We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and amazing staff”
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #13 of 426 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed (family of four) at Hotel Berna on 25th July and again on 27th July (2 of us). The rooms were a very good size, including bathroom, and had all the finishing touches. The staff were truly happy, and extremely friendly to us, especially Johannes one of the welcome staff. He always chatted to us and gave us helpful tips even when he was busy working. The free mini-bar drinks were a welcome bonus after hot days in MIlan. We spent a day in between at Lake Como, and we were able to leave our luggage at the hotel, and the staff delivered it to our room, upon return. The breakfast was very good and the 'lounge' area was very nice for a hot drink, in a comfy chair with PC for printing plane boarding passes. Staff also recommended excellent nearby restaurant , great location for train, buses to airport, and cheap taxi fare anywhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GazzaMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,621)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Berna
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,318 - 2,324 of 6,621 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stopped here twice during July and were very impressed with this hotel.
It is only 5 mins walk from Central Station which suited us perfectly as the shuttle buses to the airport depart from this station. The actual place looks tired from the outside but inside is well appointed (although a ramp instead of steps to get in to the hotel would have been good)!
Our room was spacious, clean and very comfortable and the ability to customise everything from the contents of the free mini bar to the type of pillow was great.
The breakfast was excellent (large choice and very tasty .... freshly made coffee's (eg Cappuccino) can be ordered at no extra charge. There is also a place in the hotel with free coffee, biscuits and tea all day, as well as pastries on an evening.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
Overall it was a great experience and we would visit again without hesitation.
On a different matter ... if you arrive late and need dinner, don't eat at the pizza place opposite, it is terrible! Instead walk towards the station and eat at the bar with an outside covered area (friendly and good food).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MPW_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

"I staid at the Hotel Berna with my family at the begininning of July.

Everything was great, starting from the confirmation to the friendly welcome and attitude upon check-in and throughout our stay.

All the staff were really happy to serve you and ready to respond to all our requests.

Rooms were nice and clean and of a decent size for european standards. The content of the minibar (soft drinks) was free and the
breakfast buffet was a real feast, having everythig for everybody. Free and fast WiFi.

Location, near the railway station, is great if you arrive by plane (near the air terminals) and perfect to visit Milan by tube.

Thank you Berna for making our stay a great one!"

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wida2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

A very great location: near to the Centrale station and main streets. The starf were friendly. The breakfast was qiuet substantiol and tasty. There were fruits, eggs, cheese, yogurts, cakes. Mini-bar was free. We will come to Berna again. Thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Svetlana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Last month, when I had to go to Milan for business, I checked on Tripadvisor and chose Berna Hotel: I made the right choice.

The location was perfect to me.

The hotel was not impressive from the outside, but when I went in I felt immediately very welcome and appreciated. The Staff of this family-run Hotel was perfectly trained and helpful, answering to all my (many) inquiries in a very professional manner.

While the room was European rather than American in size, it was otherwise perfectly clean and comfortable. All that I needed was there.

Air conditioning was working fine and the wifi connection was really reliable and fast: good job!
The hotel is 100% non smoking. I couldn’t try their breakfast, as I had to leave very early in the morning.

I strongly recommend Berna Holel: it’s a 5-star to me.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CPNYC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Excellent service, very clean, well worth a visit.
Located within 2 minutes walking distance for Centrale station and probably 15-20 minutes walk from Garibaldi station. The staff were very friendly and were able to recommend restaurants and things to do during our stay.
with a 10 minute walk, you would be towards the centre of Milan, or you could easily get on the Metro.
The hotel itself is very clean, they topped up water and soft drinks for our fridge at no extra charge, breakfast good for European standards.
Would definitely recommend this hotel for location, service and value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelanieUttley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I've spent a long week-end with my family at the Hotel Berna in Milan and we travelled by train. The Hotel is not only conveniently placed near Milan Central station but it's also well connected to all the major tourist attractions by underground. However, I wanted to write this review to thank all the staff working at the Berna Hotel, because they are so helpful, friendly and it is absolutely obvious that they strive to offer an excellence in hospitality. Thus, we will surely come back to the Berna to enjoy another stay there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ghaefliger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Ibis Milano Centro
Ibis Milano Centro
#163 of 426 in Milan
6,303 reviews
Grand Visconti Palace
#36 of 426 in Milan
1,850 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#79 of 426 in Milan
2,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lancaster Hotel
#21 of 426 in Milan
829 reviews
Milan Suite Hotel
#26 of 426 in Milan
659 reviews
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Address: Via Napo Torriani 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
#12 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range: $142 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 116 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more... First of all, our welcoming smile. However, the smiles after will be many: when we welcome you and during your stay. And there will also be your smiles when you discover our qualities, the cuddles that we have reserved for you and the surprises prepared just for you. From the breakfast to the cleaning, from the choice of the room temperature to the silence. In the heart of Milano you will discover the atmosphere of one of your second homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, ACCOR, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing