We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Small Hotel with Great Staff”
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #10 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the hotel Berna for three nights. A big plus point of the hotel is its proximity to Milan Central railway station; it is literally a 5 minutes stroll on the flat from the airport Malpensa 2 coach shuttle drop off at the side of the station. To find the hotel; look across the main station concourse and you’ll see a radio station sign on top of a big building reading ‘105’ Walk to to that, go around the building and you are on Via Napo Torriani, hotel Berna is 50 metres down on the left.

Reception was fairly quick, a few people were ahead of us so it took about 10 minutes to book in. The reception staff member Andrea was very polite and efficient. He noted that we had booked a superior room and that I requested a quiet room and confirmed that we had that. Sadly although he had the info on his screen the reality was very different. We were allocated room 402, which had an elevator 1.5 m adjacent to us, another 2 m opposite and the housekeeping equipment store next to that, again no more than 2m from our door. Sadly this meant noise of staff arriving and all the other guests on that floor using the elevators all day from about 6am onwards. Not favourable for a few hours mid afternoon siesta.

You can buy the 24 or 48 hours Milan travel tickets from the reception to save time at the station.

However that was our only real problem. The room was small but had everything we needed; a nice large firm bed a decent shower and a safe. We were only there for three nights but if you are on a longer trip you might struggle for storage space a there is only one rack of hangers in a curtained alcove and a few very small shelves. See the attached photo’s. Similarly the bathroom is small but fine with sink, shower, toilet and bidet. The shower was brilliant, large ‘rainforest’ type head the size of a dinner plate and a hand held nozzle for the nooks and crannies. There were soap, shampoo etc supplied. There was a flat screen TV which had a lot of channels, the only English language I found were BBC world news and CNN but I didn’t go to Milan to watch TV so no problem. Another plus of the room was a free soft drinks minibar with Coke, fruit juice, water and fizzy orange, very welcome after a long hot journey.

Breakfast was good with a few minor niggles. There was a choice of cereals, fruit, yoghurt, pastries, cakes. A good selection of bread. Some cold cuts of meat, cheese and vegetables and scrambled eggs and bacon. A good selection of teas and standard coffee, staff will offer cappuccino etc. There is a juicer with fresh carrots if that’s your thing. The minor niggles for me were the orange juice which was cheap and nasty; I think it was a mix of cheap fresh juice and squash concentrate, for a 4 star that’s a cheap cut too far. My only other minor complaint was that eggs cooked other ways, fried, omelette etc were available for a charge of 6 euros, why? I mainly stay at 4 star hotels and this is the first time I’d been asked to pay for a fried egg. But breakfast overall was very good and you would have to be incredibly picky not to find plenty to enjoy. The dining room staff were all very welcoming, warm and efficient.

There is a small supermarket directly opposite the hotel entrance, 20 yards away, it’s called the ‘Continental Market’. You can get soft drinks and beer from a chiller, wine and spirits from the shelves and lots of snacks like nuts, crisps (that’s chips to our American friends) etc. It’s very cheap I bought some bottles of beer for 1 euro each and an ok bottle of wine for 5 euros.

Another big plus point for the hotel is there are lots of very good restaurants within a 2 – 10 minute walk. We ate at; La Buca, traditional trattoria. Out of hotel, turn right, first right 1 minute walk, excellent traditional Italian, friendly waiting staff. Pianetta Luna, same street as La Buca, 20 metres further on. A very friendly less formal place with self serve or table waited. Very friendly staff and a bit cheaper than a formal place. Pizza and Milanese cutlet were both excellent. Antica Osteria Cavallini, out of hotel turn left 5 minute stroll. Fantastic higher end eatery; everything we ate was top draw, the waiting staff very professional, not the cheapest but worth it; 2 courses and a bottle of wine 130 euros. Last but not least Mama Rosa, 5 minutes further down the road than the Cavallini. As good as Cavallini, great food, brilliant waiters, good wine and about 30% cheaper than Cavallini. 2 courses and a bottle of wine 100 Euros.


All in all I liked the hotel Berna a lot. Okay we had the niggle of a loud room when we asked for a quiet one, so one mistake, we can live with that. The location cannot be bettered. The hotel is spotlessly clean as are the rooms. The rooms are small but not tiny and have everything you could wish for a comfortable stay. The breakfast is almost great and every member of staff is friendly, smiling and good at their job; apart from whoever allocated our room, ha ha.

Go you’ll enjoy it.

Room Tip: Don't get rooms 01 or 02 they are next to the lifts and stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank glasgowcouple1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,868)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,226 - 2,232 of 6,868 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2014

Hotel Berna is one of many rather dull looking hotels in the area close to Milano Centrale. This one really stands out for doing its outmost to give excellent service. It is often possible to ask for advice or extras, but here you actually felt truly welcome doing it. If the Italian government was run this way, Italy would have no problems. When the manager e-mailed after the stay and asked for improvement, there is only one thing to say. Bravo!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luxotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Hotel Berna hides in a quiet street close to Milan Central Station. There are quite a few other hotels on the same street. My room is quite big in European standard and bigger than I expected. The breakfast is good and above the average four star hotel's. There are many choices and cappuciino is fine. All the staffs I met were very friendly and helpful. The only downside is that the paper thin wall, I can hear my Russian neighbor talking late at night.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Youhanguc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel because we wanted to be close (walking distance) to Milano Central Station as we had luggages. It probably had the best review of all hotels close by. Hotel was a 5min walk once you step out of the station. At first I thought that the immediate area around the station was not a good area but it was fine. The street where the hotel is located is also lined with other hotels mostly 3 stars. Hotel Berna was rated 4 stars (Europe 4 stars, which in my opinion is about US 3.5 stars). Outside the hotel looked ordinary but inside it was decent. All reviews are correct about the service. From the check-in, bar area, bellboy (especially), the folks were very warm and accommodating to guests. Rooms were small as expected but beds were comfortable and bathroom looked recently renovated. If I need a hotel close to the train station, I would go back. To get to Duomo area, you have to get on the subway. There are some restaurant choices walking distance from hotel. My husband left his laptop in the safe upon checkout. He only noticed it when we got back in Switzerland the morning after. When he called the hotel they said they had it and was found by housekeeping. Even though we checked out at 10am, we left our luggages at the hotel and came back at 5pm to pick it up. I wish they would have notified us sooner (same day) that we left a laptop, I'm sure housekeeping would have cleaned by 5pm. Especially for an item such as a laptop that surely is important to a guest. There is a chance that the guest is just in the area and can pick up the item. We had to arrange FedEx service to get laptop back. Still thankful that it didn't get lost though. Overall good choice close to main station.

Stayed: January 2014
2  Thank Nella15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

breakfast was included with our room. What a spread! Great service too if you want a cappucino or espresso.

Thank Jubilate7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Nice hotel with a friendly staff. Rooms are small, typical of European hotels, but clean and comfortable. Shower is very small. The area is very nice, close to the train station and the metro with good restaurants close by.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kieran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

This hotel is simply amazing. I was very pleased with the experience of having stayed here.

Its located very close to the Milano Central train station, we arrived via trenitalia and had a simple short walk over to the hotel.

The reception desk team are full professionals, very knowledgeable about Milan - and we had alot of queries... how to get around, where is this or that place. Very friendly chaps. We asked for a recommendation for dinner that was within walking distance, and they were able to recommend a few very good establishments (instead of the typical, go to this or that area where there are restaurants) - and further draw out on the map how to walk there. Likewise when we wanted to get to the airport, they recommended a shuttle and advised how to get there - which was brilliant (considering I had done no research about Milan before getting there - this was enormously helpful).

The room itself is spotless, this hotel has a high standard for cleanliness.

One night we had gotten back late and the kitchen was closed. We asked if they could do us a favour after a long day, and they did - we were surprised with the beautiful meal they whipped up!

The breakfast selection was excellent, a very wide and tasty spread.

The thing that truly amazed me about this hotel was the small things... hotel staff that brought us to the room opened the mini bar and said - all free (how often do you hear that)... a little chart in the elevator that tells you the temperature expected that day... there is a little note about who to contact for every little service - by name of the employee that can help you... even when you check in, they give you a personalised print out with little details about Milan and wifi codes, and a coupon for a couple of welfare drinks... at the lobby is a little counter with a coffee machine and mineral water for an anytime drink.

These people really know their business and are pursuing excellence. I couldn't help but imagine that they themselves probably travel often, stay at other hotels and understand what makes the difference.

Was very very pleased to have selected Hotel Berna!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnITGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Milan Suite Hotel
#20 of 431 in Milan
708 reviews
Grand Visconti Palace
#37 of 431 in Milan
1,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#75 of 431 in Milan
2,801 reviews
Centro Storico
Gran Duca di York
Gran Duca di York
#9 of 431 in Milan
1,463 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Biocity Hotel
Biocity Hotel
#25 of 431 in Milan
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Address: Via Napo Torriani 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
#9 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range: $137 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 116 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more... First of all, our welcoming smile. However, the smiles after will be many: when we welcome you and during your stay. And there will also be your smiles when you discover our qualities, the cuddles that we have reserved for you and the surprises prepared just for you. From the breakfast to the cleaning, from the choice of the room temperature to the silence. In the heart of Milano you will discover the atmosphere of one of your second homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing