopping/sightseeing.

Flights were booked with British Airways to and from Milan, Linate airport, and BA also came up with the Michelangelo Hotel. Normally booking a hotel through an airline is expensive, but the BA combined flight/hotel price looked ok and I needed to book something very quickly.

Location: The hotel is a one minute walk across a square from Central Station, which has a great bus service to/from Linate Airport, just €5. Central Station also has a Metro station and the Milan Metro is cheap and easy. An Urban ticket is €13.80 for 10 journeys. The main shopping central area of Duomo is just a few Metro stops, it's a bit too far to walk.

The Michelangelo Hotel is not a quaint old fashioned place. It is smart, modern, very efficient, with everything as I would expect, no surprises. Check-in was straight forward, I just needed the paperwork from British Airways.

Room: 5th Floor, maybe just a bit on the small side, but I'm just being picky. Not opulent or over fancy, but immediately comfortable and practical. Nice bathroom with good toiletries, Free mini-bar with nice soft drinks and nibbles, no alcohol. Disposable slippers. Dressing gowns. AND - free WiFi in the room that actually works well! Downside – no tea/coffee or kettle in the room. Curtains are electrically operated and when closed the room is completely and totally dark, I loved this ! No street noise with windows closed, there is good A/C. Someone somewhere has really thought about these hotel rooms and done a great job.

Bar/ Restaurant: Didn't use them except for one quick drink, but the food I saw people eating looked good.

Breakfast: Included in our room rate. I can't think of much that anyone would reasonably want that wasn't available. All self service except for tea/coffee. Fantastic !

Cost/Value: All hotels in Milan are expensive. Michelangelo Hotel is certainly not cheap, but much less than many others of a comparable standard, particularly when you take into consideration things like WiFi that are free which other hotels charge for.

Conclusion. Excellent ! I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rog_Enfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

These have to be the worst beds I have ever used. They are as hard as a rock. We even tried a second room but they are clearly the standard mattress. Essentially, they are six inches of vary hard foam covered with bargain sheets. The pillows are equally bad. And the room was misrepresented in the online pictures. There may be a room that looks like the web page but we didn't see it. If it wasn't close to the Central train station, it would have no redeeming quality. I would never stay here again.

They do have have power curtains though. It seems they might have invested some of that money in better beds.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Staff were friendly & helpful on arrival. Very clean spacious hotel. Room was spotless.
Very well located. Walking distance from Central Station, where you can get a tube to all top attractions & sights of Milan.
A memorable visit, and would definately return there.
Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WIDDLES2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is nearer than we thought when we reached Milan in the evening of 27 Feb. There are people loitering around the road, station (but there're quite a number of police around on duty) so just ignore and head towards hotel.

Checking in and out was a breeze... outlook and lobby of hotel looks kinda grand.

-ve: no electric kettle for boiling of water (can ask for it but at 8? (well you're paying this for the service rendered, not for the water - well you go figure out and do your math!), no WIFI in room.

+ve: minibar is absolutely FREE!! this means replenishment of items once consumed (of course no alcoholic drinks provided). very convenient because since station is very near, you can always beat the crowd to malpensa airport for custom clearing of tax refund by taking the earliest train (think we took the 6.25am from Trenitalia at 10? per person). so no worrying of transferring of train in the wee hours of the morning....

Thank Daryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

This was the last night of a group tour we were only booked in for one night, but enquired at the front desk if we could stay a second night, no problem, we didn't know the room rate, having booked and paid for the entire tour, without asking they offered us the same rate, which given the standard of the hotel was certainly well discounted, particularly given it was between Christmas and New Year.
In the end we didn't stay the extra night our train ticket to Innsbruck just proved too hard to change, apparently because it was an international journey.. Nevertheless we enjoyed our short stay and could not find fault with the breakfast.
As other have said the location is great, particularly if you are leaving Milan by train.
We like Milan and would certainly consider the Michelangelo for a longer stay when next we return

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Starhotels Anderson
Starhotels Anderson
#71 of 426 in Milan
1,422 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Starhotels E.c.ho.
Starhotels E.c.ho.
#35 of 426 in Milan
1,332 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#12 of 426 in Milan
6,613 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#81 of 426 in Milan
2,656 reviews
Stazione Centrale
UNA Hotel Century
UNA Hotel Century
#51 of 426 in Milan
1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michelangelo Hotel

Address: Piazza Luigi di Savoia, 6, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Milan
#41 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#51 Business Hotel in Milan
#62 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range: $129 - $496 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Michelangelo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Michelangelo is an impressive building around the corner from Milano Central Train Station. It has well-designed, modern rooms with free minibar, free Wi-Fi, and free wired internet. Most rooms have a spa tub. Rooms are soundproof, and equipped with air conditioning and a TV with satellite channels. The private bathroom is complete with soft bathrobes and slippers, and a hairdryer. The generous buffet breakfast includes a variety of pastries and fresh fruit, and a selection of cold and hot dishes and organic products. Michelangelo Hotel's staff can provide expert advice on the city, as well as tourist and travel information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michelangelo Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing