We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite the collection of vintage memorabilia! Will return.”
Review of The Yard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Yard Hotel
Ranked #6 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Quite the collection of vintage memorabilia! Will return.”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I had a WOW moment when I walked into the lobby of The Yard & Dependence. The collection of vintage skis, photographs, polo equipment, wooden tennis racquets and other memorabilia was beyond impressive. For those who appreciate antique silver serving dishes and utensils, you will be impressed. I loved the quirky decorative items: a Superman bank and a pommel horse to just name a couple. I was in Milan for one night after being in the Como area for 10 days. We were flying out of Linate the next morning. What a great place to spend our last night in Italy. All three women who were working reception were very kind and helpful. I loved our room. We had a king bed and a queen pullout sofa. The bathroom was large. The shower had a big glass wall to keep water from getting into the rest of the bathroom.

The breakfast was exceptional and the table was beautiful. I loved the hotel dog, Pina. She fit right in with the décor. Will stay again.

The ride from Milan Centrale to the hotel for three was 13.20 euro. The ride to Linate the next morning was a little over 22 euro.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Camkirfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    138
    26
    7
    5
See reviews for
123
379
32
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

One word: awesome. We stayed in the Yard Suite and Dependance in mid-July 2013 for 3 nights, after a trip to Switzerland where we had stayed in three different hotels (including a lovely one in St Moritz). The Yard Suite and Dependence experience was the best, bar none. Check-in was easy. We booked a suite, and was delightfully assigned to the JFK Suite on the 2nd floor. The suite is spacious, with a large living room, a walk-in closet and a balcony. We particularly like the black and white decor. The bed is huge and comfy. There are an expresso machine and a mini-bar (drinks, no snacks). Water is charged at 2,50 euro a bottle. WiFi is free, and worked perfectly fine throughout our stay. The bathroom is tastefully designed too, with a glass opening to the balcony. The toiletries are by CULTI, which are lovely. The towels are white and fluffy. Just perfect. Overall, from the public area to the suite we stayed, the hotel is clean and well maintained. And the breakfast! The choices are ample, and the food fresh and nicely prepared. Every morning there would be something different from the day before, which is a thoughtful touch for guests staying for more than one night. The Yard is not far from the metro station, but it will be easier to take the bus/tram (not sure; never used) number 3 from around the corner to Duomo. Alternatively a taxi ride to the Duomo area costs less than 10 euro. A big thank-you to the Yard. We enjoyed tremendously our stay, and will definitely be back when we are next in Milan.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SoccerKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Yard was a fabulous place to stay in Milan. It's in a great location to explore the Navigli area of the city. Lots of lovely bars and restaurants right on the doorstep and only a short taxi ride from the Duomo.
The hotel itself is gorgeous with interesting furniture and décor at every turn. Our room was really spacious and comfortably fitted 3 girls staying there. Again beautifully decorated and with our own mini balcony!
Maria who runs the hotel couldn't have been more welcoming and fun and if the hotel itself wasn't so fabulous we could go back just to see Maria anyway! Luckily it's gorgeous so going back is an easy choice.
Couldn't recommend enough for a stay in Milan!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
98 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I stayed together with my husband for 1 week in this hotel, after we had stayed here as well in January and liked it a lot back then. The hotel has really quirky rooms. We stayed in a suite with a fisherman theme, which is quite a dark and not very spacious room so not everyone may like that. However, as the room comes with a spacious balcony we were happy enough as the weather was very good.
This time we had rented a car and we were able to park it in the underground garage (EUR 20 per night which is decent for Milan). The garage is a bit tight, but it does the job.

The staff at the hotel is very nice and accommodating.
The breakfast setup may not be for everybody, but I like that you are all sitting on 1 big table so you can chat a bit and get to know the other guests. Maybe less perfect for business travelers though.
This time I noticed a few attention points about the hotel. In terms of cleaning the room, they could definitely have done a better job as I could see that certain spots were not cleaned properly. Further, we had 2 days where the face towels were not replaced. Housekeeping does knock the door, however I had almost 1 person immediately coming into the room although I told them not to come in. The doors do not lock automatically when you close them, so keep that into account.
There seems to be a small issue with the electricity as a few lights were flickering regularly.

If you decide to have your laundry done, please realize that they will use an outside company which is not very quick (most laundry will take more than 24 hours). So check beforehand if you require your laundry urgently and ask when it will be ready.

The location of the hotel is really good with many nice restaurants close by and it is only a 10-15 minute walk to the Duomo.

Considering that our stay last time was a lot more positive, I am still giving it a rating of Very Good, but a bit more attention to detail is required.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wien81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We felt totally spoiled for the 2 nights we stayed at the Yard. After driving over 2 days we arrived at the Yard and parked our car in the underground garage where we left it for the next two days. We were greeted by Maria and the owner Rosa in a wonderful setting immaculately furnished with memorabilia to the great fashion icons. A combination of a sporty and art deco feel adds to the classy and comforting atmosphere of this unique place. We stayed a family of 4 comfortably in the penthouse. Air conditioned room, comfortable beds, excellent shower. Later we met Stefania for whom nothing seems to be a problem. One of the most incredible hostesses we have encountered on our travels. Stefania also bakes some of the cakes for the wonderful breakfast which is served around a big granite table in the hotel lobby/dining/sitting/office area. Certainly a visit to remember. The only place to stay when in Milan.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Chose to stay at the yard after reading the reviews on trip advisor. We arrived in the day with two teenagers, we were welcomed warmly and were shown to our very stylish room named "the penthouse". The beds were comfortable, the added benefit of air conditioning on a warm and humid Milan enhanced the experience even more. We enjoyed two beautiful breakfasts on the 'communal' table. Piña the resident dog is also very welcoming and loves to be around people, this adds to the homely feeling. The location is convenient to walk to the hip Navigli area and also not to far to get to the Duomo. And finally the warmth and attentiveness of Stefania, Maria and Rosa are unforgettable.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank kurkum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We arrived early at the hotel, and were immediately offered a nice refreshing drink. After checking in and enjoying our drinks on the balcony terrace, we were informed that our room was ready. The suite was spotless and very well presented, and had a small office area, and lovely shower room. The suite sat alongside the terrace which was a bit noisy on the first night, but OK for the last 2 nights. The hotel was very good value for money, and very welcoming as nothing was too much trouble for the hotel staff. For me, the downside was the breakfast area (1 table, with seating for 10 only) and choice, although if you have a sweet tooth you're sure to enjoy the homemade cake selection.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 428 in Milan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Centro Storico
Santa Marta Suites
Santa Marta Suites
#15 of 428 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Centro Storico
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#11 of 428 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Principe Di Savoia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yard Hotel

Property: The Yard Hotel
Address: Piazza Ventiquattro Maggio 8, 20123 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Navigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Yard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As it happens with all the most fascinating adventures, that of The Yard begins by lucky coincidence. Looking for a place where to live with its family, its owner instead found a vocation. Mixing the enthusiasm for a new challenge with the experience achieved during his many travels around the world, he built a small and comfortable guest house out of thin air. Spontaneously, this initial project became something more, and in a few years The Yard turned into a prestigious boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your The Yard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing