We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable stay and central location.”
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #13 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We wanted to stay at a hotel near the central station in Milan as we were arriving late in the day on the train from Rapallo and were planning day trips to Lake Como etc.
The hotel staff were polite, welcoming and knew their city well when we had a few enquiries. The check in was quick and efficient and the bell boy service was optional. Our room was ready and we walked in to a newly renovated room with all that we needed to make our stay comfortable. The room itself was not big however it was satisfactory.
The housekeeping staff, breakfast and dining staff were also polite, friendly and performed their duties well. Happy hour was a great start to the evening with a selection of complimentary appetizers to have with your drink.
The only criticism was that although the beds and pillows were very comfortable, we found the room too hot to sleep. There is. No air conditioning in winter and even with the heating turned off, the room was too hot for us. It is possible to open the window if you don't mind the street noise.
Generally though a comfortable and pleasant stay!

Room Tip: If there are renovated rooms at the back of the hotel and you want fresh air, these rooms will proba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank copperbuterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,787)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,808 - 2,814 of 6,787 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

There are always hotels that you are comfortable in but Hotel Berna is one of the rare ones that you want to come back too. The room was clean well laid out and the robes and slippers were great. The breakfast was dangerous for those of us who like to eat. The selections were numerous and the service gracious and friendly. The front desk and bell staff where also very helpful. The bar was welcoming and very comfortable with a very attentive bar tender.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

I chose Hotel Berna because of its rating here. Most of the things are true.

The staff is very friendly, though not always looking for a solution. They would answer you with a smile, but the chance is small they would (try to) fix it for you. The bartender Max is an exception! He would try to help you with anything.

The breakfast is great. The only better breakfast in Europe I've seen was in Hilton in Vienna.

The location is also very convenient and the neighborhood is not dodgy at all, but perfectly fine.

The hotel itself is overrated. It's old, the rooms are small and the bed was very hard. It's also quite noisy, especially close to the elevators.

Thanks to the good breakfast, the polite staff and the fact we did not stay a lot in the room, I would still rate the hotel satisfactory.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovetravelling73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customerrelationship, General Manager at Hotel Berna, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear Lovetravelling73

Thank you for reviewing Hotel Berna. Guest feedback is how we learn and hopefully improve upon our services.

I’m a bit saddened to read that you found the hotel to be overrated. We realize that, being rated between the first hotels in Milan, expectations may run too high and it becomes more and more difficult to surprise and satisfy our beloved guests.

With regard to your room, we invest a lot and renovate every year many of our rooms in order to serve better our customers.

We offer 6 different room categories which vary in size, furniture, upholstery and amenities. Standard, Standard Plus and Comfort are for single occupancy only; Comfort double, Quality double and Superior are for double sole use or double occupancy. We wish you would have reported your dissatisfaction with your room to the Reception Staff and we could have shown you – for just a small supplement – some of our better categories.

We are indeed very glad you appreciated our location, which makes us a perfect base for visiting Milan, as well as our buffet breakfast, the perfect way to start the day with joy and energy.

But in particular we are very grateful for your comment and appreciations on our hospitality and friendly service, even though you felt our Staff as not always having a “problem solving” attitude. Our top priority is to make all our guests feeling welcome and appreciated from the very first moment they pass through our doors and throughout their stay. We are proud of our Staff. At the same time we know there are areas where we can always improve and it seems, the majority of our guests appreciate our continuous efforts to improve day by day the quality of our customer service.

Please give us another chance to show you we are value for money.

Best regards,

Carlo Fontana, GM & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

My only regret in staying at Hotel Berna is that it was only for one night. The location is within walking distance of Milan Centrale train station, even with a piece of roller luggage. The experience really was the defintion of outstanding customer service. From the moment we entered the lobby and put in the capable hands of the night desk clerk, to the bellman walking us across the street to the other building associated with the hotel, to the bar attendent making us a complimentary welcome drink, we could not have asked for a better experience.

The rooms are well-designed and items in the mini-bar are complimentary as well. The breakfast buffet rivals anything that I have seen at the 5 staf hotels in Europe.

I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again and will be looking to see if they have an sister hotels in other cities. Wonderful!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oklahomagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

On our journey by train down to Rome, we stayed for two nights at the Berna Hotel. There were four of us (two, 50 plus couples). All the staff, were so helpful and attentive. Nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was of a very high standard and there was plenty to choose from.
One of the best hotels, we've stayed in.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newberryfruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I had booked out early from the Hotel Manin in Milan because I was really let down by the spartan and disinterested service. So - you can imagine how pleased i was when I was greeted warmly by the staff at the Hotel Berna, immediately being given a city map, an outline of where we were and a full explanation of hotel services. (none of which I got at the Hotel Manin)
This outstanding 4 star hotel provides complimentary snacks in the lounges, provides wifi free, gives all soft drinks in your mini bar - free, and your very own Italian Nonna rubber duckie to take home for your own bath!
Breakfast was a hugely-varied, well-presented buffet, with lots of places to sit .
Thank you to all staff and management! I will be back.

Room Tip: Tower rooms were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAK777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

This hotel gave us a small but well appointed room in their tower (hotel has 2 parts to it one across the road from the other). It was quite and security was good. The hotel is well positioned to train and metro but a fair walking distance from the major shopping and tourist attractions. The staff very good and helpful and efficient. Communication before and after check in was excellent. Breakfast very good (music was a little load and somewhat intrusive) and variety comprehensive. I will use if again when in Milan.

Thank Asterix2903
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Milan Suite Hotel
#24 of 430 in Milan
693 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#74 of 430 in Milan
2,747 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Biocity Hotel
Biocity Hotel
#26 of 430 in Milan
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Visconti Palace
#37 of 430 in Milan
1,912 reviews
Navigli
Residence & Hotel HOUSE Aramis Milan Downtown
nhow Milano
#28 of 430 in Milan
2,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Address: Via Napo Torriani 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
#12 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range: $110 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 116 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more... First of all, our welcoming smile. However, the smiles after will be many: when we welcome you and during your stay. And there will also be your smiles when you discover our qualities, the cuddles that we have reserved for you and the surprises prepared just for you. From the breakfast to the cleaning, from the choice of the room temperature to the silence. In the heart of Milano you will discover the atmosphere of one of your second homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing