We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic stay!”
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #13 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic stay!”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We only stayed for one night at the Hotel Berna before catching the train to Bolgna. We really wished we could have stayed there longer. From the moment I booked this hotel, I knew I made the right choice. As soon as we arrived we were greeted by an utterly professional and polite member of staff who told us that we were upgraded to a larger room. The modernly decorated room was spotlessly and freshly clean. The novelty rubber duck in the bathroom's sink, was a pleasant surprise which made us smile. The breakfast in the morning was superb. The hotel's location couldn't be more convenient, just across the Central train station. When we visit Milan next time we shall definitely stay at the Hotel Berna . Many thanks to all the extra special members of staff!

Room Tip: The room we stayed in was on the fourth flour and it was extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rigaina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,338
    1,743
    282
    78
    38
See reviews for
1,106
2,800
714
809
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (721)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

The best experience ever. Clean, friendly and the location is great. We got a free upgrade for our room
Thank you Stefano who has taken care of our reservation :) I recommend this hotel for everyone who is planning to go to Milano you will have a nice stay and comfortable experience

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abdullah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuilly-sur-Seine, France
2 reviews
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Very thorough service, good room, good location, affordable rates. We were received by pleasant people, offered extra services before our arrival such as extra pillows, refreshments. The products of the mini bar were free of charges. The room cosy and well heated. No problems of noise whereas our window opened on the street. The hotel is 50m away from the tube station, 150m away from central station and 100m away from a cab station ! Perfect to visit Milan at a decent price !

Room Tip: Choose a room In the new building face to the old one
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SM92200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

My Husband and I spent 2 nights at Hotel Berna from 29 Nov - 1 Dec 13. We had been traveling across Italy and Milan was our last stop. Even though, honestly speaking, Hotel Berna isn't one of the biggest or prettiest hotel we had stayed in, it was in fact the most sincere one where the service standards and attention to details were second to none.

It brings me much pleasure to recollect and reminisce on the numerous areas where the hotel paid attention to:

1. Upon arrival, we were given a welcome letter, with our names and wi-fi log-in information nicely and neatly printed on it
2. In the room, on the bed, was also a welcome note from the room-keeper. On the card was her personally written name. At least the guest knows who goes in and out of the room every morning.
3. There was a rubber duckie in the toilet! Together with the duckie was also a note to encourage the guests to smile more. Indeed, the bright and cheerful little one did make our mornings very cheery!
4. A handwritten update of the following day's weather was sent to the room every night, together with 2 cookies.
5. Out of the 4 hotels we had stayed in, Hotel Berna provides the best breakfast spread. Not only is the food very nicely presented, the variety was wide and some of the food items change every day. I am very impressed.
6. On the night before we check-ed out, a personally addressed note was left on the bed, asking if there's anything else the hotel can help us with.
7. Finally, on check-out, we were presented with a discount card which we could use on our next booking.

All the above, and more from Hotel Berna, really wraps up our entire Italian holiday very nicely. It has certainly made the whole trip even more memorable. I will not hesitate to recommend this Hotel to my friends visiting Milan!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadameStitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Our family of three stayed here for one night before flying out from Milan. The smallish room was faultless - very clean, modern and most welcoming. The hotel pays attention to detail and evidently aims to please.
The staff were very pleasant, courteous and helpful. You can even buy tickets for public transportation at the hotel.
There are computers with printers and internet connection in the common area, making it convenient to check in to flights online and to print boarding passes.The breakfast is lovely.
It takes 5 minutes or less to walk to the Milano Centrale train station, which is a terminal for the regional high speed trains, the city subway as well as the terminal for airport coaches (10 euros per person one way, about 50 minutes of travel time).
There's nothing very happening in the vicinity, but it's only about 3 - 4 metro stops away from the city centre where the Duomo (cathedral) and La Scala are situated.
Just a word of warning that you really need to be on your guard for pickpockets in Milan - we had 3 attempts on us in rapid succession in all of 4 hours. At the Duomo station, the man in front of us "accidentally" dropped his keys and stopped dead in his tracks at the top of the moving escalator, preventing us from stepping off. In the commotion, my husband noticed a hand reaching into his trouser pocket and he quickly reacted by shoving both the men away from him. Another time, on a crowded tram, some men sandwiched us and obstructed our exit - by the time we managed to get off the tram, the trouser pockets were again opened. You really have to find a way of securing your belongings on you!

Room Tip: We were in room 26, which was very quiet, new-looking, and had a small sofa bed to accommodate altog...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drchikee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I stayed there for three nights while on a business trip. The location is excellent: only a short 5min walk from the Central Station. The staff was kind and very helpful. Although the wallpaper had had better days, the room was exceptionally clean and spacious enough for a single room. One negative point was the noise, probably due to the fact that the room was on the ground floor, right next to the lift. The heating system can also be quite noisy at times. However the hotel offers a high level of service and an array of nice little attentions which contribute to the cozy, "homelike" feel (eg. free snacks available in the lobby, free wi-fi, access to printers and universal phone/tablet chargers in the lobby, free soft drinks in the room, laundry service etc.). On a side note: although there is no restaurant in the hotel, food from a local restaurant can be delivered directly to your room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely fantastic hotel, staff, location. It has been a long time since we've had such amazing service and attention to details. The check in, consierge, restaurant, everything. The staff were friendly, so happy to help, and very attentive. The hotel understands the meaning of the "little things that make the difference". Bath robes, slippers, preset room temperature, types of pillows, free mini bar (no alcohol), the whole package.
We will DEFINITELY stay there again and DEFINITELY recommend this hotel to all our friends and family.
Thank you for a lovely experience.

SIDE NOTE - if you stay there - do NOT eat at the pizza place across the road. Read the menu carefully as prices there go up 50% after 10:30 pm!!! Stay away.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 21ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Ibis Milano Centro
Ibis Milano Centro
#159 of 428 in Milan
6,156 reviews
Grand Visconti Palace
#34 of 428 in Milan
1,787 reviews
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Milan Suite Hotel
#24 of 428 in Milan
641 reviews
Lancaster Hotel
#20 of 428 in Milan
806 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#79 of 428 in Milan
2,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Property: Hotel Berna
Address: Via Napo Torriani 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#12 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 116 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more... First of all, our welcoming smile. However, the smiles after will be many: when we welcome you and during your stay. And there will also be your smiles when you discover our qualities, the cuddles that we have reserved for you and the surprises prepared just for you. From the breakfast to the cleaning, from the choice of the room temperature to the silence. In the heart of Milano you will discover the atmosphere of one of your second homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing