We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As if we are at our best friend's home~”
Review of The Yard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Yard Hotel
Ranked #6 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“As if we are at our best friend's home~”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This hotel is situated around 20 minutes taxi from the Milano Centrale; about 15 minutes walk to Duomo - I'd considered this as an acceptable distance to the major sights.

Not the usual luxury 5-star hotels you would expect - it's a family-styled establishment; what greeted us was this so genuine friendliness and sincerity from everyone. From check-in to introduction to the rooms, everyone was so nice and warm.

The warm and personal service made you feel as if you're visiting your best friend's home overseas!

The room was very clean. You can see that everything was decorated with precise detail and class. From wall designs to the small things such as wifi password.
We had a small trouble with the safe – despite their inability to fix that, it’s not going to trouble me.

Breakfast was good, though the spread is not enormous, it is very adequate and tasty.

I'm very happy that I've chosen this place for my trip to Milan, the level of personal touch is second to none.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luis_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    140
    27
    7
    5
See reviews for
124
389
34
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed in the Mustang suite for 4 nights with our 9 year old son in June 2013. We could talk about the fantastic suite, the classy common areas, the convenience of the location for restaurants, shopping, and sightseeing but everyone has covered that already. They are indeed all brilliant. What sets 'The Yard' apart is personalized service. You will not feel like you are staying in a hotel but instead as guests of your family and friends in their home. You will be looked after from the moment you walk in the front door, to the moment you leave and you will be left with no doubt as to why this boutique hotel has the reputation it has. Stephania and Maria and everyone else at The Yard thanks for an amazing 4 nights in Milano!

Room Tip: It won't matter which room you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yoyo2603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for 7 nights early June. First three nights with family and the last four alone. The hotel is located perfectly, right in the Navigli area. About 15-20 minute walk to the Duomo. A bit of a longer stretch to Brera and to Corso Como (for a different kind of nightlife).

You walk into the hotel and feel like you are walking into someone's house. The staff greets you in the same way. This continued throughout my stay and for the days I stayed alone, the staff took great care of me (just like family would do). You get a key to the main gate, door and to your room, at night you don't see staff and just lock yourself in and lock the door behind you! It adds to the feeling of being a guest at someones house :)

Rooms are all individually decorated, beautiful, clean. Bathrooms delicate. Nespresso machine in the room (however, an espresso does cost 1 euro, and at a hotel of this caliber should be included in the room price). Some of the rooms are a bit smaller, but have nice balconies others a bit larger, but are located towards the "terrace" which leaving them a bit dark and also a bit noisy. Both have it's plusses and minuses. I stayed for a week (and mainly alone) and preferred the larger room, however for a shorter stay I would have preferred the balcony room.

Breakfast is served in the "main" room. Wonderful breakfast with pastries, cakes, cheese, ham, fruit and frittatas. As mentioned in other reviews, the coffee could have been nicer... but when in Italy you get wonderful coffees on every corner anyway, so you won't be deprived.


If you want a place with 24 concierge, gym, business centre, large breakfast buffet - your typical hotel - this is not the place for you. However, for me. this was a fantastic experience from start to finish and I can't wait to come back!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Olivia81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We arrived early at The Yard after a night flight from NYC. Even though our room
could not be ready so early, we were able to enjoy the outstanding breakfast and rest in the lobby
for a while. During our three day stay, we were able to appreciate the thought and effort that
went into designing and decorating this very new boutique hotel. Other reviewers have mentioned the favorable location and very accommodating staff. I would like to specially mention Stephanie, Maria and Valentine, together with the Owner, Rosa who made our visit so memorable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pointq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights. Beautiful rooms, excellent and extremely friendly service: Professional with a personal twist. Not exactly cheap but worth every penny. We would definitely come back to this hotel. An example of how it should be done

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Family A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Hotel rooms look nice on the website, unfortunately we never had the chance to stay at the hotel. We booked in March 2013 for a room in June, and received a confirmation from the hotel. However 2 days out for our stay, while on holidays and travelling in France, we received an email from the hotel claiming a problem with the reservation system had meant we could no longer stay at the hotel!

All I can say is it is lucky we checked our email and saw this, otherwise we could have arrived and been left with nowhere to sleep for the night. Be aware and ensure you check, double check and triple check your reservation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank write2slappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro C, Proprietario at The Yard Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Good afternoon and thank you for your recent post about your reservation made with us.
On this regard, I personally would like to reply to you, first of all to apologize for the inconvenience of having your booking redirected towards another hotel, must have caused you, and second to clarify a few points that do not seem to describe clearly and accurately what happened.

As you already know, we have recently changed our reservation system and this has caused us (and still does), several problems, including situations of overbooking and other related issues.
On the middle of June, after having checked our arrival list various times and not having found any cancellations going through the period of time that was including your own booking, myself and my team had to decide to reallocate your reservation somewhere else. The reason why we picked you, was due to the fact that the House was already full since the last few days and your reservation (together with another one), was the only one due to arrive just when the hotel could not take any more guests. Another criteria adopted, on the selection process, was to go for more recent reservations compared to others arrived earlier on.
When we contacted you to let you know about the decision taken, we explained the reasons (new reservation system), why we selected you (more recent reservation date) and we also provided you with a solution to the problem, sending you a link of a hotel with our same star rate, located in our same area and with a Suite put on hold for you, as previously contacted by us.

I am really proud of my reservation team as I think that they have dealt with the situation in the best possible way and particularly that there was no other way of acting but the one chosen.
I take this opportunity to apologize once again for not having been able to honour your reservation but I also ask you not to belittle my team’s reputation together with the hotel itself, as we all work really hard to provide a customer service that so far, has been celebrated by the Trip Advisor followers, among the best in town.

Kindest regards
A M C
GM and owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Our family of 3 stayed for 3 nites at the Yard in early June. We booked the penthouse suite but unfortunately was faced with a broken air-conditioner on the first hot day in Milan this year. Stefania tried everything she could to fix the problem but it being a weekend, their mechanics was not available to come and fix the problem immediately. The next day we were offered two separate rooms or fans in our penthouse and we took the former although the weather did cool down and the fans would have done the job. Stefania and Maria also tried very hard to help us make dinner reservations and at breakfast all the staffs made us feel we were eating right at home with family. The 3 rooms we had are all very nice and spacious, appointed with funky decorations in different themes. The bathroom fixture is slightly behind the large chain 5 star hotels but I would swap that for the warm and excellent service any day.

I would say the hotel feels very similar to the Jays Paris and Portrait Suites in Rome, two other excellent hotels that we were fortunate enough to have stayed at before. The great thing is the Yard is at least 50% if not 70% cheaper than these other hotels. Even the in room drink/snack supplies are reasonably priced. What u give up is the location. It is in the Navigli area to the south of Central Milan and a good 20 minutes walk from the nearest metro station. The Navigli area is actually very lively at night and a great place for dinner but if you are traveling with very young children you may have to spend what you saved in room costs on taxis in order to get to the main tourist areas. Otherwise, I would recommend the Yard without the slightest reservation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCKCJY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 428 in Milan
595 reviews
Centro Storico
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Principe Di Savoia
Centro Storico
Santa Marta Suites
Santa Marta Suites
#15 of 428 in Milan
305 reviews
Brera
Mandarin Oriental, Milan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yard Hotel

Property: The Yard Hotel
Address: Piazza Ventiquattro Maggio 8, 20123 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Navigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Yard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As it happens with all the most fascinating adventures, that of The Yard begins by lucky coincidence. Looking for a place where to live with its family, its owner instead found a vocation. Mixing the enthusiasm for a new challenge with the experience achieved during his many travels around the world, he built a small and comfortable guest house out of thin air. Spontaneously, this initial project became something more, and in a few years The Yard turned into a prestigious boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your The Yard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing