We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Berna
Nearby Hotels
Chateau Monfort(Milan)
$228
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$167
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$259
$208
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$139
$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Yard Hotel(Milan)
$274
$204
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
nhow Milano(Milan)
$147
$135
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$276
$260
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$359
$294
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$309
$279
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$674
$223
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (7,011)
Filter reviews
7,011 results
Traveler rating
4,751
1,845
298
79
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,751
1,845
298
79
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscentral stationrubber duckcarrot juicethe main hotelmini barfree soft drinksbreakfast buffetexcellent hotelfree wifiroom temperaturemilano centralesuperior roomtea and coffeeminute walkmalpensa airportsingle roomvisit milan
Filter
Updating list...
2,058 - 2,063 of 7,011 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2014

This is a wonderful hotel with an even better staff. It is a quick walk from the train station, which is also a hub for the Metro, trams, and buses. The hotel is well maintained and run. Our room was spacious, nicely furnished, quiet, and comfortable. The bath had tub-shower and good counter space. Breakfast was in the bar area with good hot and cold choices, good service and seating. Staff couldn't be more helpful and accommodating. They had an excellent suggestion for dinner.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Short walk from Milan Centrale station. Tick. Online check-in done and quickly finished at the desk. Tick. Desk staff very helpful with local information, including directions to the memorable Osteria Fara. Tick. Just like the last time. Consistency. Bigger tick.
Room location and decor, pillow menu filled, comfy bed, free wifi, free coffee and snacks. Ticks times five! But, and this is the first Thing Dr C:

- The mini bar. The great, ancient German and Americans gods Siegas and Hilton put mini-bars on this planet for one reason and one reason alone; to chill mini bottles filled with maxi booze. Period. It was never these dieties’ intention to have vitamin waters and sport drinks besmirch their gift to all humanity. Please banish these abominable beverages and don’t, don’t even replace them with those cute vials of vodka. What am I saying! Instead, give us the second Thing:

- An ironing beard with a proper steam iron. We live out of suitcases; most of time we look as if we sleep in our clothes. Four euros to get pants ironed by the laundry service is crazy. If the laundry service was available on a Sunday, that is.

Dr Fontana, assemble the Berna Board, iron out this pressing matter so guests don’t get steamed about this wrinkle in your otherwise superb hotel service.

If there is one thing you remember about the Berna, it’s the breakfasts. Just a bit overwhelming but very, very good. And that, Doctor, brings me to the third Thing:

- There is a hotel in Madrid, the Gran Hotel Conde Duque that is very similar in just about every major respect to Berna. Except, the Duque had a harp player who entertained every afternoon around cocktail time in the lounge bar. If there is one thing you remember about the Conde Duque, it is the harp player and the guests who just kept coming back to that hotel time and again, just for the harp. I recall the guest next to us – there on her eighth visit, mostly because of the harpist.
So, why not a solo violin? Why not Mendelssohn’s Violin Concerto at breakfast or Bach’s Partita No.2 in the afternoon? Milan is teeming with ferociously talented music students who would perform just for the love of fine music. Or, given the staff’s obvious esprit de corps, perhaps there is someone with an aria in them, a bel canto bubbling within who could entertain. After all, this is Milan.

I could get hot under my crinkly collar about the weak shower pressure and, indeed, there is no excuse for that, given the standard the Hotel management sets for itself but overall, the stay was very good.
The acid test. Would we stay again? Sure, even with the despondency-inducing minibar to stare at.
How do I explain an ironing board at Customs, Dr Fontana?

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RyszardKapusta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customerrelationship, General Manager at Hotel Berna, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

Dear Ryszardski,

Thanks a lot for your great and detailed feedback.

We welcome all our guests comments, positive or negative, as we feel we can learn and hopfully improve upon the quality of our services.

As for the iron and ironing board in the room, it is quite rare to find them in Italy in order to comply to the very strict and severe current safety and fire regulations, which vary in each hotel taking into consideration several factors as: number of floors, number of rooms per floor, type of furniture, type of upholstery and the overall fire resistance grade.

However we are more than glad to deliver them on request (usage of 30 minutes is free of charge, otherwise a small supplement may apply), while providing to our guests the usage and safety instructions.

Our minibar offers 8 drinks (analcoholic) and is free of charge, it is also used by our customers to keep refrigerated their personal belongings.

Your precious feedback will be certainly taken into our next general monthly meeting.

We are so glad to know that you would return and stay with us: you satisfaction means really a lot to us.

Best regards,

Carlo Fontana, GM & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Wonderful breakfast - great selection of foods. Very good location close to subway and central train station. Very good service. Nice room. Easy to access the express bus and train to Malpensa airport.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mnitu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed here for three nights.

Pros:
- We got a free upgrade
- Our room was lovely decorated
- Bathroom was superb and very clean. We even got a little duck to take home with us.
- The beds were comfortable and we slept well during our visit
- Near the train station, easy to move.
- We could leave our baggages to secure place before our departure.

Cons:
- Miss birdie was not able to join the breakfast without constant disturbance only because she was not eating anything. It was sad that we couldn´t be together even though there was plenty of room in the breakfast lounge.
- The service could have been better. Couple of smiles would not hurt anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrAndMissBirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

I stayed at Hotel Berna in July for four nights while exploring Milan. The hotel is clean, quiet, and run by expert hoteliers who understand the meaning of service. The location is near the Centrale station which allows for quick access to the Metro lines (and also the express bus and train service to Malpensa). We used the metro to travel all around the historic center of Milan and at the end of the day, the trip back to Centrale and the Hotel Berna was simple and quick. The front desk staff are top-notch and the bartender, Max, was especially helpful with suggestions for dinner (elegant or casual) and travel tips around the city. Definitely stop down in the bar for aperitivos and some delicious Milanese "snacks" - you may never leave the bar! The breakfast buffet was uniformly delicious and the wait-staff were prompt and warm. Overall, a great place to base your explorations of a fascinating city.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews