We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location with 1980s decoration”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Michelangelo Hotel
Ranked #81 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Location with 1980s decoration”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Were travelling via train so chose this hotel. It is located just across the Milan Central Station. Buses to airports of Milan are located in front of the train station. There is a metro with different lines in Milan Central Station also. You can reach all means of transportation easily if you stay at this hotel. We checked in early wih no problems. Were offered free mini bar, but it contained very limited choice, two cans of soda and two small choclates. Still a nice touch. The decoration of the hotel was great once but needs serious renovation. You can see that it was a pretty amazing hotel in 1980s maybe but looks old now. Breakfast was nice especially the lemon cake. Would recommend for a short stay mainly because of the location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SenaIst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    794
    191
    45
    30
See reviews for
277
485
121
462
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
205 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

We were looking for somewhere close to the Milan Centrale station, and the Michelangelo was just that. In fact it was even closer than the helpful tourist office at the station had indicated on the map they gave us: just the other side of the taxi rank.

This made it very convenient for travel from this particular station, but not much else. The Duomo and town centre were a fair way off, though easily reachable from the metro. Just a shame that the metro itself was very user unfriendly, with tickets having to be purchased from privately owned shops (no ticket machines) and valid for only one journey. A tram to the city was also just one block away

Also the neighborhood was, as it often is around train stations, very much on the seedy side, A short walk down their side street, walking away from the station, found you in an area I'd hesitate to enter at night. But there were several good cafes and restaurants closer to the hotel and station area.

The hotel itself was pleasant, but a bit dated. Rooms were roomy and clean, and all the mod cons were there. They advertise a free mini-bar, but as with other places we stayed, there wasn't much there to get you excited. Just a few small cans of soft drink. Our 12th floor room had great views over Milan, but not of the central area.

Breakfast was good, with the freshest orange juice we'll ever have. You put the oranges in, and the juice comes out. All the usual items you'd expect for a European style breakfast were present.

The Michelangelo represents good value for money, and for a one night stopover on the way to the lakes, is ideal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westendgaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Great location: faces the Milano Centrale FS, and offers very good accommodations and excellent breakfast. A little old fashioned, it has marble bath with Jacuzzi and is very comfortable. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maritel Garcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stone throwing distance from the Milan Central station, this was the best hotel I stayed in Italy (across 4 cities)... The staff is very polite and courteous.... the rooms are spacious and comfortable...they are also sound proof...they provide free internet for staff... the bathroom has a jacuzzi .... the breakfast is wonderful... wide variety of things to choose from... fresh orange juice... excellent stay.... perfect couldnt ask for more....

Room Tip: try to get a room at the higher floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raman78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
136 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Ideal location only steps from the subway. Breakfast with outstanding variety included. Price was very fair for the quality of the accommodations. Only complaint was slightly sour, unhelpful woman at reception desk. Had NO suggestions for who to contact for me to see the painting of the last supper. REALLY? But concierge was extremely helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siampayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

I have spent 6 days in this hotel while I am in Milan for a meeting. I have found the hotel as a part of package deal on Expedia. Rooms are clean, breakfast is good and comfortable for sleep. It is located close transport hub. Overall it is a likeable hotel. However, if you are in the city for vacation and do like to walk, it would be better to stay in a hotel/vacation rental closer to duomo.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erkanyay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

If you've seen the film "Hot Tub Time Machine" you'll remember how dated and horrible the hotel was - I'm sure that the Michelangelo Hotel was the height of fashion in 1982.

Dingy, dated, rude staff (apart from the lovely waiter who looked after me on my first night - I'm sorry I didn't get your name). No WiFi in the rooms, had to hunt around for the ethernet cable which was to short to reach the desk. Had bath salts in my bathroom but no bath. The room was dark even the the curtains open, the TV was archaic and the bed was hard and uncomfortable with sheets and blankets.

The food was awful - waaaay too much salt in everything (and I love my salt), the draught beer was flat and the white wine room temperature. Breakfast was average and served in a youth hostel-type basement.

I would rather stick pins in my eyes than stay here again.

Room Tip: Book a room in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mca555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Starhotels Anderson
Starhotels Anderson
#60 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
Stazione Centrale
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Hotel
Stazione Centrale
Starhotels E.c.ho.
Starhotels E.c.ho.
#37 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Glam Hotel Milano
Glam Hotel Milano
#69 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#15 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,211 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#82 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michelangelo Hotel

Property: Michelangelo Hotel
Address: Piazza Luigi di Savoia, 6, 20124 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Milan
#41 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#51 Business Hotel in Milan
#67 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Michelangelo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Michelangelo is an impressive building around the corner from Milano Central Train Station. It has well-designed, modern rooms with free minibar, free Wi-Fi, and free wired internet. Most rooms have a spa tub. Rooms are soundproof, and equipped with air conditioning and a TV with satellite channels. The private bathroom is complete with soft bathrobes and slippers, and a hairdryer. The generous buffet breakfast includes a variety of pastries and fresh fruit, and a selection of cold and hot dishes and organic products. Michelangelo Hotel's staff can provide expert advice on the city, as well as tourist and travel information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michelangelo Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing