We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for Convention at MiCo”
Review of Melia Milano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Milano
Ranked #69 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent for Convention at MiCo”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

The Melia is a very good hotel to stay at if you have a convention at the MiCo. It is about a 5-10 minute walk to the convention center, although one of the last the street crossings is not very pedestrian-friendly. The room itself was clean, quiet and beautifully decorated. The breakfast was excellent with a wide variety of offerings. The staff was friendly, and the hotel was easy walking distance from the Lotto stop on the red line Metro. I gave it only four stars since the part of town that the MiCo is located at would not be my first choice for staying in Milan. But if you have a convention at the MiCo, the Melia is THE place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rregolini, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Melia Milano, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Mark B

Thank you for sharing your experience at Meliá Milano with all Tripadvisor users! We are happy to see that you took advantage of our great location with convenient connections to MiCo Congress Center, and enjoyed our delicious breakfast with show cooking, room facilities and staff attitude. We appreciate your valuable comments and will look forward to welcoming you back on your next business trip to Milan! Don’t forget to like our Facebook page at Meliá Milano to keep in touch with us. See you soon!

Riccardo Regolini
e-Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    640
    556
    228
    89
    56
See reviews for
178
387
54
721
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We stayed at the Melia Milano for a week in early May, 2014. It is a very elegant property in a nice residential setting with several very good restaurants within a short walking distance and a very good sized grocery store one block over. It is convenient to the M1 (red) line on the subway - less than 5 minute walk - and you at the Duomo in less than 15 minutes. Access to the two main train stations takes a single line change but it too is 15-20 minutes. The MiCo convention center is a 10 minute walk. The property is well decorated with real Italian works which adds to the property elegance. The rooms are good size and are very well decorated. The inner rooms look to the service courtyard and one can periodically hear trash being emptied, etc., but that is usually short-lived. The breakfasts are outstanding and the wait staff very attentive; most staff speak English well or can quickly get a colleague if there is a language issue. We did not try the in-house restaurants. The service was excellent except for some strange reason - we could not get an iron/ironing board. Fortunately, we were there for a conference and an 'ironing room' was set up in the business center for conference users but otherwise, would have had to use the clothing service. I felt the property was extremely expensive but classy, and with the conference rate, it was merely very expensive. It did have 'personality' unlike many conference hotels. When we were there, the Inter Milano professional football (soccer) team was staying there, so that gives you an idea of the quality level of the hotel. We would stay there again, although only for a conference at the conference rate because the rooms are quite expensive.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhcav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rregolini, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Melia Milano, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear rhcav,

Thank you for sharing with us your experience at Meliá Milano. It is great for us to see that your stay was a pleasant one and the hotel facilities and services, our location as well as the staff services exceed your expectations. We are proud to receive such positive comments and particularly for our staff who we consider as our most important asset. Regarding iron issue Italian law prohibits the use of the iron into the room and for this reason we must set up an ironing room to satisfied your needs. For your next stay with us, we recommend you to visit Alacena restaurant, our in-house a la carte restaurant with innovative Mediterranean cuisine and a wide selection of Italian wine. Thanks for your review and we very much look forward to welcoming you back. Please visit our website melia.com for special rates and our latest promotions.

Riccardo Regolini
e-Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a conference in May 2014. Conveniently located within walking distance of MiCo and Lotto metro station (on M1 line).
Not the most exciting neighbourhood, but a few nice restaurants and coffee bars.
Good hotel, great breakfast, lots of meeting rooms, attentive service. Late cleaning service some days. The fitness room was ok.
My room, 122, was positively huge, other colleagues had more normally sized rooms.

Helpful?
1 Thank moosemum
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
rregolini, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Melia Milano, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear moosemum

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind feedback of your recent stay at the Meliá Milano. I was delighted to read your comments and your recognition of the hotel location which is just few minutes away from the Mico and from the metro station. For your next stay with us, we recommend you to visit Alacena restaurant, our a la carte restaurant with innovative Mediterranean cuisine and a wide selection of Italian wines. Don’t forget to like our Facebook page at Meliá Milano to keep in touch with us. It would be great to welcome you back soon!

Riccardo Regolini
e-Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Wow, I was very impressed by this hotel.. the rooms were big, clean and spacious with plenty of amenities.The buffet breakfast and cappuccinos were delicious and amazing. The gym was well equipped for a good workout. And the location was close to the Metro. However, what impressed me the most with this hotel was their attention to detail, I had lost my eyeglass case with 45 euros inside, I inquired at the front desk, when I realized I lost it, no one had turned it in, I accepted the fact it was gone for good. 24 hours later I was given the case back with the 45 euros inside!!! All I can say is THANK YOU SO MUCH! I am very impressed by your honesty and I appreciate the front desk staff and all involved. And while I do not know the individual names, I am very, very grateful. One person that helped with checkout was Simone Bisu, and I appreciated his professionalism and assistance. This is a safe, secure hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacquelinetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rregolini, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Melia Milano, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear jacquelinetwo,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. It is great to receive such positive comments for our staff, as we consider it as our most important asset. It is always an honour to read how much you enjoyed the service and the staff attitude and it will be a pleasure to share your kind feedback with the rest of the team in the Meliá hotel. We truly hope to welcome you back again at the nearest future! Don’t forget to like our Facebook page at Meliá Milano to keep in touch with us.

Riccardo Regolini
e-Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Stayed for business for a week in January. If you need a good hotel near the Milano Congressi, then this is the place. Its walking distance, and also close to the underground.

Food options around the area are good, its very neighborhoody so you have to just poke around and usually you will find some good places. Its about a 15 minute trip to the duomo area by cab, but there is so much more to see in Milano.

The hotels is nice, the staff is very attentive and most speak english. The rooms are a bit dated with peeling wallpaper but overall it was a good stay. Breakfast was good, lots of options. They also make a good coffee.

One note for the management- The lobby bar has heavy chairs on a marble floor- i heard the noise of these chairs sliding all night long. PLEASE buy some of those little felt stick on pads for the bottom of your chairs, it will make a world of difference.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgerson76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rregolini, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Melia Milano, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear dgerson76,

Many thanks for taking the time to post such a detailed review, we always appreciate feedback and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. All of your comments have been taken on board. As we strive to constantly provide a high level of service, we are always keen to hear about your experience. We hope to welcome you back to the Meliá Milano Hotel. Like our page on Facebook at Meliá Milano.

Riccardo Regolini
e-Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

This hotel was lovely and by far the nicest hotel we stayed in during our trip to Italy. Its a bit out of the center but the tube takes you within a 2 min walk so its not a problem. The room was a good size and was decorated really nicely. The staff were great especially the bar man think it was Carlos who was a great laugh and very attentive, plus he taught me all the Italian I know so was able to carry us through the trip a little easier! The place has quite a grand rich feeling to it, the entrance in particular, not in the way you see 5 start hotel in UK decorated but it was nice to see something different.Would definitely return to this hotel.We did't eat at the hotel but found a lovely little restaurant down the road where the food was wonderful and perhaps my favourite meal out as they spoke no English making it funny (as I had to use my pathetic Italian) and authentic!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rregolini, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Melia Milano, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Kelly C,

Thank you for posting this very kind review about your present stay at the Meliá Milano Hotel. We are delighted that you had such a good experience of the hotel and it is always great to hear that our guests have fully embraced the facilities which we offer, which it certainly sounds like you have! Don’t forget to like our Facebook page at Meliá Milano for our latest news and promotions. It would be great to welcome you back soon!

Riccardo Regolini
e-Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

First of all - I suggest you know Milano, if not well, but descent. Most tourists hang around the duomo and never see the rest of the places missing out on Grande Navigli and even the park. This hotel is outside the city centre and I like that. I like to go in to the epi-centre to dine, shop and then leave.

I also love the service that this hotel provides. The breakfeast is not good - it's fantastic. Everybody speaks good English and it's clean. It's a classic 5 star hotel.

With this being said - there are more luxurious hotels. There are hotels with a better view.

But for the price I've payed (Stayed in Meliá 2 or 3 times now) - there's no hotel I know of in Milan that's even close.

Recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomasIB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rregolini, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Melia Milano, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear TomasIB

Thank you for sharing your feedback with all Tripadvisor users! It is great for us to see that your stay with us was a pleasant one and the hotel facilities, breakfast, our location as well as the staff services exceed your expectations. We are proud to receive such positive comments and particularly for our staff who we consider as our most important asset. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Riccardo Regolini
e-Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Grand Visconti Palace
#34 of 427 in Milan
1,811 reviews
Milan Suite Hotel
#25 of 427 in Milan
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
The Westin Palace, Milan
Stazione Centrale
WORLDHOTEL Cristoforo Colombo
Enterprise Hotel
#29 of 427 in Milan
1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Milano

Property: Melia Milano
Address: Via Masaccio 19, 20149 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Milan
#22 Spa Hotel in Milan
#42 Family Hotel in Milan
#58 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#69 Business Hotel in Milan
#77 Romantic Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Milano 5*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Milano is so tailored to your needs that it may deserve an entirely different name: yours! Located in the most dynamic and fastest growing district of Milan, near the EXPO 2015 pavilions, the district of CityLife, the brand new area of Porta Vittoria to which AC Milan moved its legendary museum, LG, Vittoria Assicurazioni and many other international companies, next to Lotto underground station and 10 minutes from MiCo Congress Centre and San Siro Stadium, the Melia Milano is proud to present its newly renovated hotel designed with only you in mind: the brand new THE LEVEL Lounge, the largest in Europe with services including private check-in & check-out, private breakfast and afternoon cocktails; 56 brand new THE LEVEL rooms & suites with exclusive services and amenities; the brand new Jigger Food & Cocktail Bar where fresh Mediterranean cuisine is combined with an exclusive selection of premium drinks and signature cocktails; a brand new plenary room for up to 520 delegates. The Melia Milano has reinvented everything. Or almost everything. There is one thing it does not want to change: its characteristic personalized customer service and care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Milano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Milano Hotel Milan
Sol Melia Milano Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing