We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice, not Hotel Bernina”
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #14 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice, not Hotel Bernina”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Hotel Berna was clean, had nice staff and very close to attractions and restaurants.
It was right near the train station, so we can go to airport early in the morning. We were spending last day of our vacation, tired and hungry, but this hotel made us very comfortable, was very clean and good size (considering European hotel). The staffs speak English very well and friendly, we almost went to Hotel Bernina by mistake, it was right near this hotel, very rude responding to our first question, thankful that we didnt have to stay there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpunkyTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,206
    1,707
    279
    76
    38
See reviews for
1,070
2,708
696
800
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (704)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Just spent a long weekend at this hotel. Close to central station, easy to find. Superb, helpful friendly staff, just ask 'Max' if you want to know anything about the area. His suggestions for eateries was spot on. Room sizes comparable with any major european city were kept spotlessly clean and tidy by staff. Definitely intend to return.

Room Tip: Updated rooms have bigger bathrooms, older style rooms have bigger bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tedshed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
95 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

We arrived early at this hotel and decided to have a breakfast while we were waiting for our room. Breakfast selection was good with many choices. Cost 12euro per person. 20 mins later we got our room, it was located at a building right across from the hotel. Very nice building and we had a good size and very clear room. So close to the train and metro stations. Staffs were very helpful too.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloebebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The hotel was exceptionally clean (and I am one of the fussiest people in the world!), the staff were absolutely lovely (friendly without being overbearing) and couldn't do enough for us. Our room was nicely decorated and had lots of complimentary items for us to eat/drink/use which was great. The hotel was right near to the train station which was exactly where we wanted to be.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and would most certainly stay there again if we go to Milan again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariewarrington007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We weren't expecting touristic thrills from Milan, we planned our visit around seeing the "Last Supper". We were in for a lovely surprise, from the inviting Milan airport to a thriving clean city that had trains that ran on time, to much more to see than we had planned time for. We will be back, and we will stay at Hotel Berne again. We stayed in the building across the street, the room was not big (who cares), but very clean and modern. After a long flight from the states, the crisp linens were inviting-as was the requested water and robe. The location is perfect for the metro and train station. We had dinner at a lovely local family restaurant that Berne recommended. The free internet and coffee helped us get what we needed catching up on the news about the hurricane at home.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room across the street and facing away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dingeldangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Nearly everything the past reviewers said was true of this hotel. The MOST TRUE detail I will remember is how small the rooms are. They are very very very tiny, even by NY standards. But like everyone says, this must be the standard in Milan. Also the excellent breakfast selection and the hospitality are very true.

We stayed in a "Superior" room which was a free upgrade that comes with the "Lovers in Milan" special package (if available). This room was located in the "new" building across the street and is certainly higher standard than the main (old) building (we saw both). We also took advantage of the late check-out included in our package, because of our late afternoon flight.

It is a slight inconvenience to be across the street from the breakfast room but only a little. Note the breakfast room can get overcrowded during peak times, and access to some tables is blocked by others getting their breakfast. Best to go before 9am or after 10:30am to avoid the crowds. The breakfast selection is excellent and well varied.

We were only here two nights so being in such a small room was not so bad for us, however for a couple with any luggage it is a logistical nightmare packing for a long trip home. There really is literally no room to move, and we had to climb over each other constantly. (we are average-small people)

Being so close to the train station we thought we could actually walk to the station and catch the express to Malpensa airport. It worked out beautifully; being so close we got there quicker than expected and actually caught an earlier train than planned, so we had more time to navigate the Airport. The hotel really is close enough to the train station to walk, even with luggage, (silly to take a cab just around the corner), and the Malpensa Express was nice and new, very affordable, and well worth it.

Overall it's a good hotel in a good location, surrounded by many restaurants and prefect for short stays. From my research the room rates are usually good, although we actually paid about twice the amount for our room because of the particular days we were there. So my advice is to book early and make sure you're getting an affordable rate - which fluctuates dramatically from one day to the next.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to a single friend for a short stay (less than 1 week). Couples may want to pay a little more for a larger room elsewhere if staying more than a night. The shower is smaller than some phone booths, and we constantly hit our elbows while showering. This caused the door to pop open every time, which opens inwards, therefore restricting the space even further and causing more banging! I have to say showering here was not a pleasure - but then you don't spend the day in the shower do you.

One item to mention... we choose the "room customisation" option and requested certain pillows and room temperature. The pillows were much appreciated, and housekeeping made a little arrangement out of chocolates which was really cute - but the room temperature was unbearable on arrival. We requested for 22 degrees, and this was in winter. However, when we opened the door we were met with a blast of hot air about 30 degrees and began sweating immediately. We had to quickly switch off the air conditioning system and open the window but it took about 20 minutes to cool off. The windows do not open well because they interfere with the curtains and also block the passage (we both hit our head on the open windows more than once trying to pass). Moreover, all kinds of bugs and mosquitoes came in, and we had to keep up an application of bug spray and mosquito mats throughout our stay. Perhaps if the owner could install nets on the windows it would solve that problem.

A final word of advice for those choosing the Lover's package that comes with a bottle of Prosecco in the room - you should specify when you want the bottle in the room or it may never come. No one will ask you about it and it will not be delivered unless you ask. Best to be specific when you make the booking - if you want it in the room already when you check-in (it's not automatic).

This goes for the "welcome cocktail" as well - don't assume it's any drink you want - the bartender will give you something specific - you don't choose your drinks. But DO take advantage of the cocktail and the excellent complimentary tapas on display during "happy hour".

Overall our room was clean and "new" and our stay was a welcoming experience.

Room Tip: Book early and choose preferred dates to get the best rates. Remember to be extremely specific about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheSC0TTMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

One of the best buffets breakfasts we had on our trip through Italy. Fresh fruit, great coffee and warm croissants.

Helpful?
Thank shawnrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Grand Visconti Palace
#35 of 427 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,727 reviews
Lancaster Hotel
#20 of 427 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 427 in Milan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Milan Suite Hotel
#25 of 427 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Ibis Milano Centro
Ibis Milano Centro
#154 of 427 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Property: Hotel Berna
Address: Via Napo Torriani 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
#13 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 116 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more... First of all, our welcoming smile. However, the smiles after will be many: when we welcome you and during your stay. And there will also be your smiles when you discover our qualities, the cuddles that we have reserved for you and the surprises prepared just for you. From the breakfast to the cleaning, from the choice of the room temperature to the silence. In the heart of Milano you will discover the atmosphere of one of your second homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing