We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic city hotel”
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #13 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic city hotel”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We have just returned from a fab trip to Milan and the hotel was the icing on the cake. The staff were so helpful, they went out of their way to help us and the room was spotless. The breakfast was generous and again the staff could not have been more delightful. All in all this is one of the best city hotels I have stayed in with regards to value for money and location and with coffee /tea making facilities in the room.

Room Tip: Superior room as they are fairly spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,334
    1,743
    282
    78
    38
See reviews for
1,106
2,799
713
808
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (720)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Caxias Do Sul, RS
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I booked Hotel Berna at the very last minute and was pretty happy with my choice. My mom and I arrived very early for check in, but they were very understanding and in 30 minutes our room was ready. When we got in there was a toy duck in the basin which seemed weird, but it is there to make you laugh and it works! The room is all right - comfortable and clean. Wifi works perfectly.
Anyways, the staff is great and they do speak English. The 24h coffee and tea in the lobby is a plus mainly in the winter time and the free minibar is unbelievable! The breakfast is very good and they do everything to make you feel comfortable. Under your cup there is a smiling candy and your cappuccino comes with a smiling face!
At check out they were really nice and gave us bottles of water and snacks for our trip. Loved it!
It was a very surprising and pleasant stay. Would definitely stay there again and recommend it.

Room Tip: Choose the renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luciana-Andre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I have stayed in some of the best and most famous hotels in the world (e.g., the Bellagio, the Atlantis, Four Seasons, Ritz Carlton), and I can confidently say that the level of personal attention, and care without pretentiousness that the staff at Berna gives you is unparalleled. From recognition as you walk in the door to anything you may need (I had to leave early, so they made me breakfast 15 min before official opening).
Great location, great service. I go out of my way to stay at Berna when I am in Milan.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I have just arrived home from a weekend break in Milan and I cannot rate Hotel Berna highly enough. Before you even check-in, the service is second to none. You are able to choose the type of pillows/bed covering you prefer and even the temperature of your room for your arrival. The hotel is ideally located for Central Station (and easy to find) and the links for buses and trains on their website are superb. It was my birthday on the day we checked out and I was presented with a cake at breakfast time and the staff all sang 'Happy Birthday' to me - without prompting from my mum! The breakfast really is wonderful and the free buffet (if you are having a drink in the bar) is lovely. The free mini bar is re-stocked daily and the staff could not have been nicer. All-in-all I will definitely return and will recommend the hotel to anyone visiting Milan.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Boo_booEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennington, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights at the Hotel Berna in Milan at the end of our 6 week trip to Italy. We were able to do all of our booking on-line before we left the USA. We received a small discount (about 7 Euros) for reserving our room on-line. We got regular emails from the Hotel prior to departure including signing up for various amenities that would be waiting for us in our room. Very convenient. We arrived in Milan by train at Milano Centrale. We picked up information about the city, including a map, from the Tourist Information office and walked to the Hotel. It was about a five minute walk out the front doors of the train station. We turned down Via Napo Torriani and the bustling noise of the city immediately quieted. The hotel is well-marked and easy to find. We were able to get into our room by 2:30 p.m. It was a typically-sized room for Italian hotels. Comfortable king-size bed and comfy pillows. Clean. Neat. Bright. Wi-fi in room that was easy to access. Good water pressure in sink and shower. Our room faced the street, and even with our window open at night, we were not bothered by the street noise below - though the garbage and delivery trucks do arrive fairly early (around 5 a.m. or 5:30 a.m.). Because we were there at the beginning of May, the air conditioning was not yet operable (and it happened to be an unusually hot May 1 and 2 in Milan). The front desk staff was incredibly helpful. They remembered our names from our first stop at the desk. We bought our 24 hour Metro tickets at the front desk and the price was added to our room costs. The breakfast at the Hotel is exceptionally extensive, delicious, and included in the room price. There is a room off of the front desk where wine (and other drinks) and a variety of snacks are available in the late afternoon/early evening. While the wine has a cost (about 5 Euro per glass added to room cost), the snacks were free. The snacks were ample and varied. We had to leave very early on our last morning in Italy to catch the express bus to the airport for an early morning flight. We asked the front desk staff if it were possible to have a light snack for breakfast. The answer was "of course." When we checked out early on our last morning, there were two goodie bags at the front desk ready for us with fruit, beverage, cheese and crackers, other snacks. We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Berna. It is convenient to the Metro and train station. We will stay here again on our next trip to Italy and Milan.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vermonters210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Situated minutes from central station the hotel is ideally placed for exploring Milan and the surrounding areas. Public transport links around the city are excellent and with a day ticket one ticket fits all -metro, buses and trams.
Hospitality at the Berna is second to none, with some memorable touches. The soft drinks in the room fridge are indeed free, as are the 'bar snacks' in the bar when you enjoy a drink. To call them bar snacks is a little misleading as I have been to weddings with less choice in their buffets. Having arrived late the first evening we were looking for a light bite before bed and the selection of pizza bites, sandwiches, tortilla and more proved more than ample.
There are four pcs in the lobby where guests can access free Internet, wifi is also available in the rooms however I couldn't get it to work on my phone.
All in all the Berna is great choice if you are looking for a well located, reasonably priced, hospitable hotel in Milan.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Auntyfee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We were 2 couples booking 2 rooms. Make sure you ask for a newly renovated room as the old ones are very dated. The newly renovated rooms are very nice!
Hotel is service quality is very good and breakfast is nice with wide selection.
We are Chinese and need our own cuisine from time to time. If have time, must try Su Garden restaurant which is nearby the hotel. Ask reception and they will give you directions. It is a very good restaurant although not 100% authentic and serve some Thai/Chinese/Japanese fusion. The steamed sea bass we order was very fresh!

Room Tip: Ask for newly renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tsthk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Ibis Milano Centro
Ibis Milano Centro
#158 of 428 in Milan
6,154 reviews
Grand Visconti Palace
#35 of 428 in Milan
1,783 reviews
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Milan Suite Hotel
#24 of 428 in Milan
641 reviews
Lancaster Hotel
#20 of 428 in Milan
806 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#79 of 428 in Milan
2,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Property: Hotel Berna
Address: Via Napo Torriani 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#12 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 116 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more... First of all, our welcoming smile. However, the smiles after will be many: when we welcome you and during your stay. And there will also be your smiles when you discover our qualities, the cuddles that we have reserved for you and the surprises prepared just for you. From the breakfast to the cleaning, from the choice of the room temperature to the silence. In the heart of Milano you will discover the atmosphere of one of your second homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing