We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not more than that”
Review of Melia Milano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Milano
Ranked #69 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nice but not more than that”
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Nice but not more than that. I would give this remotely placed hotel that is rsted 5 stars not more than 4. Medium level bathrooms, poorly functioning aircondition and a grumpy concierge made mecdecide: this is not my pick for next visit. Nevertheless, the advantages are being close to the subway and the highway. So...

Helpful?
1 Thank Shamirraanan
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
rregolini, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Melia Milano, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Shamirraanan

Thank you for sharing with us your experience at Meliá Milano. I'm sorry that your stay has not been up to your expectations. All of your comments have been taken on board. As we strive to constantly provide a high level of service, we are always keen to hear about your experience, even the points you may feel are small, so thank you for this. We hope we will have the opportunities to welcome you back to the hotel in near future. For your next reservation may we please recommend you the next time to try our Executive category room with access to The Level Lounge for an exclusive experience. Visit our website melia.com for the best available rates.

Riccardo Regolini
e-Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    556
    227
    88
    56
See reviews for
177
385
54
717
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed in Melia Milan as a family and had a great time.

Location

This is great value because of its location for normally used for conferences or soccer . The hotel located in a Lotto’s subways stop,it is just a few minutes ride on the Milan metro and the San Siro Stadium, stage of the best football matches of FC Internazionale and AC Milan, is walking distance to the metro station and only takes 15 minutes to downtown.

Rooms

Rooms are big enough with large bed and complimentary bottles of water each day.

Breakfast

Breakfast is great with a tremendous choice of pastries,breads,coffees,fresh fruits,olives and so many kinds.. The Best breakfast.....

WIFI

Free WIFI

Staff
The staff were ready to assist guest upon arrival and the staff on reception were very helpful and informative.

Restaurants

There are two nice restaurants right opposite the hotel, or you take a short walk to a typical Italian restaurant.


Overall and recommendation

I definely recommend this hotel to everyone. A great place to stay for a weekend break and close to the Metro to go to see the highlights of Milan. Overall stay was excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adnanmordeniz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rregolini, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Melia Milano, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear adnanmordeniz

Thank you for posting this very kind review about your resent stay at the Meliá Milano. We are delighted that you had such a good Experience of the hotel and it is always great to hear that our guests have fully embraced the facilities which we offer, which it certainly sounds like you have! It will be a pleasure to share your comments with the team here and we look forward to welcoming you again on your next stay with us. Don’t forget to like our Facebook page at Meliá Milano for our latest news!

Riccardo Regolini
e-Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Conveniently situated in a quiet suburb but just minutes from the local Metro station, this discreet hotel is an oasis of calmness and tranquility. A delicious fragrance hit me as I entered - so much so I made enquiries as to the name of it! Well appointed bedrooms, spacious and fully equipped and a great big bathroom, decorated so opulently that I felt almost decadent taking my bath! . We had a problem with the TV and no sooner had we called to report it than a proper maintenance man who really knew what he was doing came in and not only apologised but quickly resolved the situation. There was a very extensive breakfast selection catering for all possible tastes with an efficient and discreet service I travel extensively for business and will not make a point of picking the Melia hotel chain in the hope that my Milan experience is repeated wherever I go.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rregolini, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Melia Milano, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Penny F

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind comments about Melia Milano. We delighted to hear you had such an enjoyable stay with us stay and it will be a pleasure to share your kind feedback with the rest of the team in the Melia hotel. We always looking forward to Welcome you again in the nearest future! Don’t forget to like our Facebook page at Meliá Milano for our latest news and promotions. See you soon!

Riccardo Regolini
e-Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The hotel is just round the corner from the Metro station and then a few stops in to the center of Milan bringing you out right at the Duomo. It was an easy short trip in.

The rooms were spacious and clean.

There were no tea and coffee making facilities in the room (something we got in a 3 star hotel in Florence).

Unfortunately when we were there the car was no longer in the reception area.

Breakfast was AMAZING. There was cereal, cooked breakfast, about 6 different types of honey, waffles, bread and rolls, eggs cooked to order, fresh fruit (you saw the chefs cutting them up), salad bar, cakes and pastries and more.

I never found the staff to be offerly friendly but they answered any questions we had. If you went to the desk and they were busy they would never say 'sorry for the wait' or 'I'll be with you in a minute'.

We asked for two extra pillows to be sent to our room because ours were so thin they should've been thrown out. They could only deliver one to our room as that's all they had. A 5 star hotel only had one extra pillow in the hotel????

There was no information in the room like what facilities were available, except the price list for the Wellness Center, which at 30 euros for a sauna and jacuzzi was a bit expensive in my opinion.

We went for a conference my husband was attending and I think overall it's a great conference hotel but I wouldn't stay for a long holiday, maybe two nights at the most.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justlikesgoodhotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rregolini, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Melia Milano, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Justlikesgoodhotels

Many thanks for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor! I am delighted to read how much did you enjoy your recent stay with us. I am happy to see your constructive comments and your recognition of the hotel location which is just few metro stops away from the centre . We always appreciate our guest’s feedback and we are delighted you enjoyed our “amazing” breakfast as you say. Regarding the pillow, please accept my apologies and all of your comments have been taken on board and passed to our General Manager. Don’t forget to like our Facebook page at Meliá Milano for our latest news and promotions, and soon also few post about classic cars exhibited in the lobby. Thanks for your review and we are waiting for your next stay!

Riccardo Regolini
e-Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I was here for 1 night on business and was very impressed by the size of the rom, its cleanliness, the free Wi-Fi and the best buffet breakfast I have had in Italy.
the location was not ideal - out of the centre - but it's only a 10-15 metro ride into the centre.
I will definitely come back

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rpavitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rregolini, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Melia Milano, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear rpavitt

Thank you for choosing the Meliá Milano and for sharing your experience with us. We are thrilled to see that we surpassed your expectation and I’m pleased to know that our property was perfect for you business stay. It s always an honour to read how much you enjoyed the service and the food experience during your stay and it will be a pleasure to share your kind feedback with the rest of the team of our property. We truly hope to welcome you back again at the nearest future. Don’t forget to like our Facebook page at Meliá Milano for our latest news and promotions.

Riccardo Regolini
e-Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Out of the bussiness-season it's just a steal.
Outstanding beds, sumptious breakfast and a very fine dinner.
They serve the Brunello by the glass!!
But most of all last time: excellent and very helpfull staff.
When my friend got very ill, they were a great help and when his family came over, they charged them a very friendly rate for the entire stay. Needless to say: my favorite!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johannes-Amersfoort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rregolini, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Melia Milano, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Johannes-Amersfoort

Thank you for sharing with us your feelings about the experience at Meliá Milano. We are thrilled to see that we surpassed your expectation. Our Team will be delighted to know that you appreciate our friendliness, our service and attitude; might seem obvious but fur us guest first. Delighted to know you enjoyed our food experience at Alacena Restaurant where you can taste the best Mediterrean cusine and a wide selection of the best Italian wines, also the Brunello di Montalcino. Thank you for the time you invested on share your feelings. I hope to hear from you soon.

Riccardo Regolini
e-Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Unfortunately I had to stay at the Melia Milan for 2 weeks for an event and it is by far the worst hotel I have ever worked with and stayed in. The food quality was terrible completely tasteless I never had one decent meal in two weeks. This was my first time in Italy and I was extremely looking forward to the food here. Pretty much every guest at our event complained about the food at the event not at all traditional Italian food!
We also had guests check out and move to another hotel due to the mosquito infestation they experienced in their bedrooms, staff were obviously used to this however did nothing.
All hotel staff were rude and unhelpful this included the managers, which was shocking. We never felt like we were welcomed guests.
I would never recommend this hotel or want to ever stay there again for business or for pleasure the only nice thing about this hotel is the entrance when you walk in.
Avoid this hotel like the plague!

Room Tip: A clean one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Claire581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Grand Visconti Palace
#34 of 428 in Milan
1,792 reviews
Milan Suite Hotel
#24 of 428 in Milan
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
The Westin Palace, Milan
Enterprise Hotel
#28 of 428 in Milan
1,621 reviews
Stazione Centrale
ME Milan - Il Duca
ME Milan - Il Duca
#18 of 428 in Milan
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Milano

Property: Melia Milano
Address: Via Masaccio 19, 20149 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Milan
#22 Spa Hotel in Milan
#42 Family Hotel in Milan
#57 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#69 Business Hotel in Milan
#77 Romantic Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Milano 5*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Milano is so tailored to your needs that it may deserve an entirely different name: yours! Located in the most dynamic and fastest growing district of Milan, near the EXPO 2015 pavilions, the district of CityLife, the brand new area of Porta Vittoria to which AC Milan moved its legendary museum, LG, Vittoria Assicurazioni and many other international companies, next to Lotto underground station and 10 minutes from MiCo Congress Centre and San Siro Stadium, the Melia Milano is proud to present its newly renovated hotel designed with only you in mind: the brand new THE LEVEL Lounge, the largest in Europe with services including private check-in & check-out, private breakfast and afternoon cocktails; 56 brand new THE LEVEL rooms & suites with exclusive services and amenities; the brand new Jigger Food & Cocktail Bar where fresh Mediterranean cuisine is combined with an exclusive selection of premium drinks and signature cocktails; a brand new plenary room for up to 520 delegates. The Melia Milano has reinvented everything. Or almost everything. There is one thing it does not want to change: its characteristic personalized customer service and care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Milano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Milano Hotel Milan
Sol Melia Milano Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing