We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, conveniently situated to high street shops”
Review of Starhotels Ritz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Starhotels Ritz
Ranked #103 of 426 Hotels in Milan
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Very nice and friendly hotel. Checking in at Reception was speedy and hassle free. Rooms were very clean and tidy with excellent bathroom facilities. The location of the hotel was good as it was very close to the high street shops, Zara, H & M, Mango, etc, etc were all within a few minutes walk. Breakfast was okay, nothing special. Also had dinner one evening at the was also okay.

Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LDNGIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,070)
There are newer reviews for Starhotels Ritz
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 1,070 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2013

I was here for 2 days / 1 night on business. The welcome at reception was poor, I was made to wait while another customer was checked-in even though other staff were available. When one member of staff prompted another to check me in the attitude was poor, it was as though this was an inconvenience.

The hotel rooms are nice, spacious, and clean. Despite being spacious there was no desk space, the TV was on the only desk space at the foot of the bed.

I ordered room service, a simple lasagne and wine. I was told this would take 20mins. 45mins later I called to ask where my dinner was and was assured that it would be with me in 1 minute. When the staff member picked up my call they knew immediately that I was waiting for a lasagne, I got the distinct impression this had been forgotten. Dinner arrived almost 1hr after it was ordered, the lasagne was only just warm and tough as though it had been sitting for some time. There was no knife only a fork. I was too hungry to wait for a knife.

Perhaps foolishly I ordered breakfast in the room. This arrived early, this could be seen as a bonus except I was in the shower at the time and there are no robes in the room. For breakfast I ordered fruit yoghurt, cornflakes, and a cappuccino. The yoghurt was good, the cornflakes came with no milk, the cappuccino was cold. I called for milk but there was no answer from room service.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel due to the poor service. If you do find yourself here I would strongly recommend you avoid room service.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keithmc007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Ayse Nil K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bologna A, Direttore at Starhotels Ritz, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I found hotel close to the center with special preference to do not looking for parking. I booked hotel at the beginning of August 2012 with special marks to pay additional money for parking. Unfortunately I had to find separate parking on Corso Buenos Aires street. Reception staff nothing special focused for quick service and do not especially support regards visiting.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarekPOZnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in Jan 13 for the second time. Overall, it was OK and the hotel deserves the money we paid for it. Location was great, just 5 min walking to either of the two subway stations nnearby - Lima or P.ta Venezia. Train station Milano Centrale is also within walking distance. Staff was helpful. Room was tiny and somewhat dated, but clean. Can't say the hotel was noisy, we had a good sleep on the 7th floor. The hotel offers special mattresses and pillows, which are designed to give you more comfort. Unfortunately, on the contrary we found them very hard to get used to. Breakfast was very average - coffee not so good, no fresh juice, average omelette and sausages.

Room Tip: Try higher floor. The room we had stayed at for the first (701) time was better than the one we just...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anton N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna A, Direttore at Starhotels Ritz, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to say a few words about your recent stay at Starhotels Ritz.
We are happy to know that your stay with us was perfect and that the staff has been helpful with you.
We are sorry to know you didn’t appreciate our breakfast, that is normally one of our strongest point.
Hope to meet you soon at Starhotels Ritz.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Welcoming, tips on do and don'ts of the city, arranged tour for us, offered us an upgrade, had all the facilities we needed, parking wifi etc. Cleaning staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast really good. Rooms quiet and ours was only the budget one. Bed great and good to sleep in, clean bed with crisp sheets and bathroom really new and clean. We would stay here again. Close to shops and sightseeing. Just needs walls to be cleaned from suitcases brushing up against it.
Don't know if there was a pool and spa but rated it so results don't appear wrong.

Room Tip: We used last minute dot com for this room and it was a secret hotel.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chiefPalmerstonNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna A, Direttore at Starhotels Ritz, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you to say a few words about your recent stay at Starhotels Ritz.
We are glad to know you enjoied your stay in our hotel and we hope to have the pleasure to can welcome you again at Starhotels Ritz.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Don’t be put off by any of the negative reviews. I may not spend my wedding night here, but for a base to visit Milan it is great. As per other reviews the location is exceptional. We found a few local restaurants that we excellent and good value for money. The rooms are not huge but more than sufficient. Facilities were good. Staff ok. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Melbourne-Aust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
WORLDHOTEL Cristoforo Colombo
Citta Studi
Hotel Teco
Hotel Teco
#23 of 426 in Milan
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
Stazione Centrale
Starhotels E.c.ho.
Starhotels E.c.ho.
#35 of 426 in Milan
1,329 reviews
Citta Studi
Best Western Hotel City
Best Western Hotel City
#89 of 426 in Milan
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels Ritz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Ritz

Address: Via Lazzaro Spallanzani 40, 20129 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Citta Studi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#87 Family Hotel in Milan
#93 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range: $121 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels Ritz 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the beautiful Starhotels Ritz in Milan. Our recently refurbished 4 star hotel is in central Milan, just behind Corso Buenos Aires - famous for shopping. We're on a quiet street in a lively area full of restaurants, theatres and bars - the perfect balance for your trip to the city, whether you're here for business or pleasure.Our smart hotel in Milan offers 197 rooms and suites and 7 flexible conference rooms seating from 40 to 170 guests. La Lambruscheria restaurant and bar serves local and international dishes, prepared with consummate skill. The superb Wellness area features a fitness room, sauna, Finnish shower and Turkish bath Partnership with Eataly means new value and uniqueness for Starhotels' offering. The Restaurant and Bar at the Ritz are a smart, stylish choice for dining in Milan, with traditional Italian food and international dishes all complemented by a good wine list and a warm, welcoming atmosphere. The Restaurant can host events on a suitably grand scale, with banquets and drinks receptions for up to 150 people. The Bruschetteria restaurant offers a large dehors which is very enjoyable on warm sunny days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Starhotels Ritz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Ritz Milan
Starhotels Ritz Hotel Milan
Ritz Milan
Ritz-Carlton Milan
Milan Ritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing