We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #14 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better than home”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay. Great value and even better service. Max in the bar provided wonderful recommendations for places to eat and things to do and see. Breakfast was oustanding and so were the wait staff. Highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A Philip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,125
    1,682
    277
    74
    38
See reviews for
1,059
2,652
676
791
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (692)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Innsbruck
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

About ten years ago we have stayed at the Berna Hotel several times; yet at that time it was an excellent location. But since then it has definitely improved a lot. Lots of rooms have been refurbished, breakfast offers an even larger variety of delicious things, staff is very friendly. The only thing that could still be improved is the breakfast room which is a bit small if the hotel is full on weekends. But still: We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishon Le Zion, HaMerkaz, Israel
Level Contributor
89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night at the hotel, before we drove up north. The hotel is small but warm, the room also. The breakfast is great and has it all: tasty bacon and eggs, fresh fruits and great coffee. The hotel has a parking valet but it costs about 20 euros. The hotel is within walking distance from the duomo, about 2 kilometers. The staff is very polite, and probably the best thing is the pizza place across the street.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sagi Ve Ilana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The hotel is very close to the subway/train station, the room was small but functional. The breakfast was very good and all the staff was really nice. I would recommend this hotel to a friend and stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarinaCorrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

We were very very impressed with this hotel which lifts thoughtful and helpful to a new level above what we expect from a hotel. Arriving in a deluge, this stop over, handy to the Milan Central station became our refuge and lifted our spirits after doing battle with weather and train connections. The staff were wonderful and the amenities were just what we needed including helping us with printing flight confirmations. The room was well equipped. Only two issues the toilet in our room was close to the shower door so potentially awkward for people with long legs and I'm not sure how you make 2 single beds work as a double. Over all there was a feeling of generosity here with a number of personalised touches that impress and a breakfast laid out like none I have seen before. I recommend this establishment highly, just avoid the 2 single beds!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carollyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2013

It was my best hotel experience ever! People where so nice. Service was great. Breatfast excelent. Cleaning very good. location near Central Station and only a 20 min walk to the center.
I'am sure I stay again when I'm in Milan!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirjam Rosa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My wife and I decided to head to Milan for the weekend to get away from it all and do some shopping. We booked the flight then tried to book a hotel. Big mistake as there were two trade fairs that weekend and everything was booked. I asked a friend of mine and he suggested this place but told me not to expect much and it was far from the centre. Well, he was mistaken. This is one of the best small family hotels I have ever stayed in. The service was excellent and everything is driven by IT systems that I haven't even seen in a 5 Star hotel! We were on the 5th floor in the newly refurbished rooms. Albeit small, the room was nicely furnished and very modern. It was perfect. Also, only a 20 minute walk to the centre. Forget the metro!the best way to see the city is to walk and it is so easy to get to the centre. Highly recommended and we will be back. We just love this place!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CZonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Grand Visconti Palace
#33 of 431 in Milan
1,696 reviews
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 431 in Milan
527 reviews
Lancaster Hotel
#20 of 431 in Milan
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Milan Suite Hotel
#22 of 431 in Milan
605 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Ibis Milano Centro
Ibis Milano Centro
#153 of 431 in Milan
5,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Property: Hotel Berna
Address: Via Napo Torriani 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#13 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 116 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more... First of all, our welcoming smile. However, the smiles after will be many: when we welcome you and during your stay. And there will also be your smiles when you discover our qualities, the cuddles that we have reserved for you and the surprises prepared just for you. From the breakfast to the cleaning, from the choice of the room temperature to the silence. In the heart of Milano you will discover the atmosphere of one of your second homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing