We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small details make large joy”
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #10 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Hotel Berna is a stone-throw away from the Central Railway Station and the stop of the suburban train which takes you to Duomo in just four stops. But it is not just the convenient location that is worth mentioning; the hotel is run admirably smoothly by friendly staff which, upon a tip or two, as it is customary in Italy, becomes even friendlier. We loved the breakfast which even catered to my special dietary needs. The premises are clean. The building itself is old but the rooms, although relatively small with respect to what some people might expect, have been renovated a couple of years ago and there is absolutely nothing to complain about. Will stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a superior room on the fifth floor facing the street. The windows are sound-proof and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssirca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,868)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,787 - 2,793 of 6,868 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2012

Trip Advisor correspondents got this one right on the money. Hotel Berna is a very well run, very welcoming hotel. Front desk staff are extremely helpful and can't do enough for their guests. Cudos to Stefano, Cesare and all who were so great. The rooms are small, but kept exceptionally clean and are very comfortable and funtional. Breakfast offers an excellent variety and a very welcoming start to the day. The location is excellent, close to the metro and central train station and the front desk can sell you transit sytem tickets. No doubt we will stay here agin if we are fortunate enought to be in Milan.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winwolf56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located within easy walk from central station and the subway, warm and welcoming staff in each section, lovely well cared-for facilities, terrific bar, the best breakfast. The reception staff helped us with every request. Could not ask for more and we will stay here next time we visit milano.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minonloso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I have to concur with the positive nature of reviews about Hotel Berna.
Excellent service, brilliant breakfasts, cracking value.
I had a single room facing the courtyard. Yes it was small, but immaculately fitted out and entirely adequate.
The all inclusive tea and coffee and soft drinks in the mini bar are a bonus. As is the bathroom duck.
I'll be back.

Room Tip: the courtyard rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woofsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

This was the best of three hotels during a week in northern Italy.

There appeared to be a continuous improvement attitude to getting the details right at every stage. I responded to an email two days before check-in inviting guests to specify preferences for things like the type of pillow/ duvet and room temperature on arrival. All staff from check-in at front desk, porters, cleaners and restaurant staff were sincerely friendly, professional, courteous, efficient and going the extra mile whenever they could. We appreciated the complimentary soft drinks/water and tea/coffee facilities in the room which we didn’t find at other hotels. The Wifi signal was excellent at all times; we found the signal to be poor or non-existent in other hotels. Breakfast was excellent.

Our room was in the building across the road which was not a problem for us. As stated by previous TA reviewers the location was “perfetto” (excuse the Italian) giving easy access to all the key sites via metro. We were recommended a nearby restaurant (Settembrini) for our first night’s dinner which turned out to be excellent. All in all, an exceptional hotel and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Truebrit57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We absolutely loved staying in this hotel. Even though it's not so small, it felt like a boutique hotel. From the moment you enter, you are greeted with a warm smile and you feel very welcomed. Our room was spotless and very comfortable. The breakfast selection was huge and delicious, easily one of the best we've encountered and staff circulate to make sure all your needs are looked after. Location-wise, it's great, just a short walk from the train station. We truly can't recommend this hotel highly enough and have since sent others to stay there.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor. The lift is small, so easy to walk down and even up if necessary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShlomGit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 3nights, it was the best money I have ever spent on a hotel. Prior to my arrival you have the option of customizing your stay from the types of pillows, bedding, and drinks you would like to have during your stay in Milano. On my arrival I was warmly greeted by the staff at the front desk, where they informed me that my room was upgraded to standard plus free of charge. I was assisted with my lugguage and escorted to my room by a staff member.The standard plus room was beautiful and newly renovated for a more modern feel! Instead of chocolates I recieved a package of cookies on my pillow and there is a free rubber duck they invite you to take home as a momento. The rooms are very quiet and I had a great night sleep. The breakfast is served on the main level and it has an array of breakfast and brunch items. The breakfast staff were friendly and very curteous. The staff will bring you a hot cappacino at your request which is delicious, the hot chocoloate is like drinking from a chocolate fountain it is so silky and warm. All the food items were divine!!

Rooms are clean, staff are warm and very helpful, and the hotel is a 5min walk from Milano Central train/bus station. There are plenty of local restaurants to choose from for lunch and dinner.

Would I stay here again....absolutely!!!

Room Tip: Take the standard plus the rooms are newly renovated and away from the elevator is the best. It woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hkja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Milan Suite Hotel
#20 of 431 in Milan
708 reviews
Grand Visconti Palace
#37 of 431 in Milan
1,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#75 of 431 in Milan
2,801 reviews
Centro Storico
Gran Duca di York
Gran Duca di York
#9 of 431 in Milan
1,463 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Biocity Hotel
Biocity Hotel
#25 of 431 in Milan
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Address: Via Napo Torriani 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#9 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range: $137 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 116 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more... First of all, our welcoming smile. However, the smiles after will be many: when we welcome you and during your stay. And there will also be your smiles when you discover our qualities, the cuddles that we have reserved for you and the surprises prepared just for you. From the breakfast to the cleaning, from the choice of the room temperature to the silence. In the heart of Milano you will discover the atmosphere of one of your second homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing