We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice”
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #12 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Chardonne, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great choice”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Very nice hotel well located close to Milano Centrale train station. Double room well equipped (frigo bar with a water and juices), very clean and nicely decorated room.
Very friendly service during check in and check out and amazing breakfast, never ate so good in the hotel. Actually difficult to find an area for improvement. Definitely worth to recommend and for sure I will come back here soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucas-Carioca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,376
    1,753
    282
    78
    38
See reviews for
1,116
2,825
719
811
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (730)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
amd
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the berna in the first week of march. The hotel is a 250 meter walk from the central station. Area around is pretty average. The hotel is known for prompt service, free wifi, free snacks at the bar and a great breakfast. On all these areas it delivers what most reviewers have claimed. The rooms however are small and disappointing. One can hardly fit in the bathroom and many a times you can hear conversations going on upstairs or next doors.

I would stay here again only if I had work around the central station.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ankur_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The Hotel Berna was everything I hoped it would be: top comfort, well-located and value for money. I really could not fault it. The room was ideal - lage bed with a modern bathroom, no noise despite being on the ground floor, facing the front and near a lift! Now, I am quite fussy about these things and I couldn't find anything to complain about. The breakfast was varied and constantly topped up by a vigilant and friendly staff. The free mini bar was a nice touch and I was pleased to see the availability of at least four computers with printers, free of charge to any guest who needed them.
We were here on a city break and could not have made a wiser choice of hotel.

Room Tip: Try The Small for an excellent authentic Italian meal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Stream
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I have just completed two stays at the Hotel Berna in Milan, 5 nights and a single night. During my first stay I had a small single room on the 3rd floor - probably the one that an earlier reviewer complained about - so, okay it was tiny and dated, but the great location, super staff and free in room Internet, and an incredible breakfast buffet more than made up for it. My one night stay which followed the 5 consecutive nights, was on the 5th floor which has been completely remodeled. While not super plush, it is very comfortable and a good value. Most of all, the staff makes you feel at home.

The hotel also has a nice bar where you can relax and nosh on free snacks served with your drink, and if you would rather not go out, the hotel will order dinner in for you.

All of the staff is super friendly and can help you with metro cards, maps, directions and whatever else you need. If I had one one suggestion for improvement it would be to offer free bottle of water in the room. The rubber duckie was very cute, but water would have served me better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NNanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
546 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed in the hotel for 2 nights and highly recommend

Arrived quite late but service was good

Room was good, and fine for a single room, bathroom had a nice jacuzzi in the bath which was a nice touch

Free mini bar and wifi which was a real bonus and really enjoyed the stay because of this

Definitely would stay here again if going to Milan, enjoyed it and the location

Only problem was no spa which was a shame

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Husain K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Small room, uncomfortable bed. Narrow showeroom! Definitely not worth it! The only thing ok is the breakfast is just fine! With same price, you surely can get better quality in same area, like Hilton.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Askethnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customerrelationship, General Manager at Hotel Berna, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Askethnick,

thanks a lot for your feedback.

We are sorry to read that the room didn’t met your expectations.

We are are a small family owned hotel, rooms are all different and not standard like found in chain hotels. We wish you would have reported your dissatisfaction with your room to the Reception Staff and we would have certainly shown you some of our upper categories .

We offer infact 3 room categories for single use and 3 for double use, that vary in size, furniture, upholstery, and amenities. If informed, the Reception Staff would have certainly helped you finding - for only a small supplement - the right typology.

With regard to the price, it's fair to say that from a competitive benchmark point of view and considering all our added values (as free WiFi, Buffet brekfast, free minibar, etc.), it seems we had the best quality price relationship in the area.

We are very pleased to know you liked the quality and variety of our buffet breakfast, which is so appreciated by the vast majority of our guests.

Thanks again for staying with us.

Best regards,

Carlo Fontana, GM & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This hotel is located well (near Centrale (and not too far from the Duomo & the Galleria). Clean rooms, friendly staff, and nice appertivo offering in the bar in the evening.

All in all, a good value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parkietx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Ibis Milano Centro
Ibis Milano Centro
#161 of 427 in Milan
6,201 reviews
Grand Visconti Palace
#34 of 427 in Milan
1,812 reviews
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#78 of 427 in Milan
2,603 reviews
Milan Suite Hotel
#25 of 427 in Milan
650 reviews
Lancaster Hotel
#21 of 427 in Milan
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Property: Hotel Berna
Address: Via Napo Torriani 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
#11 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 116 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more... First of all, our welcoming smile. However, the smiles after will be many: when we welcome you and during your stay. And there will also be your smiles when you discover our qualities, the cuddles that we have reserved for you and the surprises prepared just for you. From the breakfast to the cleaning, from the choice of the room temperature to the silence. In the heart of Milano you will discover the atmosphere of one of your second homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing