We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,070)
Filter reviews
1,070 results
Traveler rating
846
174
37
8
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
846
174
37
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboutique hotelthe penthouseralph laurensports themehotel dognavigli districtporta ticineseinteresting hotelcool hotelgreat boutiquecanal areabars and restaurantsminute walk to the duomofabulous hotelcroissantssmall balconyreception area
Filter
Updating list...
612 - 617 of 1,070 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We arrived early at The Yard after a night flight from NYC. Even though our room
could not be ready so early, we were able to enjoy the outstanding breakfast and rest in the lobby
for a while. During our three day stay, we were able to appreciate the thought and effort that
went into designing and decorating this very new boutique hotel. Other reviewers have mentioned the favorable location and very accommodating staff. I would like to specially mention Stephanie, Maria and Valentine, together with the Owner, Rosa who made our visit so memorable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights. Beautiful rooms, excellent and extremely friendly service: Professional with a personal twist. Not exactly cheap but worth every penny. We would definitely come back to this hotel. An example of how it should be done

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Family A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Hotel rooms look nice on the website, unfortunately we never had the chance to stay at the hotel. We booked in March 2013 for a room in June, and received a confirmation from the hotel. However 2 days out for our stay, while on holidays and travelling in France, we received an email from the hotel claiming a problem with the reservation system had meant we could no longer stay at the hotel!

All I can say is it is lucky we checked our email and saw this, otherwise we could have arrived and been left with nowhere to sleep for the night. Be aware and ensure you check, double check and triple check your reservation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank write2slappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro C, Proprietario at The Yard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Good afternoon and thank you for your recent post about your reservation made with us.
On this regard, I personally would like to reply to you, first of all to apologize for the inconvenience of having your booking redirected towards another hotel, must have caused you, and second to clarify a few points that do not seem to describe clearly and accurately what happened.

As you already know, we have recently changed our reservation system and this has caused us (and still does), several problems, including situations of overbooking and other related issues.
On the middle of June, after having checked our arrival list various times and not having found any cancellations going through the period of time that was including your own booking, myself and my team had to decide to reallocate your reservation somewhere else. The reason why we picked you, was due to the fact that the House was already full since the last few days and your reservation (together with another one), was the only one due to arrive just when the hotel could not take any more guests. Another criteria adopted, on the selection process, was to go for more recent reservations compared to others arrived earlier on.
When we contacted you to let you know about the decision taken, we explained the reasons (new reservation system), why we selected you (more recent reservation date) and we also provided you with a solution to the problem, sending you a link of a hotel with our same star rate, located in our same area and with a Suite put on hold for you, as previously contacted by us.

I am really proud of my reservation team as I think that they have dealt with the situation in the best possible way and particularly that there was no other way of acting but the one chosen.
I take this opportunity to apologize once again for not having been able to honour your reservation but I also ask you not to belittle my team’s reputation together with the hotel itself, as we all work really hard to provide a customer service that so far, has been celebrated by the Trip Advisor followers, among the best in town.

Kindest regards
A M C
GM and owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Our family of 3 stayed for 3 nites at the Yard in early June. We booked the penthouse suite but unfortunately was faced with a broken air-conditioner on the first hot day in Milan this year. Stefania tried everything she could to fix the problem but it being a weekend, their mechanics was not available to come and fix the problem immediately. The next day we were offered two separate rooms or fans in our penthouse and we took the former although the weather did cool down and the fans would have done the job. Stefania and Maria also tried very hard to help us make dinner reservations and at breakfast all the staffs made us feel we were eating right at home with family. The 3 rooms we had are all very nice and spacious, appointed with funky decorations in different themes. The bathroom fixture is slightly behind the large chain 5 star hotels but I would swap that for the warm and excellent service any day.

I would say the hotel feels very similar to the Jays Paris and Portrait Suites in Rome, two other excellent hotels that we were fortunate enough to have stayed at before. The great thing is the Yard is at least 50% if not 70% cheaper than these other hotels. Even the in room drink/snack supplies are reasonably priced. What u give up is the location. It is in the Navigli area to the south of Central Milan and a good 20 minutes walk from the nearest metro station. The Navigli area is actually very lively at night and a great place for dinner but if you are traveling with very young children you may have to spend what you saved in room costs on taxis in order to get to the main tourist areas. Otherwise, I would recommend the Yard without the slightest reservation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed at the Yard for three nights while exploring Milan and had a lovely stay. Stefania and company were more than welcoming and kind to us during our time there. The hotel is small with only a few rooms, but ours (Mustang) was very spacious, modern, and incredibly comfortable all around. The balcony terrace is beautifully decorated as is the living room / reception area. Our favorite detail was the dog (I called her La Nonna because she is 12!) who was so sweet and always enjoyed my belly rubs. Breakfast was abundant and fresh, and overall we were incredibly pleased with the service and atmosphere here. You are just a 15-20 minute walk to the Duomo, which we enjoyed because it allowed us to explore other parts of Milan and get a feel for the city after just a couple of days. The Navigli area is very fun, young and full of bars and spots for a nice aperitivo or even a bite to eat. It's definitely a well-located hotel.

Pros: Cool location, chic and modern decor, friendly staff at all times, the dog!

Something to improve? Our room faced the balcony so we could hear the TV or radio when it was on. Luckily at night they turned it off, but we could also hear a bit of noise coming from the kitchen a couple of times during the afternoon. Not a deal breaker, but being a bit more soundproof would have been nice.

Overall we would definitely stay here again during our next trip to Milan.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the balcony might be noisier so if you prefer peace and quiet make sure to let them know.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paige_davis24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews