We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Overall” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #14 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Nice Overall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Nice Hotel, very close to the Milano Grand Centrale Train Station, Free WiFi with great speed,
The Breakfast is great, and included.
The room has an average size, the decoration is terrible, the double bed is not big but it is very comfortable.
The bathroom requires you to be fit... The shower is very small, but the water pressure is ok.
The staff is very professional and courteous
I would stay here again and I do recommend this hotel..

Room Tip: When I found out my room was on the ground floor I was a little concerned, but I had no problems at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lu_Rio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,081
    1,675
    276
    73
    38
See reviews for
1,050
2,632
671
782
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (688)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

“Ideally located, exceptional and friendly service, good choice”
This hotel provided us with a great stay in Milan, one of the main jumping-off points on our Italian vacation. The Berna is only a 5 minute walk from the central train station where the airport bus and long distance trains (both within Italy and to other European cities) start and finish. The metro stop is also close by. We stayed four nights at Hotel Berna in October, and were delighted with the thoughtful management attention and the comforts that the hotel offers its guests. My wife and I planned several daytrips to surrounding areas by train, and the hotel’s walking-distance location was perfect; the front desk staff (Cesare and Luiz) was even able to get us through a railroad workers strike by getting the “not so readily available” info on which trains would still be running during the strike. We were able to arrange for a nice queen size bed and all optional amenities weeks ahead of arriving, via a very friendly personalized webpage interface. And though we got in the morning we landed after their usual breakfast cutoff time, the staff nonetheless welcomed us to partake of their buffet offerings of fresh pastries, eggs, meats, and coffee. The breakfast is unbelievable and you won't find many better in your travels. I highly recommend staying at Berna if you’re in Milan.

Room Tip: There is a number of recently renovated rooms on the 4th floor of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Although I stayed only one night, I can tell that the management of the hotel is doing very good job and all the staff's hospitality to guests is superb. A room was a little bit smaller than I expected, but free wifi, free mini-bar, turndown service, good breakfast, there are many things which wiped off the room size; so there is not even one thing that I can imagine that I would complaint about. Desktop computers and printers were really helpful when you need to printout e-ticket, boarding pass and next hotel's voucher. The hotel is very close to the central station, which is very convenient and no problem walking around daytime, but a little bit, just a tiny bit bleak neighborhood at night time: yet, nothing that you need to worry about.. though.
Overall, I give "excellent" to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wanzanydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Pleasantly surprised with the modern bathrooms. Very comfy rooms. Small but cosy. Great location - 5 minutes walk to Central Station. And 2 minutes to the metro. Just 4 stops from the Duomo. Will be happy to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SHCHowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Berna for a total of 3 nights. I picked the hotel largely based on ratings as well as its convenient location right next to the train station. My stay was nice, but I didn't find the staff friendly

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ugurdemirel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Berna for a total of 3 nights. I picked the hotel largely based on ratings as well as its convenient location right next to the train station.

My stay was nice, but I didn't find the staff as overwhelmingly friendly as some other reviewers have noted. The service was good, and any time I asked a question or needed help with a bag someone was always there.

Most of the other reviewers have covered the good and the bad: the breakfast is more than ample, and the happy hour food is a nice touch. When I arrived my room was turned down and there was a nice Italian cookie on the bed. The free drinks in the mini bar are nice, but in my room the refrigerator was not plugged in (and there was not outlet to plug it into), so that was a bit disappointing since I prefer my beverages chilled. I too was surprised that the door did not lock when you closed it - watch out for that for sure.

It turned out the hotel was an easy metro ride to almost all the things you wanted to see in Milan.

Unfortunately the bed in my room was very uncomfortable, but that is the nature of the beast when you travel - luckily the beds were better is some of my previous hotels.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goldoftime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Berna for 2 nights for a quick tour of Milan before heading to Switzerland. LOCATION is key for this hotel. We flew into Milan International (Malpensa) Airport and took the train into the city. Hotel Berna is an easy, 2 block walk with luggage. When we left 2 days later, we left from the same train station to go North to Switzerland. There are several subway and surface trams within 2 to 4 blocks of the hotel, so it makes for a good location if you are using public transportation both to get there and to get around the city.

We stayed in the Annex across the street from reception, which was convenient and safe. The hotel key is required to get into the building and there are 2 doors through which to pass, which is also surveyed by video camera. Even though I would not consider this a bad area, this high level of security was nice.

Our room was reasonably sized for European standards and had all the right equipment. A full breakfast was included and there were many options - hot and cold. For the price and location, Hotel Berna was definitely a hotel I would suggest to travelers to Milan.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderlustNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Grand Visconti Palace
#34 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 430 in Milan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Lancaster Hotel
#21 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Milan Suite Hotel
#24 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Ibis Milano Centro
Ibis Milano Centro
#151 of 430 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Property: Hotel Berna
Address: Via Napo Torriani 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#13 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 116 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more... First of all, our welcoming smile. However, the smiles after will be many: when we welcome you and during your stay. And there will also be your smiles when you discover our qualities, the cuddles that we have reserved for you and the surprises prepared just for you. From the breakfast to the cleaning, from the choice of the room temperature to the silence. In the heart of Milano you will discover the atmosphere of one of your second homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing